Goat Hunting in Alaska
RG480 Permit Hunt Information
for Regulatory Year 2023
Hunt Number: RG480
Regulatory Year: 2023
Hunt Type: Registration
Species: Mountain Goat
Legal Animal: One goat, either sex. Nannies with kids are protected and can not be legally harvested
Number of Permits
|Residency||Number of Permits|
|Nonresidents||Up to 99999 permits|
|Alaska residents||Up to 99999 permits|
|Total Number of Permits Available||Unlimited|
08/20/2023 - 03/31/2024
- Hunt available to Nonresidents
- Hunt available to Alaska residents
- Report online, by mail, or in person to the Kodiak ADF&G office within 5 days of hunt completion.
- Specimens Required: None
Report online, by mail, or in person to the Kodiak ADF&G office, within 15 days of the season closure.
You may report online at http://www.hunt.alaska.gov
1)The bag limit for this hunt is two (2) goats; however this permit is only valid for the taking of one (1) goat in Unit 8 in accordance with the current year's hunting regulations and the conditions described for Mountain Goat Hunt RG480. A second RG480 permit is required if you are attempting to hunt for a second goat. If you attempt to take two goats, only one can be a billy. Nannies with kids are protected and cannot be legally harvested.
2) Season dates are from August 20 - March 31 or until closed by Emergency Order.
3) Nonresidents must be accompanied in the field by an Alaska-licensed guide or resident relative within second-degree-of-kindred who possesses a valid Alaska hunting license, and must buy the appropriate locking tag prior to hunting.
4) SUCCESSFUL hunters are required to report on-line, by mail, or in person to the Kodiak ADF&G office within 5 days of hunt completion. In addition, successful hunters are encouraged to bring the head and horns of their harvested goat to the Kodiak ADF&G office for measurement and data collection.
5) UNSUCCESSFUL hunters or permittees who DID NOT HUNT are required to report on-line, by mail, or in person to the Kodiak ADF&G office within 15 days of the season closure.
6) REMEMBER: You must carry this permit with you while hunting and show it to anyone authorized to enforce state or federal laws who requests to see it.
7) PENALTY FOR FAILURE TO REPORT: If you fail to report, you will not be eligible for any drawing, Tier II,or registration (including Tier I Nelchina caribou) permits next regulatory year. In addition, your name will be turned over to the Alaska Wildlife Troopers for enforcement action.
Hunt conditions and season dates can be changed by Emergency Order. Visit the Emergency Orders and Announcements page for more information.