Goat Hunting in Alaska

RG869 Permit Hunt Information
for Regulatory Year 2023

Hunt Details

Hunt Number: RG869
Regulatory Year: 2023
Hunt Type: Registration
Species: Mountain Goat
Legal Animal: One (1) mountain goat, preferably male. The taking of nannies with kids is prohibited.

Number of Permits

Residency Number of Permits
Nonresidents To be announced
Alaska residents Up to 99999 permits
Total Number of Permits Available Unlimited

Season Dates*

09/01/2023 - 10/15/2023

*See Drawing or Subsistence Supplements for season details.

Residency Restrictions

Alaska residents only

Reporting Requirements

  • Successful Hunters
    • Report must be presented in person, by phone (267-2185), or online within 3 days of kill.
    • Specimens Required: None
  • Unsuccessful Hunters
    Report online, by mail, or in person to ADFG within 15 days of season end.
  • Internet Reporting
    You may report online at http://www.hunt.alaska.gov

Hunting Conditions

1) PERMIT: The RG869 permit shall be in the possession of the permittee while hunting or transporting a mountain goat and shall be exhibited to any person authorized to enforce state and federal laws who requests to see it. The permit is NONTRANSFERABLE.

2) WHEN: September 1 - October 15. This hunt will be closed by emergency when the harvest quota is met.

3) WHERE: That portion of Unit 14C within the drainages of the Knik River upstream from, but not including, Big Timber Creek drainage. The permittee is solely responsible for securing permission to trespass on private land.

4) BAG LIMIT: One (1) mountain goat. Either sex is legal, but harvesting males is encouraged for conservation reasons. The taking of nannies with kids is prohibited. If you have killed a goat anywhere in Alaska during the current regulatory year, this permit is invalid.

SUCCESSFUL hunters: Report online at http://hunt.alaska.gov, by phone to 267-2811, or bring the completed harvest report to ADFG in Anchorage, Palmer, or Soldotna within three (3) days of goat harvest.

UNSUCCESSFUL hunters or permittees who DID NOT HUNT: Report online at http://hunt.alaska.gov,by phone to 267-2811, or bring the completed harvest report to ADFG in Anchorage, Palmer, or Soldotna within 15 days of the close of the season.

6) PENALTY FOR FAILURE TO REPORT: If you fail to report, you will not be eligible to receive any permits (drawing, tier II, or registration) during the next regulatory year. In addition, your name will be turned over to the Alaska Wildlife Troopers for enforcement action.

Special Considerations**
You may encounter collared mountain goats in the hunt area. The Department asks hunters to avoid harvesting collared animals if possible. Goats wearing orange collars are known nannies (females) and goats wearing black collars are known billies (males). If you harvest a collared goat, you must turn in the collar to the Palmer or Anchorage ADFG office.

Hunt conditions and season dates can be changed by Emergency Order. Visit the Emergency Orders and Announcements page for more information.