Goat Hunting in Alaska
RG890 Permit Hunt Information
for Regulatory Year 2023
Hunt Number: RG890
Regulatory Year: 2023
Hunt Type: Registration
Species: Mountain Goat
Legal Animal: 1 mountain goat, taking nannies with kids is prohibited
Number of Permits
|Residency||Number of Permits|
|Nonresidents||Up to 99999 permits|
|Alaska residents||Up to 99999 permits|
|Total Number of Permits Available||Unlimited|
10/03/2023 - 10/13/2023
- Hunt available to Nonresidents
- Hunt available to Alaska residents
- Report in person or by phone within 2 days of successfully harvesting a goat.
- Specimens Required: None
Submit report within 15 days of the close of the season.
If you hunted unsuccessfully or did not hunt, you may report online at http://www.hunt.alaska.gov
1) PERMIT: The RG890 permit shall be in the possession of the permittee while hunting or transporting mountain goat and shall be exhibited to any person authorized to enforce state and federal laws who requests to see it. The permit is NON-TRANSFERABLE.
2) WHEN: The season is from October 4 - October 31. Permits are valid from the date of issuance to end of the season, unless closed by emergency order.
3) WHERE: That portion of Unit 14A southeast of the Matanuska River to the ridge dividing Metal Creek and Grasshopper Creek. The permittee is solely responsible for securing permission to trespass on private land.
4) BAG LIMIT: One (1) mountain goat, the taking of nannies with kids is prohibited. If you have killed a goat anywhere in Alaska during the current regulatory year, this permit is invalid. Hunters are encouraged to take billies. For help in identifying goat sexes see the Mountain Goat Identification Guide available at local Fish & Game offices and online at : www.adfg.alaska.gov/index.cfm?adfg=goatidentification.main
5) REPORTING: SUCCESSFUL hunters shall call 907-746-6325/6338 or report in person to an ADF&G office in Anchorage, Palmer, or Soldotna within 2 days of successfully harvesting a goat. Hunters who call must also return the completed harvest report by mail or in person within 5 days of kill.
UNSUCCESSFUL hunters or permittees who DID NOT HUNT shall return the completed harvest report, either in person at an ADF&G office in Anchorage, Palmer or Soldotna, online at http://hunt.alaska.gov, or by mail to the Palmer office, within 15 days of the close of the season.
6) PENALTY FOR FAILURE TO REPORT: If you fail to report, you will not be eligible to receive any permits (drawing, Tier II, and registration, including Tier I Nelchina caribou) during the next regulatory year. In addition, your name will be turned over to the Alaska Wildlife Troopers for enforcement action.
Hunt conditions and season dates can be changed by Emergency Order. Visit the Emergency Orders and Announcements page for more information.