Emergency Orders and News Releases
Sport Fishing

Region 2-Southcentral News Release

(Released: August 03, 2018 - Expired: August 04, 2018)

Division of Sport Fish
Tom Brookover, Director
Anchorage Headquarters Office
333 Raspberry Road
Anchorage, AK 99518


Alaska Department of Fish and Game
Sam Cotten, Commissioner
P.O. Box 115526
Juneau, AK 99811-5526
www.adfg.alaska.gov


Contact: Mike Booz, Assistant Area Management Biologist
(907) 235-8191

Nick Dudiak Fishing Lagoon Youth-Only Fishery on August 4

(Homer) - A Youth-Only Fishery will be held on Saturday, August 4, 2018, from 12:01 a.m. to 11:59 p.m.at the Nick Dudiak Fishing Lagoon on the Homer Spit. This will be the last Youth-Only Fishery at the Fishing Lagoon for the 2018 fishing season.

The Nick Dudiak Fishing Lagoon Youth-Only Fishery allows anglers 15 years and younger to fish for all species, including king salmon, in the posted Youth-Only Sport Fishing area. The remainder of the Fishing Lagoon will be open for fishing to anglers of all ages. All other sport fishing regulations remain in effect for the Fishing Lagoon and are found on page 73 of the 2018 Southcentral Alaska Sport Fishing Regulations Summary booklet.

During the Youth-Only Fishery, Alaska Department of Fish and Game (ADF&G) staff will be present at the Fishing Lagoon from 9:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m. Staff will be available to help young anglers gear up and fish for king salmon and coho salmon returning to the Fishing Lagoon. Fishing rods will be available for kids to check out and use at the Fishing Lagoon, on a first come basis during this timeframe. Other activities will include tying egg loops, fishing knots, and learning the best way for releasing fish. Free loaner spinning rods are also available to all anglers for up to a week through the ADF&G Rod Lender Program. Fishing rods can be checked out at the ADF&G Homer Office.

The Youth-Only Fisheries were established by the Alaska State Legislature and implemented by the Alaska Board of Fisheries to provide a special opportunity for young people to get out and go fishing. Youth anglers do not need a sport fishing license. While adults can assist youth anglers in landing a fish, sections dedicated to Youth-Only fishing are closed to anglers 16 years and up, including catch-and-release, during that time.

For additional information, please contact the ADF&G Homer office at (907) 235-8191.