Website Feedback Button
Fish and Game Home

Alaska Department of Fish and Game


Gene Conservation Laboratory
Contacts

Our Mission

The mission of the Gene Conservation Laboratory is to apply genetic principles and tools to support the management of commercially important fish and shellfish species in Alaska based on the sustained yield principle.

Highlights

Gene Conservation Laboratory staff at the October 2012 Board of Fisheries Worksession in Anchorage, Alaska.
Back row (from left to right): Wei Cheng, Jim Jasper, Colton Chase, Bill Templin, Hans Thompson, Andy Barclay, Zac Grauvogel, Nick DeCovich, Bruce Whelan, Chris Habicht, Sara Gilk-Baumer, Lisa Fox, William S. Grant.
Front row (from left to right): Judy Berger, Spenser Brown, Tara Harrington, Paul Kuriscak, Christina Cupp, Erica Chenoweth, Tyler Dann, Heather Liller, Serena Rogers Olive, Eric Lardizabal.

Physical and Mailing Address for all Staff

333 Raspberry Road
Anchorage, AK 99518
Phone: (907) 267-2247
Fax: (907) 267-2442

Staff Contacts

Director and Research Coordinators:

William Templin
Lab Director - Principal Geneticist
Phone: (907) 267-2234
Email: bill.templin@alaska.gov
 
Chris Habicht
Statewide Stock Status Geneticist
Phone: (907) 267-2169
Email: chris.habicht@alaska.gov
 
W. Stewart Grant
Statewide Genetics Policy Review
Fisheries Geneticist
Phone: (907) 267-2130
Email: william.grant@alaska.gov
 

Project Leaders:

Andy Barclay
Cook Inlet
Phone: (907) 267-2290
Email: andy.barclay@alaska.gov
 
Wei Cheng
Prince William Sound pink salmon
Phone: (907) 267-2167
Email: wei.cheng@alaska.gov
 
Tyler Dann
Hatchery Research Program & Bristol Bay, Alaska Peninsula, Kodiak
Phone: (907) 267-2201
Email: tyler.dann@alaska.gov
 
Nick DeCovich
Arctic, Yukon, Kuskokwim
Phone: (907) 267-2239
Email: nick.decovich@alaska.gov
 
Lisa Fox
Southeast Alaska sockeye salmon
Phone: (907) 267-2231
Email: elisabeth.fox@alaska.gov
 
Sara Gilk-Baumer
Pacific Salmon Treaty & Southeast Alaska
Phone: (907) 267-2535
Email: sara.gilk@alaska.gov
 

Program Staff:

Judy Berger
Laboratory Archives & Sampling Logistics
Phone: (907) 267-2175
Email: judy.berger@alaska.gov
 
Zac Grauvogel
Developmental Laboratory Analysis & Assistant Project Leader
Phone: (907) 267-2275
Email: zac.grauvogel@alaska.gov
 
Jim Jasper
Biometrician
Phone: (907) 267-2140
Email: jim.jasper@alaska.gov
 
Eric Lardizabal
Database Development & Analyst Programmer
Phone: (907) 267-2129
Email: eric.lardizabal@alaska.gov
 
Heather Liller
Laboratory Supervisor & Assistant Project Leader
Phone: (907) 267-2249
Email: heather.liller@alaska.gov
 
Serena Rogers Olive
Quality Control & Assistant Project Leader
Phone: (907) 267- 2162
Email: serena.olive@alaska.gov
 
Bruce Whelan
Office Support & Fishery Technician
Phone: (907) 267-2806
Email: bruce.whelan@alaska.gov
 

Laboratory Staff:

Erica Chenoweth
Fishery Biologist
Phone: (907) 267-2247
Email: erica.chenoweth@alaska.gov
 
Christina Cupp
Fishery Technician
Phone: (907) 267-2247
Email: christina.cupp@alaska.gov
 
Paul Kuriscak
Fishery Biologist
Phone: (907) 267-2288
Email: paul.kuriscak@alaska.gov
 
Hans Thompson
Fishery Biologist
Phone: (907) 267-2454
Email: charles.thompson@alaska.gov
 
Please take a moment to help us improve your experience at the ADF&G website.
How did you arrive at our website?
Why did you visit our website today?
Did you find what you were looking for?
How easy or hard was it to find?
Very Easy Very Hard
Please provide any other comments or suggestions about your experience on the ADF&G website.

Having Trouble with this form?