2019 SPORT FISH BUSINESS Temporary
OWNER/GUIDE REGISTRATION APPLICATION |  Registration #

Alaska Department of Fish and Game / Division of Sport Fish - RTS -
333 Raspberry Road, Anchorage, Alaska 99518-1565 R C ‘? ‘!
Telephone: (907) 267-2369 or (907) 267-2299
http://www.adfg.alaska.gov/index.cfm ?adfg=prolicenses.sportfishguides
This TEMPORARY REGISTRATION is good for 21 business days from date signed by ADEG Representative.' '
Check if you were registered)|

CHECK ONE: 00 in2018?

[ ] Guide Only Registration (complete sections A and O)
I:I Business Owner Registration (complete sections A and B)
EI Combined Business/Guide Registration® (complete sections AL Boand ¢ VI

* An agent for a business cannot apply as a guide on a Combined Business/Guide Registration.
(=1 ey S £=]

INSTRUCTIONS ON BACK OF FORM

SECTION A: ALL APPLICANTS COMPLETE THIS SECTION
Name of Business Owner or Guide:
Last First Ml
Permanent Mailing Address:
PO Box or Street Address City State Zip

Telephone Number: ( ) In-Season Telephone Number: ( )
Mail Card Here:

(If different than permanent) PO Box or Street Address City State Zip

) Your Registration Card will be
Email Address: emailed to you within 21 days.
SECTION B: TO BE COMPLETED BY THE BUSINESS OWNER OR THEIR AGENT

BUSINESS INFORMATION:

Name of Business: ey WY TR
i

State of Alaska Business License Numbef:~

Expiration/Date: |/

Name of Business Owner:
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“Remember to get loghooks for your business-at'the nearest
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ADF&G office prior to commencement of guiding activities.™

SECTION C: TO BE COMPLETED BY THE GUIDE OR THEIR AGENT

2019 Alaska Sport Fishing License #: Date of Birth:

SIGNATURE OF BUSINESS OWNER/AGENT or GUIDE:

[ hereby certify that all information is true and correct and that [ understand this information is subject to public disclosure. (NOTE: Making a false
statement or omitting a material fact is subject to a maximum penalty of $10,000 or 1 year imprisonment, or both, per AS 11.56.210.)

Circle one: Applicant or Agent Date:

This TEMPORARY REGISTRATION must be signed and stamped by an ADF&G employee and in your possession before guiding activities bcgin.' e
Name of ADF&G Representative (print): Date:
Signature: Place of Issue:

Bottom Copy to Applicant



INSTRUCTIONS FOR THE
2019 SPORT FISH BUSINESS OWNER/GUIDE
REGISTRATION

Attention: The following will apply without exception:

1. All applicable sections of the registration must be complete and legible prior to ADF&G validation. No
“pending,” “unknowns,” or blanks will be accepted.

2. Incomplete registration forms will be returned, resulting in a processing delay.

3. A signature is required.

4. This is a temporary registration that expires in 21 days. Your wallet-sized registration card will be emailed to
you. You may reply to the email to request a hard copy, which will be mailed to you within 2 business days.

. There may be additional state and federal requirements to operate as a business or guide. It is
your responsibility to determine what those requirements are.

INSTRUCTIONS:

SECTION A: ALL applicants must complete this section.

h

SECTION B: BUSINESS OWNER OR THEIR AGENT: Complete this section if you are the owner/agent of the
sport fishing business. This section should be filled out even if the owner does not intend to personally guide clients. An agent
for this business CANNOT apply as a guide on the same registration. A separate registration application must be submitted.

IMPORTANT NOTICE TO BUSINESS OWNERS
State regulation (5 AAC 75.075) requires all business owners providing sport fishing guide services in Alaska to register with the
Department of Fish and Game before guiding services begin. Business owners are required to register all charter vessels with ADF&G
and acquire logbook(s) prior to commencement of guiding acitivities. Guides must have a copy of the business owner’s ADF&G
business registration in their possession while guiding.

SECTION C: GUIDES: Complete this section if you intend to guide for a sport fish operation owned by someone other
than you, or if you are a business owner who also intends to guide (owner/operator).

