Goat Hunting in Alaska

RG363 Permit Hunt Information
for Regulatory Year 2023

Hunt Details

Hunt Number: RG363
Regulatory Year: 2023
Hunt Type: Registration
Species: Mountain Goat
Legal Animal: One (1) mountain goat, preferably male.

Number of Permits

Residency Number of Permits
Nonresidents Up to 16 permits
Alaska residents Up to 16 permits
Total Number of Permits Available 16 permits

GMU, Area

Unit 15C, Port Dick

Season Dates*

11/01/2023 - 11/14/2023

*See Drawing or Subsistence Supplements for season details.

Residency Restrictions

  • Hunt available to Nonresidents
  • Hunt available to Alaska residents

Reporting Requirements

  • Successful Hunters
    • Report in person with horns and hunt report to Anchorage, Homer, Palmer, or Soldotna within 5 days of kill.
    • Specimens Required: Horns for measuring
  • Unsuccessful Hunters
    Report online at hunt.alaska.gov or by mail within 10 days of season end.
  • Internet Reporting
    If you hunted unsuccessfully or did not hunt, you may report online at http://www.hunt.alaska.gov

Hunting Conditions

1) PERMIT: The RG363 permit shall be in the possession of the permittee while hunting or transporting a mountain goat and shall be exhibited to any person authorized to enforce state and federal laws who requests to see it. The permit is NONTRANSFERABLE.

2) WHEN: November 1 - November 14

3) WHERE: That portion of Unit 7 and 15 described on the corresponding hunt map online at http://hunt.alaska.gov. The permittee is solely responsible for securing permission to trespass on private land.

4) WHO: The hunt is open to both residents and non-residents. However, non-residents must hunt with a registered guide or a resident relative within second-degree-of-kindred and must have a metal big game locking tag.

5) BAG LIMIT: One (1) mountain goat, preferably male. Nanny goats accompanied by kids may not be taken. If you harvest a nanny, you will be prohibited from hunting goats in Units 7 and 15 for 5 regulatory years. Immediately after killing a goat, the permittee shall validate the permit by cutting out the month and the day portion of the permit. If you have killed a goat anywhere in Alaska during the current regulatory year, you are not eligible to participate in this hunt.

SUCCESSFUL hunters: Report in person with the horns and the completed harvest report to ADFG in Anchorage, Homer, Palmer, or Soldotna within five (5) days of goat harvest.

UNSUCCESSFUL hunters or permittees who DID NOT HUNT: Report online at http://hunt.alaska.gov, or return the completed report in person or by mail to the Homer office within 10 days of the close of the season.

7) PENALTY FOR FAILURE TO REPORT: If you fail to report, you will not be eligible to receive any permits (drawing, tier II, or registration) during the next regulatory year. In addition, your name will be turned over to the Alaska Wildlife Troopers for enforcement action.

Hunt conditions and season dates can be changed by Emergency Order. Visit the Emergency Orders and Announcements page for more information.