Black Bear Hunting in Alaska

RL065 Permit Hunt Information
for Regulatory Year 2022

Hunt Details

Hunt Number: RL065
Regulatory Year: 2022
Hunt Type: Registration
Species: Black Bear
Legal Animal: One (1) black bear

Number of Permits

Residency Number of Permits
Nonresidents Up to 99999 permits
Alaska residents Up to 99999 permits
Total Number of Permits Available Unlimited

GMU, Area

Unit 6D Prince William Sound

Season Dates*

09/10/2022 - 06/10/2023

*See Drawing or Subsistence Supplements for season details.

Residency Restrictions

  • Hunt available to Nonresidents
  • Hunt available to Alaska residents

Reporting Requirements

  • Successful Hunters
    • Report online or in person within 5 days. Sealing must be completed within 30 days.
    • Specimens Required: Skull and hide (unfrozen) with claws and evidence of sex attached
  • Unsuccessful Hunters
    Report online or in person within 15 days of the close of the season.
  • Internet Reporting
    You may report online at

Hunting Conditions

1) PERMIT: The RL065 permit shall be in the possession of the permittee while hunting or transporting a black bear and shall be exhibited to any person authorized to enforce state and federal laws who requests to see it. The permit is NONTRANSFERABLE.

2) WHEN: September 10 - June 10. The hunt area or portions of it may be closed by emergency order when the quota is reached.

3) WHERE: Unit 6D Prince William Sound

4) BAG LIMIT: One (1) black bear. The taking of sows with cubs is prohibited. If you have killed a black bear anywhere in Alaska during the current regulatory year, you are not eligible to participate in this hunt.


SUCCESSFUL hunters: Report online at, or in person with a completed hunt report at ADFG within 5 days of black bear harvest. Report by phone at (907) 424-3215. If leaving a message, successful reporting requires all fields of the report card. Skull and hide, unfrozen with evidence of sex and claws naturally attached, must be sealed within 30 days of kill. Completed hunt report must be submitted at time of sealing. If the animal you harvest has a collar, simply bring it to ADFG when you have your bear sealed or call (907) 424-3215 if you plan to have your bear sealed elsewhere.

UNSUCCESSFUL hunters or permittees who DID NOT HUNT: Report online at, in person with a completed harvest report at ADFG in Anchorage or Palmer, or by mail to the Cordova office, within 15 days of the close of the season.

6) PENALTY FOR FAILURE TO REPORT: If you fail to report, you will not be eligible to receive any permits (drawing, Tier II, or registration, including Tier I Nelchina Caribou) during the next regulatory year. In addition, your name will be turned over to the Alaska Wildlife Troopers for enforcement action.

Hunt conditions and season dates can be changed by Emergency Order. Visit the Emergency Orders and Announcements page for more information.