Goat Hunting in Alaska

RG358 Permit Hunt Information
for Regulatory Year 2023

Hunt Details

Hunt Number: RG358
Regulatory Year: 2023
Hunt Type: Registration
Species: Mountain Goat
Legal Animal: One (1) mountain goat, preferably male.

Number of Permits

Residency Number of Permits
Nonresidents To be announced
Alaska residents To be announced
Total Number of Permits Available Unlimited

Season Dates*

11/01/2023 - 11/14/2023

*See Drawing or Subsistence Supplements for season details.

Residency Restrictions


Reporting Requirements

  • Successful Hunters
    • Report in person to Soldotna, Homer, Palmer, or Anchorage within 5 days of kill.
    • Specimens Required: Horns for measuring and aging
  • Unsuccessful Hunters
    Report must be submitted within 10 days of the close of the season.
  • Internet Reporting
    You may report online at http://www.hunt.alaska.gov

Hunting Conditions

1) PERMIT: The permit shall be in the possession of the permittee while hunting or transporting mountain goat and shall be exhibited to any person authorized to enforce state and federal laws who requests to see it. The permit is NONTRANSFERABLE.

2) WHO: The hunt is open to both residents and non-residents. However, non-residents must hunt with a registered guide as specified in AS 16.05.407 and must have metal locking tags. If this particular hunt is restricted to the use of bow and arrow, the hunter must have an IBEP card.

3) WHEN: The season is from November 1 - November 14.

4) WHERE: That portion of Unit 7 and 15 described on the corresponding hunt map available at ADF&G offices in Anchorage, Homer, Palmer, Soldotna and on the ADF&G website. The permittee is solely responsible for securing permission to trespass on private land.

5) BAG LIMIT: One (1) mountain goat, preferably male. Nanny goats accompanied by kids may not be taken. If you harvest a nanny, you will be prohibited from hunting goats in Units 7 and 15 for 5 regulatory years. Immediately after killing or wounding a goat, the permittee shall cancel the permit by cutting out the month and the day on the field portion of the permit. If you have killed a goat anywhere in Alaska during the current regulatory year, this permit is invalid.

6) REPORTING: SUCCESSFUL hunters shall bring the horns and the completed harvest report during normal work hours to an ADF&G office in Soldotna, Homer, Palmer or Anchorage within five (5) days of goat harvest.

UNSUCCESSFUL hunters or permittees who DID NOT HUNT shall return the completed harvest report in person or by mail to the Homer office within 10 days of the close of the season. Reports can also be submitted online at http://hunt.alaska.gov, although successful hunters will still need to bring in the horns.

7) PENALTY FOR FAILURE TO REPORT: If you fail to report, you will not be eligible to receive any permits (drawing, tier I, tier II, and registration) during the next regulatory year. In addition, your name will be turned over to the Alaska Wildlife Troopers for enforcement action.

Hunt conditions and season dates can be changed by Emergency Order. Visit the Emergency Orders and Announcements page for more information.