U.S. COAST GUARD OPERATOR’S LICENSE: A licensed sport fish guide must have, at minimum, a Limited
OUPYV for Western Waters in Alaska or 6-pak U.S.C.G. operator’s license in their possession while operating a motorized
vessel with clients or transporting clients in a motorized vessel on navigable waters. Navigable waters are determined by the

U.S. Coast Guard (907) 271-6700.

IMPORTANT NOTICE TO GUIDES
State regulation (5 AAC 75.075) requires all guides providing sport fishing guide services in Alaska to register with the Department
of Fish and Game before guiding activities begin.

WHAT A GUIDE MUST HAVE IN POSSESSION WHILE GUIDING

A sport fish business owner or guide should be able to present all documents required for registration upon request by a
representative of the Department of Fish and Game, peace officer of the state, or law enforcement representative of the National
Marine Fisheries Service. While engaged in sport fishing guide services, a sport fishing guide shall have the following readily
available for inspection.

+ a current sport fishing guide registration;

+ acopy of the current ADF&G sport fishing business registration of the guide’s employer;

« a current Alaska sport fishing license and applicable tags, stamps or permits that are required to engage in the sport
fishery for which the guide services are being provided;

- an identification card issued to the sport fishing guide by a state or federal agency that bears a photo of the sport
fishing guide;

« acurrent logbook for the water type on which guide services are being provided.

Bottom Copy to Applicant



2019 SPORT FISH BUSINESS OWNER/GUIDE
RENEWAL REGISTRATION APPLICATION

Alaska Department of Fish and Game / Division of Sport Fish - RTS Reglstmtton #
333 Raspberry Road, Anchorage, Alaska 99518-1565 TO BE ASSIGNED
Telephone: (907) 267-2369 or (907) 267-2299

http://www.adfg.alaska.gov/index.cfm?adfg=prolicenses.sportfishguides

Check if vou were registered

CHECK ONE: O in2018
. . . & : This is a renewal registration
D Guide Only Registration (complete sections A and ) application only.
5 . . ‘ . . Complete this applicaton and
D Business Owner Registration (complete scetions A and ) return it to the Anchorage Fish
; : . . .. ) . ‘ o & Game address located at the
D Combined Business/Guide Registration® (complete sections A, B, and ) top of this form.
- . Allow 21 business days for
*An agent for a business cannot apply as a guide on a Combined Business/Guide Registration. processing.
INSTRUCTIONS TO COMPLETE APPLICATION ON REVERSE

SECTION A: ALL APPLICANTS COMPLETE THIS SECTION

Name of Business Owner or Guide:

Last First Ml
Permanent Mailing Address:
PO Box or Street Address City State Zip
Telephone Number: ( ) In-Season Telephone Number: ( )
Mail Card Here:
(If different than permaneni) PO Box or Street Address Citv State Zip

Your Registration Card will be
emailed to you within 21 days.

SECTION B: TO BE COMPLETED BY THE BUSINESS OWNER OR THEIR AGENT

Email Address:

BUSINESS INFORMATION:

Name of Business:

State of Alaska Business License Number: Expiration Date:

Name of Business Owner:

*Remember to get loghooks for your business at the nearest ADF&G office prior to commencement of guiding activities.®

SECTION C: TO BE COMPLETED BY THE GUIDE OR THEIR AGENT

2019 Alaska Sport Fishing License #: Date of Birth:

SIGNATURE OF BUSINESS OWNER/AGENT or GUIDE:

I hereby certify that all information is true and correct and that I understand this information is subject to public disclosure.
(NOTE: Making a false statement or omitting a material fact, is subject to a maximum penalty of $10,000 or 1 year imprisonment, or both.
per AS 11.56.210.) l You are not allowed to operate until you receive your 2019 registration card |

Circle one: Applicant or Agent Date:




INSTRUCTIONS FOR THE 2019 SPORT FISH
BUSINESS OWNER/GUIDE
RENEWAL REGISTRATION APPLICATION

Attention: The following will apply without exception:

1. All applicable sections of the registration must be complete and legible prior to ADF&G validation. No
“pending,” “unknowns,” or blanks will be accepted.
. Incomplete registration forms will be returned, resulting in a processing delay.

