Goat Hunting in Alaska
RG365 Permit Hunt Information
for Regulatory Year 2023
Hunt Number: RG365
Regulatory Year: 2023
Hunt Type: Registration
Species: Mountain Goat
Legal Animal: One (1) mountain goat, preferably male.
Number of Permits
|Residency||Number of Permits|
|Nonresidents||Up to 21 permits|
|Alaska residents||Up to 21 permits|
|Total Number of Permits Available||21 permits|
08/10/2023 - 10/15/2023
- Hunt available to Nonresidents
- Hunt available to Alaska residents
- Hunters shall submit the completed harvest report to ADF&G in Homer within five (5) days of goat harvest.
- Specimens Required: None
Report online at hunt.alaska.gov or by mail within 10 days of season end.
If you hunted unsuccessfully or did not hunt, you may report online at http://www.hunt.alaska.gov
1) PERMIT: The permit shall be in the possession of the permittee while hunting or transporting a mountain goat and shall be exhibited to any person authorized to enforce state and federal laws who requests to see it. The permit is NONTRANSFERABLE.
2) WHO: The hunt is open to residents and nonresidents. However, nonresidents must hunt with a registered guide or a resident relative within second-degree-of-kindred and must have a metal big game locking-tag.
3) WHEN: The season is from August 10 - October 15. The hunt may close early by emergency order.
4) WHERE: That portion of Unit 15C described on the corresponding hunt map available at ADF&G offices in Anchorage, Homer, Palmer, Soldotna and on the ADF&G website. The permittee is solely responsible for securing permission to trespass on private land.
5) BAG LIMIT: One (1) mountain goat, preferably male. If you harvest a nanny, you will be prohibited from hunting goats in Units 7 and 15 for 5 regulatory years. Nanny goats accompanied by kids may not be taken. Immediately after killing a goat, the permittee shall cancel the permit by cutting out the month and the day on the field portion of the permit. If you have killed a goat anywhere in Alaska during the current regulatory year, this permit is invalid
6) REPORTING: SUCCESSFUL hunters shall submit the completed harvest report to ADF&G in Homer within five (5) days of goat harvest. Hunters are requested
to present their horns for measuring and a tissue sample to the ADF&G office in Homer or Soldotna for sampling.
UNSUCCESSFUL hunters or permittees who DID NOT HUNT shall return the completed report in person or by mail to the Homer
office within 10 days of the close of the season. Reports can also be submitted online at http://hunt.alaska.gov.
7) PENALTY FOR FAILURE TO REPORT: If you fail to report, you will not be eligible for any drawing, Tier II, or registration (including Tier I Nelchina caribou) permits next regulatory year. In addition, your name will be turned over to the Alaska Wildlife Troopers for enforcement action.
Hunt conditions and season dates can be changed by Emergency Order. Visit the Emergency Orders and Announcements page for more information.