### AN ALASKA SPORT FISHING LICENSE IS REQUIRED FOR ALL RESIDENT ANGLERS 18 YEARS AND OLDER, AND NONRESIDENT ANGLERS 16 YEARS AND OLDER TO FISH IN ALL FRESH AND SALT WATERS IN ALASKA.

#### A sport fishing license must be in the anglers actual possession, must be signed, and may be in paper or electronic form.

- In accordance with the regulations outlined in this summary booklet, a sport fishing license allows you to take, or attempt to take finfish or shellfish in the fresh and salt waters of Alaska. Additionally, you may need a king salmon stamp or a harvest record card.
- Your sport fishing license, PID, or DV must be in your possession while you are sport fishing.
- All persons engaged in sport fishing or in possession of sport-caught finfish or shellfish must show their sport fishing license, required harvest record card and/or king stamp, and their harvest to any representative of ADF&G or any peace officer of the state, upon request.
- No person may alter, loan, or transfer to any other person any sport fishing license; and no person may use any license issued to another person.
- If your sport fishing, hunting, or trapping license is revoked in any state, you may not obtain an Alaska sport fishing license.

#### A resident of Alaska is a person who...

• For the preceding 12 consecutive months, has maintained a home in Alaska with the intent to stay, and who is not claiming residency (or receiving benefits under a claim of residency) in another state, territory, or country. Benefits include but are not limited to applying for a resident fishing and hunting license in another state, obtaining a driver's license in another state, or receiving benefits or paying taxes as a resident of another state.

#### Active duty military personnel and their dependents...

- Stationed in Alaska for the preceding 12 months may purchase a resident sport fishing license regardless of benefits received in another state. Resident sport fishing regulations apply.
- Permanently stationed in Alaska for less than 12 months may purchase a nonresident military sport fishing license and a nonresident military annual king salmon stamp at reduced rates and are considered nonresidents. Nonresident sport fishing regulations apply.

If you have questions about your residency, please call your local Alaska Wildlife Troopers. See the Alaska Wildlife Troopers telephone numbers listed on page 9.

### SPORT FISHING LICENSE FEES - ALASKA RESIDENTS

### **SPORT FISHING LICENSE FEES - NONRESIDENTS**

Nonresidents under the age of 16 years old do not need to purchase a sport fishing license. Residents of the Yukon Territory may purchase a nonresident license at Alaska resident fees. Annual sport fishing license is valid for the calendar year from date of purchase.

1-Day Sport Fishing License\$15
3-Day Sport Fishing License\$30
7-Day Sport Fishing License\$45
14-Day Sport Fishing License\$75
Annual Sport Fishing License

Nonresident Military Annual Sport Fishing License ... \$20

Only for active duty military service members permanently stationed in Alaska for less than 12 months or for their dependent(s) of such.

### **SPORT FISHING HARVEST RECORD**

#### Harvest records are required by ALL anglers when harvesting any species with an annual limit. Species with an annual limit are listed in the general regulations section.

• Areas to record harvested species with an annual limit are printed on each sport fishing license.

• A harvest record card is required for resident anglers under 18 years old, nonresident anglers under 16 years old, and PID or DV licensed anglers.

•Immediately upon landing and retaining a fish that has an annual limit, all anglers must enter the species, date, and location **IN INK** on the harvest record portion listed on the back or front of their sport fishing license or on a harvest record card.



Alaska Department of Fish and Game

Division of Sport Fish

•A person obtaining a duplicate or additional license or harvest record card must transfer their harvest records of species with annual limits previously landed during the current year to their new license or harvest record card.

### WHERE TO GET A SPORT FISHING LICENSE, STAMP, & HARVEST CARD

Sport fishing licenses and king salmon stamps may be purchased at local ADF&G offices, from licensed local vendors (i.e. sporting good stores), and online at https://store.adfg.alaska.gov.

Harvest record cards are available at local ADF&G offices, from licensed local vendors, and online at https://www.adfg.alaska.gov/static/license/sportlicense/pdf/sf\_harvest\_record\_card.pdf.

PID or DV cards may be obtained online at https://store.adfg.alaska.gov.

### KING SALMON STAMP INFORMATION

Anglers sport fishing for king salmon including catch-and-release (except king salmon stocked into landlocked lakes) must purchase a current year's king salmon stamp. Anglers can purchase stamps online and print them immediately. If you purchase a physical stamp, it must be signed across the face of the stamp, in ink, and stuck to the back or front of your sport fishing license depending if you have purchased a handwritten sport fishing license or a sport fishing license online.

Examples of a physical king salmon stamp and a king salmon stamp purchased through the ADF&G online store.



### KING SALMON STAMP FEES

Alaska residents 18 years and older and nonresidents 16 years and older need to purchase a king stamp to fish for king salmon in fresh and salt waters.

Annual king stamps are valid for the calendar year from date of purchase.

