Alaska Department of Fish and Game
Secondary Site Navigation
Goat Hunting in Alaska
RG480 Permit Hunt Information
for Regulatory Year 2014
Hunt Number: RG480
Regulatory Year: 2014
Hunt Type: Registration
Species: Mountain Goat
Legal Animal: One goat, either sex
Number of Permits
|Residency||Number of Permits|
|Alaska residents||Up to 10000 permits|
|Nonresidents||Up to 10000 permits|
August 20 - March 20
- in person or by phone to Kodiak ADF&G within 2 days of completion of their hunt
- Specimens Required: None
in person or by mail, within 15 days of the season closure
You may report online at http://www.hunt.alaska.gov
1)The bag limit for this hunt is two (2) goats; however this permit is only valid for the taking of one (1) goat in Unit 8 in accordance with the current year's hunting regulations and the conditions described for Mountain Goat Hunt RG480. A second RG480 permit is required if you are attempting to hunt for a second goat. Nannies with kids are protected.
2) Season dates are from Aug. 20 - March 20 or until closed by Emergency Order.
3) Nonresidents must be accompanied in the field by an Alaska-licensed guide or resident relative within second-degree-of-kindred who possesses a valid Alaska hunting license, and must buy the appropriate locking tag prior to hunting.
4) SUCCESSFUL hunters shall report in person or by phone to Kodiak ADF&G within 2 days of completion of their hunt (907-486-1880). Harvest reports must be returned within 5 days after the hunt, either by turning it in at the ADF&G office in Kodiak, or by mail.
5) UNSUCCESSFUL hunters or permittees who DID NOT HUNT shall return their completely filled out harvest report, either by turning it in at the Alaska Department of Fish and Game office in Kodiak, or by mail, within 15 days of the season closure.
6) REMEMBER: You must carry this permit with you while hunting and show it to anyone authorized to enforce state or federal laws who requests to see it.
7) PENALTY FOR FAILURE TO REPORT: If you fail to report, you will not be eligible to receive any permits (drawing, tier I/II, and registration) during the next regulatory year. In addition, your name will be turned over to the Alaska Wildlife Troopers for enforcement action.
Hunt conditions and season dates can be changed by Emergency Order. Visit the Emergency Orders and Announcements page for more information.