. A signature is required.
4. This is a registration application only. Your wallet-sized registration card will be emailed within 21 business

days. You may reply to the email to request a hard copy, which will be mailed to you within 2 business days.
5. There may be additional state and federal requirements to operate as a business or guide. It is your
responsibility to determine what those requirements are.

INSTRUCTIONS:

SECTION A: ALL applicants must complete this section. ’

SECTION B: BUSINESS OWNER OR THEIR AGENT: Complete this section if you are the owner/agent of the
sport fishing business. This section should be filled out even if the owner does not intend to personally guide clients. An agent
for this business CANNOT apply as a guide on the same registration. A separate registration application must be submitted.

IMPORTANT NOTICE TO BUSINESS OWNERS
State regulation (5 AAC 75.075) requires all business owners providing sport fishing guide services in Alaska to register with the
Department of Fish and Game before guiding services begin. Business owners are required to register all charter vessels with ADF&G
and acquire logbook(s) prior to commencement of guiding acitivities. Guides must have a copy of the business owner’s ADF&G
business registration in their possession while guiding.

SECTION C: GUIDES: Complete this section if you intend to guide for a sport fish operation owned by someone other
than you, or if you are a business owner who also intends to guide (owner/operator).

U.S. COAST GUARD OPERATOR’S LICENSE: A licensed sport fish guide must have, at minimum, a Limited
OUPYV for Western Waters in Alaska or 6-pak U.S.C.G. operator’s license in their possession while operating a motorized
vessel with clients or transporting clients in a motorized vessel on navigable waters. Navigable waters are determined by the

U.S. Coast Guard (907) 271-6700.

IMPORTANT NOTICE TO GUIDES
State regulation (5 AAC 75.075) requires all guides providing sport fishing guide services in Alaska to register with the Department

of Fish and Game before guiding activities begin.
WHAT A GUIDE MUST HAVE IN POSSESSION WHILE GUIDING

A sport fish business owner or guide should be able to present all documents required for registration upon request by a
representative of the Department of Fish and Game, peace officer of the state, or law enforcement representative of the National
Marine Fisheries Service. While engaged in sport fishing guide services, a sport fishing guide shall have the following readily

available for inspection.

» a current sport fishing guide registration;

« acopy of the current ADF&G sport fishing business registration of the guide’s employer;

« a current Alaska sport fishing license and applicable tags, stamps or permits that are required to engage in the sport
fishery for which the guide services are being provided,

« an identification card issued to the sport fishing guide by a state or federal agency that bears a photo of the sport
fishing guide;

« acurrent logbook for the water type on which guide services are being provided.




State of Alaska
Department of Fish & Game
Division of Sport Fish

Logbook No.:

2019 Saltwater Charter Logbook and Vessel Registrationf‘_.-,

If you are interested in using the electronic logbook, please contact Bob Powers at
robert.powers@alaska.gov or 907-267-2299.

Vessel Name:

Vessel AK No. or USCG No.:

1. All charter trip activity conducted from this vessel must be recorded in the
logbook assigned to this vessel.

2. Federal rules require Charter Halibut Permit (CHP) number(s) to be
recorded in the logbook before the beginning of any trip during which
halibut are caught and retained.

3. Please read the Instructions for Completing 2019 Logbook Pages (beginning
on page ii) carefully as they may have changed.

CHP #: CHP HOLDER:

Logbook Inspection

This logbook must be presented for inspection, upon request, to any representative
of the Department of Fish and Game, peace officer of the state, or law enforcement
representative of the National Marine Fisheries Service.




Monday to Sunday Activity.

During the week of:
January 1 — March 31

Postmarked or Received

by ADF&G (Mondays):
April 8

April 1 — April 7 April 15
April 8 — April 14 April 22
April 15— April 21 April 29
April 22 — April 28 May 6
April 29 —May 5 May 13
May 6 — May 12 May 20
May 13 —May 19 May 28
May 20 — May 26 June 3
May 27 — June 2 June 10
June 3 —June 9 June 17
June 10 - June 16 June 24
June 17 — June 23 July 1
June 24 — June 30 July 8
July 1 —July 7 July 15
July 8 —July 14 July 22
July 15 = July 21 July 29
July 22 — July 28 August 5
July 29 — August 4 August 12
August 5 — August 11 August 19
August 12 — August 18 August 26

