# **REGIONAL REGULATIONS**

<u>Special Notice:</u> The Alaska Board of Fisheries is scheduled to meet in March 2016 and will consider proposals that potentially affect finfish fisheries. Any regulations resulting from that meeting will not make the printing deadline for this regulations summary. Please contact the ADF&G office in Anchorage (267-2218) for changes to finfish regulations.

# **DATA COLLECTION REQUIREMENTS**

• Upon request by a Department representative or state peace officer, anglers must forfeit the heads of any salmon or trout with external or internal tags and all fish that are adipose finclipped along with the date and location of where caught.

#### LIABILITY FOR VIOLATIONS

 Unless otherwise provided by regulation or statute, a person who violates a provision of these regulations is strictly liable for the offense, regardless of that person's intent.

#### **PROHIBITED ACTS**

# Closed Waters/ Waters closed to sport fishing:

Unless otherwise provided by area regulations:

 (a) the waters within 300 feet of a fish weir or fish ladder are closed to sport fishing, unless a lesser or greater distance is indicated by Department markers; and (b) it is unlawful to cast, drift, or place by any means a hook, bait, lure, or fly into waters closed to sport fishing.

# Possession or marking of live fish or live fish eggs:

- It is unlawful to possess, transport, release live fish or live fish eggs, or in any way mark any live fish prior to release;
  - except in accordance with the terms of a permit that may be issued by the Commissioner under 5 AAC 41 or AS 16.05.930(a),
  - or in accordance with sport fishing provisions listed on page 7 under "Use of sport-caught fish as bait."

## Sale of sport-caught fish prohibited:

• No person may buy, sell, or barter sport-caught fish or their parts.

#### **Felt-soled boots prohibited:**

• The use of footgear with absorbent felt or other fibrous material on the soles is prohibited while sport fishing in fresh water.

## Gaffs prohibited:

• A gaff may not be used to puncture any fish intended or required to be released.

## **Molesting of fish:**

Molesting or impeding spawning or the natural movement of fish contrary to lawful methods and means of sport fishing is prohibited.

## Snagging in fresh water prohibited:

- It is unlawful to intentionally snag or attempt to snag any fish in fresh water.
- "Snag" means to hook a fish elsewhere than in its mouth. A fish unintentionally hooked elsewhere than its mouth must be released immediately.

#### Waste of fish:

 The intentional waste or destruction of any species of sport-caught fish is prohibited.

# Use of explosives or toxicants:

• The use of any toxicant or explosive (including a shaft tipped with an explosive charge, commonly known as a bang stick or powerhead) is prohibited in the taking of fish in the waters of Alaska.



# Fishing by Proxy...

Alaska residents may proxy sport fish, proxy personal use fish, and/or proxy subsistence fish for another Alaska resident who is (1) 70% or greater physically disabled (physician's affidavit required); (2) 65 years or older; or (3) legally blind (physician's affidavit required). See page 95 for more info.

No person may give or receive payment to be a beneficiary or a proxy.

Get a "Proxy Information Form" (Proxy) from any ADF&G office, or download it from http://www.adfg.alaska.gov/static-sf/statewide/pdfs/07\_proxy.pdf

#### **METHODS AND MEANS**

#### Freshwater sport fishing:

Fish may **not** be taken in fresh water by means of:

- Fixed or weighted hooks and lures (except those of standard manufacture);
- Multiple hooks with gap between point and shank larger than one-half inch;
- Spear, unless permitted by area regulations; or arrow, unless permitted by area regulations.

# Sport fishing gear:

Unless otherwise provided in regulation, sport fishing may be conducted only by use of:

- A single line attached to not more than one plug, spoon, spinner, or series of spinners, or two flies, or two hooks.
- The line must be closely attended, except when specified by departmental emergency order.

**Use of attractor (bead):** An attractor (bead) when used with a fly, lure, or bare hook, must be:

- either fixed within two inches of the fly, lure, or bare hook (see illustration).
- or be free sliding on the line or leader.

For the purposes of this regulation, a bead not attached to the hook is an attractor, not a fly. A bead fished on the line above a bare hook is not legal gear in fly-fishing-only waters.

#### **METHODS AND MEANS (continued)**

#### Use of underwater spear (saltwater):

 In salt water, spears and spearguns may be used to take fish, subject to applicable seasons and limits, by persons who are completely submerged.

