Alaska Department of Fish and Game Announces the Advisory Committee Excellence in Service Award Winners for 2023

(Juneau) — Alaska Department of Fish and Game Commissioner Doug Vincent-Lang is pleased to join Board of Game Chair Jerry Burnett and Board of Fisheries Chair Märit Carlson-Van Dort in recognizing the 2023 Advisory Committee Excellence in Service Award winners.

The Excellence in Service Award Program recognizes outstanding contributions in service to Alaska's communities, fish and wildlife, and regulatory process by Fish and Game Advisory Committee members across the state. The 2023 awardees are:

- Willow Hetrick, Anchorage AC
- Randy Alvarez, Lake Iliamna AC
- Mike Kramer, Fairbanks AC
- John Renner, Copper River/Prince William Sound AC

These individuals are recognized for their leadership on their local fish and game advisory committees. We sincerely thank them for their dedication in representing their communities in the fish and game regulatory process.

Alaska's advisory committee structure contributes to making Alaska the nation's leading example of a locally-driven fish and game management system. More than 700 Alaskans belong to 84 advisory committees up and down the coast and throughout the interior. It is through the excellent work of these volunteer individuals that regulatory bodies like the Alaska Boards of Game and Fisheries develop regulations that are responsive to local needs.

For more about this year's awardees, visit www.adfg.alaska.gov/index.cfm?adfg =process.acexcellence.

Find out about Alaska's advisory committees and the Boards of Game and Fisheries at www.adfg.alaska.gov/index.cfm?adfg=process.main.