Optional
Guide Information

GL Number

GL-

Guide Name

GL-

GL-

GL-

August 19 — August 25

September 3

August 26 — September 1

September 9

September 2 — September 8

September 16

September 9 — September 15

September 23

September 16 — September 22

September 30

September 23 — September 29 October 7
September 30 — October 6 October 14
October 7 — October 13 October 21
October 14 — October 20 October 28
October 21 — October 27 November 4

October 28 — November 3

November 12

November 4 — November 10

November 18

GL-

GL-

GL-

GL-

November |1 —November 17

November 25

November 18 — November 24

December 2

November 25 — December 1

December 9

December 2 — December §

December 16

December 9 — December 15

December 23

December 16 — December 22

December 30

December 23 — December 29

January 6, 2020

December 30 — December 31

January 13, 2020




INSTRUCTIONS FOR ADF&G REPRESENTATIVE:

Please forward the white copy of this form to:
Sport Fish RTS, 333 Raspberry Rd., Anchorage, AK 99518-1565.

DO NOT REMOVE THE PINK COPY. THE PINK COPY MUST STAY IN THE LOGBOOK.

DO NOT ISSUE A LOGBOOK UNLESS THE APPLICANT HAS THE FOLLOWING:
—: 2019 ADF&G Sport Fish Business Registration

[ Current AK Vessel No. issued by DMV or Current USCG Vessel Documentation No.

None of the above can be “Pending”

2019 ADF&G Sport Fish Business Owner and Guide License applications are available at all
ADF&G offices or online near the bottom of the following web page:

http://www.adfg.alaska.gov/index.cfm?adfg=SFGuidesLicense. Businesslicense

or can be applied for online at: https://www.adfg.alaska.gov/store/

AK Vessel Registration information is available from Alaska Division of Motor Vehicles at
(907) 269-5551 or online at:  http://www.doa.alaska.gov/dmv/reg/boat. htm

2019 Saltwater Charter Logbook Sign-Out and Vessel Registration

Must be completed :

Sport Fish Business Information: Logbook No.:

Name of Sport Fishing Business:

ADF&G Sport Fish Business Registration No.: 2019 - BL-

l:l Check Box if Your Business is

Sport Fish Charter Vessel Registration: Using the Electronic Logbook

= DMYV issued AK No. or USCG Vessel Documentation No.:

(A logbook WILL NOT be issued without a current AK or USCG No.)

—» Vessel Name:

(Vessel Name and AK No. or USCG No. must appear on the cover)

—; Primary Alaska Saltwater port from which this vessel will operate during 2019:

DEPARTMENT USE ONLY

Did vou issue a Statistical Area Map YES |:| NO |:| If No, Explain:

—
[—; ADF&G Representative: (print)
I]::-'

Area Office: Date of Issue:




INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING 2019 SALTWATER LOGBOOK PAGES

Vessel Registration

All vessels used in sport fishing guide activities must be registered with ADF&G. All vessels must have a current
AK registration number issued by the Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) or a current USCG documentation
number prior to registering with ADF&G. If the vessel has an AK number, the AK number must be displayed
during guided fishing operations.

Vessel Decal/Year Tags

One set of ADF&G decals will be issued per registered vessel. Decals must be applied and visible on both sides
of the vessel. Decals do not have to be applied directly to the hull of the vessel. Decals can be adhered to wood,
fiberglass or plexiglas® which in turn is secured to both sides of the vessel. Decals can be transferred from one
vessel to another; as long as the receiving vessel has a current AK registration number from DMV or a current
USCG documentation number and has been registered with ADF&G. Annual stickers or tags will be issued as
vessels are registered and must be adhered directly to the decal in the designated area. Lost decals and tags can
be replaced free of charge at any ADF&G office.

Transferring A Logbook

A logbook is issued to a specific business for a specific vessel. All active vessels must be registered and issued a
current year logbook from an ADF&G office. Logbooks may not be transferred between businesses. Only the
business the logbook is issued to may use the logbook.

If a vessel belonging to a registered sport fish business is borrowed by another business, the borrowing business
must be currently registered and must acquire their own logbook.