#### Ice fishing gear:

- Sport fishing through the ice is permitted using two closely attended lines, provided only one hook or artificial lure is used on each line, except that additional gear may be used for northern pike and burbot as specified in statewide or area regulations.
- The maximum number of lines/hooks that an angler may deploy is not cumulative and is equal to the maximum number of lines/hooks allowed for any species. The number of lines/hooks used to target a species may not exceed the number allowed for that species. For example, in a lake where regulations allow 15 lines for burbot and 5 lines for northern pike, the maximum number of lines you may fish is 15 (not 15 + 5 = 20); and when setting your 15 lines, only 5 of them may be placed to target pike.

## Gear for fly-fishing-only waters:

- In waters designated as fly-fishing-only waters, sport fishing is permitted only as follows;
  - with not more than one unweighted, single-hook fly with gap between point and shank of  $\frac{3}{8}$  inch or less; and
  - weights may only be used 18 inches or more ahead of the fly.
  - Beads not attached to the fly are not allowed.

# Sport fishing gear for northern pike:

 Unless otherwise provided by the area regulations, northern pike may be taken by spear.

## Sport fishing gear for herring and smelt:

• In salt water, herring and smelt may be taken with the use of 15 or less unbaited single or multiple hooks attached to a single line.

**Sport fishing gear for burbot:** Unless otherwise provided by area regulations, burbot may be taken in fresh water with more than one line and hook, provided:

- the total aggregate number of hooks may not exceed 15 or the daily bag limit for burbot in the waters being fished, whichever is less;
- hooks are single hooks with gap between point and shank larger than <sup>3</sup>/<sub>4</sub> inch;
- each hook is set to rest on the bottom of the lake or stream:
- each line is identified with angler's name and address;
   and
- each line is physically inspected at least once in each 24-hour period.

# POSSESSION OF SPORT-CAUGHT FISH (EXCEPT HALIBUT)

- Sport-caught fish, their parts, and articles manufactured from such fish may be possessed within the state by any person at any time, and may be transported within and exported out of the state by any person at any time, except that no person may possess any unpreserved fish, or part of one, not legally taken by the angler, unless the angler furnishes, upon request of any peace officer of the state, a statement signed by the person taking the fish stating the type of fish, number of fish, location, date taken, and license number. See Transfer of Possession Form on page 95. The statement is unnecessary if the person possessing the fish is accompanied by the person who took the fish. No person may possess fish which were not legally taken.
- A person may possess only the limit of fish allowed for the water on which that person is fishing.
- Upon request by an employee of the Department, or a peace officer of the state, a person must present for inspection any fish taken or possessed by the person in a sport fishery.
- Upon request by an employee of the Department or a peace officer of the state, a person while taking fish must present for inspection any apparatus designed to be or capable of being used to take fish in a sport fishery.

#### POSSESSION OF SPORT-CAUGHT HALIBUT

- Pacific halibut fisheries are managed by the federal government under international treaty.
- Federal possession and landing requirements for sport-caught halibut differ from state regulations.
   Possession includes unpreserved AND preserved fish for halibut
- Consult federal regulations for: bag, size, and possession limits for guided (charter) anglers; possession and landing requirements, and inseason changes to the regulations.
- Federal halibut regulations are available from: NOAA Fisheries Alaska Region, (907) 586-7228

http://www.fakr.noaa.gov/sustainablefisheries/halibut/sport.htm

#### **USE OF SPORT-CAUGHT FISH AS BAIT**

- Unless provided for in this section, fish taken under sport fishing regulations may not be used as bait, except;
  - Pink salmon taken as part of a sport fishing bag limit, may be used as bait in salt water.
  - Herring and whitefish may be used as bait,
  - Species for which bag limits, seasons, or other regulatory methods and means are not provided in sport fishing regulations may be used as bait,
  - The head, tail, fins, and viscera of legally taken sport fish, may be used as bait.
- Live herring and other species for which no seasonal or harvest limits are specified in sport fishing regulations may be used as live bait, except that live fish may not be used as bait for sport fishing in fresh water.
  - Live bait may be possessed, transported, or released only in the salt waters of the regulatory area in which it was taken.