State of Alaska
Fish and Game Home

Alaska Department of Fish and Game

Polar Bear (Ursus maritimus)
Critical Habitat

In compliance with the Endangered Species Act (ESA), the National Marine Fisheries Service (NMFS) and U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service (USFWS) must designate critical habitat for each species under its jurisdiction listed under the ESA. Critical habitat is defined as “specific areas within the geographical area occupied by the species at the time of listing, if they contain physical or biological features essential to conservations, and those features may require special management considerations for protection” and “specific areas outside the geographical area occupied by the species if the agency determines that the area itself is essential for conservation.”

In January 2013, the U.S. District Court for the District of Alaska vacated the USFWS critical habitat determination for polar bear. As such, no critical habitat is designated at this time.