If a business substitutes a different vessel for the primary vessel during any part of the season, the original logbook
can be used on the substitute vessel for up to seven (7) consecutive days. A temporary vessel used for more than
seven (7) consecutive days must be issued a new logbook. ADF&G must be notified (see contact information on
page v) with the substitute vessel registration information.

All vessels engaged in fishing with clients on board must be registered and display the vessel decals.

Return The Logbook Pages Weekly

Fishing activity that occurs prior to April 1, 2019 is due to ADF&G by April 8, 2019; all activity thereafter must be
received by ADF&G EVERY WEEK as detailed in the schedule on the inside of the front cover of this book. Logbook
pages can be submitted to any ADF&G office or mailed to the address printed on the back of each logbook page.

PINK COPIES OF THE LOGBOOK PAGES ARE TO REMAIN IN THE LOGBOOK

Responsibility Of Business Owner & Guide

Guides are responsible for completing logbook pages in the manner and at the location specified in the logbook
instructions.

ADF&G licensed business owners are responsible for reporting logbook information and submitting the completed

logbook pages to the department for fishing activities from January 1, 2019 through December 31, 2019 for each sport
fishing guide they employ in accordance with the schedule printed inside the front cover of the logbook.

What A Guide Must Have In Possession While Guiding

While providing sport fishing guide services, a sport fishing guide shall have the following readily available for

inspection by request of a representative of the Department of Fish & Game, a peace officer of the state, or law

enforcement representative of the National Marine Fisheries Service:

a current sport fishing guide registration issued by ADF&G;

copy of the current ADF&G sport fishing owner’s business registration of the guide’s employer;

a current Alaska sport fishing license, tags, stamps or permits that are required to engage in the sport fishery

for which guide services are being provided;

an identification card issued to the sport fishing guide by a state or federal agency that bears a photo of the
sport fishing guide. The identification card MUST match the name on the guide license;

> per federal regulation a Saltwater Charter Logbook if halibut are being harvested;

Other agencies such as the USCG or National Marine Fisheries Service may have additional requirements. It is
your responsibility to determine what those requirements are.
See page v for Federal Regulations.

YV V V
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1




INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING 2019 SALTWATER LOGBOOK PAGES

When To Complete A Logbook Page

A Charter Vessel Fishing Trip is defined as the time period between the first deployment of fishing gear
from a vessel providing sport fishing guide services and the offloading of one or more anglers or any
harvested fish from the vessel. :

A trip that consists of no paying clients, that is, all anglers are “comped’, and the guide is NOT receiving
any tips or other compensation, would NOT be considered a chartered trip and a logbook page should
not be completed and submitted to the Alaska Dept. of Fish and Game. If a guide is present during a
private fishing trip, the guide may be compensated for actual daily expenses for fuel, food, or bait. In this
case a logbook page should not be completed or submitted to ADF&G. If the guide receives any other
compensation for assisting anglers, such as daily wages, tips, moorage fees, etc. from a registered fishing
service or from clients, then a logbook page should be completed and submitted to ADF&G.

Additional information about regulations and definitions related to guide and business registration and
guiding can be found at: http://www.adfg.alaska.gov/index.cfm?adfg=SFGuidesLicense. Businesslicense

Before a Trip Begins (see definition above), the Guide must Record:
> The 2019 sport fishing license number, permanent identification number (PID) or disabled veteran
(DAV) license number for anyone that will fish during any part of the trip, including paying and
non-paying (comped) anglers and crew.
> The first and last name of each angler in the space provided below their license number.

> The word “Youth Angler” or “YA” in the fishing license space along with the first and last
name on the name line for resident anglers under 18 years old and non-resident anglers under
16 years old. Multiple youth anglers on a trip should be recorded as YA1, YA2 etc.

Complete the logbook through the last charter trip of the season in the following manner:
Returning to a Dock:

> Complete and sign the logbook page before offloading any fish from the vessel. If no fish were kept,
complete and sign the logbook page before offloading any clients.

No Docking Facilities (e.g. trailered vessels):

> Complete and sign the logbook page before the vessel or guide departs the launch/landing site
AND before offloading any fish from the vessel.
> If no fish were kept, complete and sign the logbook page before the vessel or guide departs the
launch/landing site.
No Vessel Used (aircraft, highway vehicles, walk-in, ATVs, etc.):

X

> Complete and sign the logbook page before the guide leaves the fishing site. Fishing site is defined
as the location where fishing activity took place.