Resident Annual King Salmon Stamp\$10	C
Nonresident 1-day King Salmon Stamp \$15	5
Nonresident 3-day King Salmon Stamp \$30	С
Nonresident 7-day King Salmon Stamp \$45	5
Nonresident 14-day King Salmon Stamp \$75	5
Nonresident Annual King Salmon Stamp \$100	C
Nonresident Military King Salmon Stamp \$30	C
Duplicate King Salmon Stamp\$5	5

The following individuals do not need a king salmon stamp:

- Resident anglers under 18 and nonresidents under 16.
- Residents who possess an ADF&G PID or DV card.
- Residents who possess the Low Income Sport Fishing License.
- Residents who possess the Resident Blind Sport Fishing License.



Purchase your sport fishing license, king salmon stamp, permits, and so much more through the ADF&G online store.



## STATEWIDE REGULATIONS - LICENSING, KING SALMON STAMPS, & HARVEST RECORDS

### HARVEST RECORD REQUIREMENTS

- Harvest records are required when angling for any species with an annual limit.
- A harvest record form is printed on the sport fishing license. For anglers who do not require a sport fishing license, free harvest reporting cards are available on line at https://www.adfg.alaska.gov/static/license/sportlicense/ pdf/sf\_harvest\_record\_card.pdf or from ADF&G offices and from fishing license vendors.
- Annual limits are listed in the General and Special Regulations for each area.
- Immediately upon landing and retaining a fish that requires harvest recording, anglers must enter the species, date, and location, IN INK, on the back of their sport fishing license or on the harvest record card.

### DATA COLLECTION REQUIREMENTS

• Upon request by a Department representative or state peace officer, anglers must forfeit the heads of any salmon or trout with external or internal tags and all fish that are adipose fin-clipped along with the date and location of where caught.

### **LIABILITY FOR VIOLATIONS**

• Unless otherwise provided by regulation or statute, a person who violates a provision of these regulations is strictly liable for the offense, regardless of that person's intent.

### **PROHIBITED ACTS**

#### **CLOSED WATERS/ WATERS CLOSED TO SPORT FISHING:**

• Unless otherwise provided by area regulations: (a) the waters within 300 feet of a fish weir or fish ladder are closed to sport fishing, unless a lesser or greater distance is indicated by Department markers; and (b) it is unlawful to cast, drift, or place by any means a hook, bait, lure, or fly into waters closed to sport fishing.

#### FELT-SOLED BOOTS PROHIBITED:

• The use of footgear with absorbent felt or other fibrous material on the soles is prohibited while sport fishing in fresh water.

### **GAFFS PROHIBITED:**

• A gaff may not be used to puncture any fish intended or required to be released.

#### **MOLESTING OF FISH:**

• Molesting or impeding spawning or the natural movement of fish contrary to lawful methods and means of sport fishing is prohibited.

# **POSSESSION, TRANSPORT, OR MARKING OF LIVE FISH, EGGS, OR AQUATIC ORGANISMS:**

- It is unlawful, except in accordance with the provisions listed on page 7 under "Use of Sport-Caught Fish as Bait," or in compliance with the terms of a permit issued by the Commissioner for a person to collect, transport, possess, propagate, export, mark in any way, or release into the waters or the lands of the state, any live fish, fish eggs, or aquatic organism.
- It is unlawful for a person to possess, import, propagate, transport, release, purchase, or sell within the state a banned invasive species (see Definitions on page 8), including any part of the organism, such as reproductive or genetic material, at any stage of its life cycle.

#### SALE OF SPORT-CAUGHT FISH PROHIBITED:

• No person may buy, sell, or barter sport-caught fish or their parts.

#### **SNAGGING IN FRESH WATER PROHIBITED:**

- $\cdot$  It is unlawful to intentionally snag or attempt to snag any fish in fresh water.
- "Snag" means to hook a fish elsewhere than in its mouth. A fish unintentionally hooked elsewhere than its mouth must be released immediately.
- Unless otherwise prohibited under area regulation, snagging is allowed in salt water.

#### **USE OF EXPLOSIVES OR TOXICANTS:**

• The use of any toxicant or explosive is prohibited in the taking of any fish in the waters of Alaska. Except that a shaft tipped with an explosive charge (commonly known as a bangstick or powerhead) or a firearm may be used on board a vessel in salt water to dispatch a fish caught with legal gear.

#### WASTE OF FISH:

• The intentional waste or destruction of any species of sport-caught fish is prohibited.

### METHODS AND MEANS

#### FRESH WATER SPORT FISHING:

Fish may not be taken in fresh water by means of:

- Fixed or weighted hooks and lures (except those of standard manufacture);
- Multiple hooks with gap between point and shank larger than one-half inch;
- Spear, unless permitted by area regulations; or arrow, unless permitted by area regulations.
- · Spearguns are not legal gear in fresh waters.

### ICE FISHING GEAR:

- Sport fishing through the ice is permitted using two closely attended lines, provided only one hook or artificial lure is used on each line, except that additional gear may be used for northern pike and burbot as specified in statewide or area regulations.
- •The maximum number of lines/hooks that an angler may deploy is not cumulative and is equal to the maximum number of lines/hooks allowed for any species. The number of lines/hooks used to target a species may not exceed the number allowed for that species. For example, in a lake where regulations allow 15 lines for burbot and 5 lines for northern pike, the maximum number of lines you may fish is 15 (not 15 + 5 = 20); and when setting your 15 lines, only 5 of them may be placed to target northern pike.

