Elk Hunting in Alaska

RE755 Permit Hunt Information
for Regulatory Year 2023

Hunt Details

Hunt Number: RE755
Regulatory Year: 2023
Hunt Type: Registration
Species: Elk
Legal Animal: One (1) Elk

Number of Permits

Residency Number of Permits
Nonresidents Up to 99999 permits
Alaska residents Up to 99999 permits
Total Number of Permits Available Unlimited

Season Dates*

10/23/2023 - 11/30/2023

*See Drawing or Subsistence Supplements for season details.

Residency Restrictions

  • Hunt available to Nonresidents
  • Hunt available to Alaska residents

Reporting Requirements

  • Successful Hunters
    • Report within 2 days of completing the hunt.
    • Specimens Required: None
  • Unsuccessful Hunters
    Return completed hunt report within 15 days of the close of the season.
  • Internet Reporting
    You may report online at http://www.hunt.alaska.gov

Hunting Conditions

1) PERMIT: The RE755 permit shall be in the possession of the permittee while hunting or transporting elk and shall be presented to any person authorized to enforce state and federal laws who requests to see it. The permit is NONTRANSFERABLE.

2) WHEN: The RE755 permit is valid from October 23 - November 30 or until closed by Emergency Order.

3) WHERE: Unit 8 except Raspberry Island. Portions of the hunt area may not open or may close early by emergency order. Much of the land is privately owned and subject to access fees.

4) BAG LIMIT: One (1) elk. If you have killed an elk anywhere in Alaska during the current regulatory year, you are not eligible to participate in this hunt. A wounded elk counts against your bag limit. If you wound an elk and do not recover it, you may not hunt elk for the remainder of the regulatory year.

5) REPORTING SUCCESSFUL hunters: Report kill within 2 days of completing the hunt by phone (907-486-1880), in person at Kodiak ADFG, or online at http://hunt.alaska.gov.

UNSUCCESSFUL hunters or permittees who DID NOT HUNT: Return the completed harvest report in person, online at http://hunt.alaska.gov, or by mail to Kodiak ADFG within 15 days of the close of the season.

6) PENALTY FOR FAILURE TO REPORT: If you fail to report, you will not be eligible to receive any permits (drawing, tier II, or registration) during the next regulatory year. In addition, your name will be turned over to the Alaska Wildlife Troopers for enforcement action.

Hunt conditions and season dates can be changed by Emergency Order. Visit the Emergency Orders and Announcements page for more information.