Multiple Trips per Day:
Use a separate logbook page for each trip if multiple trips where taken during the same day. Complete
and sign the logbook page at the end of each trip as described above.

Multi-Day Trips:

Complete and sign a logbook page at the end of each day on which sport fishing guide services were
provided. Use a separate logbook page for each day of the trip. Record the port or community of offloading
at the end of the multiple-day trip, not the port or location where the vessel anchored or moored each night.

For example, for a five-day trip with only three days of guided fishing, three logbook pages should be
submitted, all with different dates fished but with the same port of offloading.

iii
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HOW TO REPORT INFORMATION:ONTHE LOGBOOK PAGE

The 2019 logbook pages are designed to be read by an optical scanner. Your cooperation and neatness in
reporting minimizes data entry time and cost, and makes the information available sooner.

1. Use clear and legible handwriting. Print: do not use cursive.

2. Use a black ink pen; do not use a pencil or other color pen.

3. Do not write in the margins.

4. Do not write 0’s (zero) if a client did not keep or release any fish during a trip, leave the kept and
released fields blank.

X ! X ] ]
NO NO NO

5. Enter the trip information within the boxes and lines provided. Stay within the “bracketed” space

allowed:
2 _ 13 2

NO NO YES

Single digits should appear in the right hand column.

0

6. Please keep the pages and logbook as clean as possible.

ADF&G Contact Information:
Division of Sport Fish, Guide License and Logbook Program in Anchorage, Alaska at
(907) 267-2369, or (907) 267-2299, or email: dfg.dsf.guides@alaska.gov .

FEDERAL REGULATIONS
Federal regulations for IPHC Area 2C and 3A (1) authorize guided angler fish (GAF) for the Charter halibut
fisheries, (2) prohibit the licensed guide and crew members from retaining halibut on any charter vessel fishing
trip, (3) require all anglers in IPHC Areas 2C and 3A who harvest (keep) halibut to sign the logbook,
(4) require a saltwater charter logbook be on the vessel if halibut are being harvested, and (5) require retention of
all logbook data pages showing halibut harvest for 2 years after the end of the fishing year for which the logbook
was issued. o

NOAA CONTACT INFORMATION:

There are numerous differences between State and Federal regulations that govern charter fishing in 2C and 3A,
which all operators must be aware of, and operate under. For additional information on federal charter logbook
requirements for halibut, call NOAA Fisheries Office for Law Enforcement (907) 586-7225.

You must comply with the federal halibut regulations described at:

http://alaskafisheries.noaa.gov/fisheries/2c-3a-halibut-regs and http://www.iphc.int

A summary of the federal charter haﬁﬁut fishery regulations is available at:
http://alaskafisheries.noaa.gov/fisheries/sport-halibut




INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING 2019 SALTWATER LOGBOOK PAGES

Trip Information

Date

Record the month and day for each trip taken. If two or more trips were taken on the
same day, that date will appear on all pages for that day.

Hour Trip Ended

Record the hour the trip ended with the offloading of clients and fish. Round to the
nearest hour only: trips ending at or after 5:00 pm but before 5:31pm would be logged
as 5 pm and trips ending from 5:31pm to 6:00 pm would be logged as 6 pm. Do not
indicate minutes. Fill in the circle for AM or PM. For multi-day trips record the hour
that fishing ended on each day.

Guide Registration
Number

The 2019 guide registration number issued by ADF&G to the guide that led the fishing
trip.

Charter Halibut Permit
(CHP) and
multiple Permits

Record the Charter Halibut Permit (CHP) number used for the trip on the logbook
page in the space provided. Write the entire CHP number as it appears on the permit
followed by the letter, i.e., 1234A. If more than one CHP is used during a trip, check
the box next to the CHP number. Complete a separate page for each CHP used during
a trip. Unique trip information for each CHP, along with individual angler and catch
information must be recorded for each CHP used. Angler license numbers along with
kept and released information should be recorded only ONCE per trip. Record all
CHP number(s) and CHP Holder names on the front cover of the logbook.

