Brown Bear Species Management Reports and Plans
Report Period: 1 July 2014–30 June 2019
Plan Period: 1 July 2019–30 June 2024

Species management report and plan documents provide information about species that are hunted or trapped and management actions, goals, and recommendations for those species. Detailed information is prepared for each species every five years by the area management biologists for game management units in their areas. Reports are not produced for species that are not managed for hunting or trapping or for areas where there is no current or anticipated activity. Unit reports are reviewed and approved for publication by regional management coordinators. Any information taken from these reports should be cited with credit given to authors and the Alaska Department of Fish and Game. Suggested citations are included in each of the reports.

These reports provide a record of survey and inventory management activities for brown bear for the five regulatory years 2014–2018, and plans for the five regulatory years 2019–2023. A regulatory year (RY) runs from 1 July through 30 June (e.g., RY14 = 1 July 2014–30 June 2015). These reports are produced primarily to provide agency staff with data and analysis to help guide and record the agency's own efforts, but are also provided to the public to inform them of wildlife management activities. In 2016 the Alaska Department of Fish and Game's Division of Wildlife Conservation launched this new type of 5-year report to more efficiently report on trends and describe potential changes in data collection activities over the next 5 years. They replace the brown bear report of survey and inventory activities that was previously produced every 2 years.

These unit reports are published individually, so, although the period covered remains the same for all reports, the year published may differ.

Supplementary Matter


  • Unit 1 — Southeast Alaska, Dixon Entrance to Cape Fairweather
  • Unit 3 — Southeast Alaska, Islands of the Petersburg, Kake, and Wrangell area
  • Unit 4 — Admiralty, Baranof, Chichagof, and adjacent islands
  • Unit 5 — Cape Fairweather to Icy Bay, eastern Gulf of Alaska Coast (PDF 609 kB)
  • Unit 6 — Prince William Sound
  • Units 7 & 15 — Kenai Peninsula
  • Unit 8 — Kodiak and adjacent islands
  • Unit 9 — Alaska Peninsula
  • Unit 10 — Unimak Island
  • Unit 11 — Wrangell Mountains
  • Units 12 and 20E — Upper Tanana, White, Fortymile, Charley, and Ladue River drainages
  • Unit 13 — Nelchina Basin
  • Units 14A and B — Upper Cook Inlet
  • Units 14C — Municipality of Anchorage
  • Unit 16 — West side of Cook Inlet
  • Unit 17 — Northern Bristol Bay
  • Unit 18 — Yukon–Kuskokwim Delta
  • Units 19, 21A, and 21E — Drainages of the Kuskokwim River upstream from the village of Lower Kalskag, Yukon River drainage from Paimiut upstream to, but not including, the Blackburn Creek drainage, and Innoko River
  • Units 20A, 20B, 20C, 20F, and 25C — Central and Lower Tanana Valley, Middle Yukon drainages
  • Unit 20D — Central Tanana Valley near Delta Junction
  • Units 21B, 21C, 21D and 24 — Middle Yukon River, Koyukuk River, Nowitna River and Melozitna River drainages
  • Unit 22 — Seward Peninsula and Western Nulato Hills
  • Unit 23 — Kotzebue Sound and Western Brooks Range
  • Units 25A, 25B, 25D, 26B, and 26C — Upper Yukon River drainage and eastern North Slope of the Brooks Range
  • Unit 26A — Western North Slope