#### **SPORT FISHING GEAR:**

Unless otherwise provided in regulation, sport fishing may be conducted only by use of:

- A closely attended single line attached to not more than one plug; one spoon; one spinner or series of spinners; two artificial flies; or two hooks.
- The line must be closely attended, unless unattended setlines for burbot are allowed per area regulations.

### **METHODS AND MEANS (CONTINUED)**

#### **SPORT FISHING GEAR FOR BURBOT:**

Unless otherwise provided by area regulations, burbot may be taken in fresh water with more than one line and hook, provided:

- •The total aggregate number of hooks may not exceed 15 or the daily bag limit for burbot in the waters being fished, whichever is less.
- Each hook is set to rest on the bottom of the lake or stream.
- $\cdot \, \text{Each}$  line is identified with angler's name and address.
- Each line is physically inspected at least once in each 24-hour period.

#### SPORT FISHING GEAR FOR HERRING AND SMELT:

• In salt water, herring and smelt may be taken with the use of 15 or less unbaited single or multiple hooks attached to a single line.

#### SPORT FISHING GEAR FOR NORTHERN PIKE:

• Unless otherwise provided by the area regulations, northern pike may be taken by spear.

#### USE OF ATTRACTOR (BEAD):

An attractor, including a bead, when used with an artificial fly, artificial lure, or bare hook, must be:

- Either fixed within two inches of the bare hook, fly, or lure,
- $\cdot\,\textsc{Or}$  be free sliding on the line or leader.
- A bead fished on the line above a bare single hook is legal gear in waters where only flies may be used.

#### USE OF UNDERWATER SPEAR (SALT WATER):

 In salt water, spears and spearguns may be used to take fish, subject to applicable seasons and limits, by persons who are completely submerged, provided that the spear or speargun is not tipped with an explosive charge.

### SPORT FISH GUIDING

• All individuals and businesses who are providing sport fishing guide services must register and obtain a guide and/or business registration with ADF&G before guiding clients.

- All sport charter vessels used for the guided taking of fish or shellfish in fresh or salt water must have a current Division of Motor Vehicles boat registration number or USCG documentation number and an ADF&G sport fishing guide vessel decal with the current year renewal sticker.
  - Decals must be displayed in plain sight on each side of the vessel any time sport fishing guide services are taking place.
- In Southeast Alaska, all saltwater sport fishing businesses must use an eLogbook.
- Additional information on requirements for sport fish guides and businesses can be found online at www.adfg.alaska.gov/index.cfm?adfg=SFGuides License.main.

### **USE OF SPORT-CAUGHT FISH AS BAIT**

• Unless provided for in this section, fish taken under sport fishing regulations may not be used as bait, except;

- Herring and whitefish may be used as bait.
- Species for which bag limits, seasons, or other regulatory methods and means are not provided in sport fishing regulations may be used as bait.
- The head, tail, fins, and viscera of legally taken sport fish, may be used as bait.
- Live fish may not be used as bait for sport fishing in fresh water.
- Live herring and other species for which no seasonal or harvest limits are specified in sport fishing regulations may be used as live bait in salt water.
- Live bait may be possessed, transported, or released only in the salt waters of the regulatory area in which it was taken.

### **POSSESSION OF SPORT-CAUGHT HALIBUT**

- Pacific halibut fisheries are managed by the federal government under international treaty.
- Federal possession and landing requirements for sport-caught halibut differ from state regulations. Possession includes unpreserved AND preserved fish for halibut, but possession limits only apply in saltwaters.

# • Transfer of Possession forms, as mentioned in the previous section, are not valid for halibut.

• Consult federal regulations for halibut bag, size, and possession limits for guided (charter) anglers; and possession and landing requirements.

Federal halibut regulations are available through NOAA Fisheries Alaska Region at (907) 586-7228.

www.alaskafisheries.noaa.gov/fisheries/sport-halibut

### **POSSESSION OF SPORT-CAUGHT FISH**

• Sport-caught fish, their parts, and articles manufactured from such fish may be possessed within the state by any person at any time, and may be transported within and exported out of the state by any person at any time, except that no person may possess any unpreserved fish, or part of one, not legally taken by the angler, unless the angler furnishes, upon request of any peace officer of the state, a statement signed by the person taking the fish stating the type of fish, number of fish, location, date taken, and license number. See Transfer of Possession Form on page 39. The statement is unnecessary if the person possessing the fish is accompanied by the person who took the fish. No person may possess fish which were not legally taken.

- A person may possess only the limit of fish allowed for the water on which that person is fishing.
- Upon request by an employee of the department, or a peace officer of the state, a person must present for inspection any fish taken or possessed by the person in a sport fishery.
- Upon request by an employee of the department or a peace officer of the state, a person while taking fish must present, for inspection, any apparatus designed to be or capable of being used to take fish in a sport fishery.

# **SOUTHWEST ALASKA - REGIONAL REGULATIONS**