NOAA Guided Angler
Fish (GAF)
Requirements

If you have a federal GAF permit in 2019 and are allowing clients to harvest halibut
under the authority of your GAF permit, record the GAF permit number used on
each logbook page for trips in which GAF halibut were harvested.

If GAF halibut are kept along with non-GAF halibut, record each in its appropriate box.

Port or Community of
Off-Loading

The port or community where clients and/or fish were off-loaded at the conclusion
of the trip. On a multi-day trip, indicate the community where clients and fish will
be off-loaded when the trip is finished. ‘

Primary Statistical
Area Fished

Report the 5 or 6-digit statistical area where most of the fish were caught or targeted.
Record the statistical area for salmon and/or bottomfish, depending on whether the
gear and fishing methods were effectively targeting salmon, bottomfish, or both. Report
only statistical areas from maps provided with the logbook for this purpose.

EXAMPLE 1:
Only Salmon
Targeted

If salmon were targeted, whether any were caught or not, record the statistical area
and boat hours fished on the salmon target species line in the trip information section.

If bottomfish were caught while targeting salmon only, record the number of
bottomfish kept and released in the appropriate columns in the bottomfish portion
of the individual angler and catch information section. The statistical area and hours
fished should be recorded in the salmon targeted line in the trip information section.
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Trip Information (Continued)

EXAMPLE 2:
Only Bottomfish
Targeted

(incl. Halibut)

If bottomfish were targeted, whether any were caught or not, record the statistical area
and boat hours fished on the bottomfish targeted species line in the trip information
section.

If salmon were caught while targeting bottomfish only, record the number of salmon
kept and released in the appropriate columns in the salmon portion of the individual
angler and catch information section. The statistical area and hours fished should be
recorded in the bottomfish targeted line in the trip information section.

Record the statistical area and maximum number of boat hours spent fishing simultaneously

EXAMPLE 3: for both salmon AND bottomfish on both the salmon and bottomfish target species lines
Salmon and Bottomfish ] . . . .
Tarceted under Trip Information. For example, if mooching or jigging for 7 hours record 7 hours
8 in the salmon effort row and 7 hours in the bottomfish effort row.
The number of boat hours for which at least one rod/line was fished. Record only the
Hours Fished number of hours spent fishing, DO NOT include the hours spent running to or from
fishing areas. Round to the nearest whole hour.
Individual Angler Information
Before a guided sport fishing trip begins (see definition on page ii), record the
Sport Fish License No. 2019 Alaska Sport Fishing License number, resident PID (permanent identification
number) or DAV (disabled veteran license number) of each client, comped angler,
and crew member that will be fishing. PID and DAV numbers can begin with a P, D,
T, or Z. See Youth Angler instructions below.
Residency Fill in the circle to indicate AK Resident OR Non-Resident for all anglers, including

youth, crew and “comped” anglers.

“Comped” and Crew
angler status

If applicable, next to each angler license number:

> fill in the circle if the angler is the guide or a Crew member,
> fillin the circle if the angler is “Comped” (neither the guide service or the guide
leading the trip is compensated by the angler).
A crew member includes the licensed guide leading the fishing trip as well as any
person who, for compensation or the intent to receive compensation, provides
assistance to clients on board the vessel.

Federal rules prohibit the licensed guide and crew members from retaining halibut
on a charter fishing trip with clients on board in IPHC Area 2C and 3A.

Angler Name

Angler’s first and last name MUST be printed below the angler’s license number.

Youth Anglers

For resident anglers under 18 years old and non-resident anglers under 16 years old,
write the word “YOUTH ANGLER” or “YA” in the fishing license space, indicate
residency, AND record the first and last name on the name line. If more than one
youth angler is on a trip, record them as YA1, YA2, etc.

Angler Signatures in
2Cand 3A

Federal rules require all anglers who harvest (keep) halibut in IPHC 2C or 3A to sign
the logbook and to verify that their name, license number (if required), and number
of halibut kept (retained) are recorded correctly. A signature is also required of youth
anglers that keep halibut.
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Proxy Fishing Instructions

If an angler is proxy fishing for a beneficiary other than for halibut, that angler must
have the fishing license or PID/DAV of the person for whom he/she is fishing, as well
Proxy Fishing as a validated proxy fishing form. Write down the license number of the recipient
of the fish (beneficiary), the beneficiary’s first and last name, followed by the word

“Proxy” on the signature line.

Per federal regulation:
ﬁaﬁbutamlfyggé lg)en Use two records on the logbook page, one for the angler’s license number and name

taken by proxy fishing. | and the other for the beneficiary’s license number and name. Mark AK Resident in
the adjacent column for both. Beneficiaries and those fishing for them must both be
residents of Alaska.

For permanent licenses (residents only), write down the entire license number,
including the preceding alpha character, which can bea P, D, T or Z, e.g. Z50148.

Recording Catch Information

Recording Catch Indicate the number of fish Kept (retained) and Released (let go) by species or group.
Information Leave the fields BLANK if no fish were kept or released.

Guide Signature The licensed guide who led the trip with clients on board MUST sign at the bottom
of each page.

Complete the Page[:, of Dif more than one page is required for a trip, for example,
Continuing Trip if two pages are required to list all anglers, they would be numbered Page 1 of 2 and
Information Page 2 of 2. The trip information MUST be duplicated on each logbook page used.

Special Instructions & Definitions

Federal regulations require that if one or more anglers are catching and retaining
halibutin Area 2C or Area 3A, a valid charter halibut permit (CHP) for the appropriate
regulatory area must be on board the vessel at all times. Record the charter halibut
permit used during a trip on each page. If more than one CHP is used during a trip,
check the box next to the CHP number. Complete a separate page for each CHP used
during a trip. Unique trip information for each CHP, along with individual angler and
Charter Halibut Permit | catch information must be recorded for each CHP used. Angler License numbers along

(CHP) with kept and released information should be recorded only ONCE per trip. All CHP
number(s) and CHP Holder names used during the fishing season MUST appear on
the front cover of the logbook. The CHP number used during a trip must appear on
the individual logbook page. A CHP number needs to appear only once on the cover,
but recorded on the logbook page each time it is used.

NOAA Guided Angler If you have a federal GAF permit in 2019 and are allowing clients to harvest halibut
Fish (GAF)Requirements under the authority of your GAF permit, alongside Non-GAF halibut, record the
number of each within the appropriate halibut category.

See FEDERAL NOTE: Record the number of Non-GAF halibut kept AND released. Record the
REGULATIONS on | nymber of GAF halibut kept ONLY.

p;fsg‘l’_:g &gﬁﬁg (‘;‘IF lfoutmust record your Guided Angler Fish (GAF) Permit Number if GAF halibut are
ept.




Special Instructions & Definitions (Continued)

2C/3A Operators Federal regulations prohibit retention of halibut from Area 2C and Area 3A during the
(operators who fish both | same charter vessel fishing trip. Contact NOAA for additional federal halibut regulations;
2Cand 3A for Halibut) | See page v for contact information.
Federal regulations require every angler in IPHC Area 2C or 3A (including youth)
Angler Signature who keep halibut to sign on the angler signature line directly beneath the angler’s first
and last name on each page.
“Shakers” King salmon under 28 in Southeast Alaska must be released upon capture, unless
Shakers caught in designated terminal harvest areas, or allowed by emergency order.
Includes black, dark, and dusky rockfish (commonly called “black bass™), yellowtail,
Pelagic Rockfish widow, and blue rockfish. These species of rockfish are uniformly gray, green, brown,
or black (see rockfish ID chart in your regulation booklet).
Commonly called “red snapper” Adults primarily orange with a pale yellow line running
Yelloweye Rockfish along the lateral line, juveniles with two bold white lateral stripes. Have yellow eyes.
Can grow to 36 inches in length.
Othernglglélﬁ-sPhelagic Includes quillback, copper, silvergray, China, tiger, and other rockfish species.
Sablefish Sablefish, commonly known as black cod, have a streamlined, elongated body, black
(Black Cod) to dark gray above fading to gray or white in the belly, with two dorsal fins and small
teeth. Larger fish found in deep water can grow to 40 inches.
This is a single species, Lamna ditropis. These sharks are large, firm, dark brown or
Salmon Shark black on top, with white bellies with dark blotches. Do not include spiny dogfish (“sand
shark”) or sleeper sharks (“mud sharks”) in this category.
All Other Fish DO NOT record any OTHER fish kept or released.




