
 

 

 
 

Department of Fish and Game  
43961 Kalifornsky Beach Rd., Suite B  

Soldotna, Alaska 99669  
Main: 907.262.9368  

                                                                 Fax: 907.262.4709 

 
June 4, 2025 

 
TO ALL PERMIT HOLDERS, PROCESSORS AND BUYERS OF UPPER COOK INLET SALMON: 
 
As the 2025 fishing season is rapidly approaching, this is an appropriate time to remind you of some important 
catch reporting requirements. 
 
Catch reporting responsibilities for the 2025 season will be the same in State of Alaska waters as in previous years.  
Catch figures must be reported to Alaska Department of Fish and Game (ADF&G) no later than 12:00 noon on the 
day following a fishing period.  Early reports are very much appreciated.  The sooner you can summarize and 
tabulate your purchases and report these figures to us, the more lead time we will be able to provide in announcing 
additional fishing periods, if warranted.  In addition to the call-in, emailed, or faxed reports, the yellow ADF&G 
copy of all paper fish tickets and the ADF&G copy of E-landings or T-landings tickets must be turned into a 
department representative at your local ADF&G office within 7 days after landing. The ADF&G offices in 
Soldotna, Homer and Anchorage are open from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday. Additionally, the yellow 
ADF&G copy of all paper fish tickets and the ADF&G copy of E-landings or T-landings tickets can be 
mailed to the Soldotna Fish and Game office postmarked within 7 days after landing. Please note that all 
salmon retained for personal use by permit holders need to be reported on a fish ticket and included in your report 
to ADF&G.  A sample paper fish ticket and electronic fish ticket have been included in this packet for those not 
familiar with how fish tickets are to be filled out.  
 
ADF&G is keenly aware of the logistical challenges many of you face in receiving fish at your plant or buying 
stations and then getting all of this information recorded on fish tickets. You and your permit holders operate in an 
environment where accurate determination of pounds of fish is critical.  While ADF&G supports this effort, it is 
just as important to accurately report the number of fish you purchase. The following statute (16.05.690(a)) and 
regulation (5 AAC 39.130) legally obligate you to accurately report numbers of fish.  If physically counting the 
number of fish you purchase is too time-consuming, then please sub-sample during each fishing period to determine 
the average weight, i.e., count and weigh one hundred fish or count and weigh a tote to determine an average 
weight per fish per species. This data is critical to the department so biologists can accurately make important 
inseason management decisions about various fisheries.  The common practice of dividing the total weight of a 
permit holders’ catch by a “guess” of the average weight per species (for example, 6lbs. or 7lbs. for sockeye 
salmon) is not acceptable.   
 
There are several permitting and registration requirements a company must meet before operating for the season. 
First, buyers and processors must have a current Fishery Business License with the Department of Revenue (DOR) 
valid for the calendar year they are operating. For help with your Fishery Business License contact DOR at (907) 
269-6620. ADF&G works with DOR to send your fish tickets and code plates after your Fishery Business License 
is approved. You do not need to request these materials separately. Second, if you are processing, packaging, or 
transporting commercially harvested fish you may need additional permitting from the Alaska Department of 
Environmental Conservation (DEC). To learn more about these requirements, contact DEC at (907) 269-7628. 
Lastly, you must register your fishing area with the ADF&G, Division of Commercial Fisheries office in Soldotna 
prior to taking the first delivery. 
 
A catcher-seller permit allows a CFEC permit holder to sell their unprocessed catch directly to the public from their 
harvesting vessel or from the dock. A catcher-seller cannot process their catch and cannot have a processor custom 
process their catch for them. Filleting and freezing are considered processing and would not be allowed with a 
Catcher-Seller permit. The catcher-seller permit is issued by ADF&G and applications can be submitted by paper or 



 

through the Department of Revenue online system. This permit must be renewed every calendar year to be valid. 
For further information see the Catcher-Seller Handout in Figure 5. 
 
A fish transporter works on behalf of the CFEC permit holder to remove the catch from the harvesting vessel, 
transport, and sell the catch to a licensed processor or directly to the public (if the CFEC permit holder has a current 
Catcher-Seller permit). Fish transporters can only transport Pacific cod, salmon, and herring. The fish transporter 
permit is issued by ADF&G and applications can be submitted through the Department of Revenue online system. 
This permit must be renewed every calendar year to be valid. For further information see the Fish Transporters 
FAQ in Figure 6. 
 
The following is a brief outlook for the 2025 commercial salmon fishing season.  For the entire set gillnet and drift 
gillnet outlooks, please see the links below:  
Set Gillnet: https://www.adfg.alaska.gov/static/applications/dcfnewsrelease/1664462500.pdf  
Drift Gillnet: https://www.adfg.alaska.gov/static/applications/dcfnewsrelease/1664306824.pdf  

In 2025, a run of approximately 6.9 million sockeye salmon is forecast to return to UCI with an estimate of 4.9 
million available for harvest. This UCI forecast is average compared to historical total run estimates from 1986 to 
present.  
 
The Kenai River sockeye salmon forecast is approximately 4.2 million fish. The 2025 Kenai River forecast is 
302,400 (7.5%) fish more than the historical (1986–2024) average run of 3.8 million, and 968,000 (26%) fish more 
than the recent 10-year (2015–2024) average run. 
 
The Kasilof River sockeye salmon run forecast is approximately 1.2 million fish. The 2025 forecast is 311,000 fish 
(28%) greater than the historical (1986–2024) average run of 930,000 fish and 261,000 fish (23.5%) greater than 
the recent 10-year (2015–2024) average run. 
 
All Cook Inlet set gillnet permit holders are required to register for one of three Cook Inlet areas prior to fishing.  
The registration areas are: 1) Upper Subdistrict of the Central District; 2) Northern District; or, 3) all remaining 
areas of Cook Inlet (Greater Cook Inlet).  Once registered for one of these three areas, permit holders may fish only 
in that area for the remainder of the year.  No transfers will be permitted.  Dual permit holders must register both 
permits in the same registration area.  Set gillnet permit holders fishing in the Northern District or the Greater Cook 
Inlet area can register in person at department offices in Soldotna, Homer, or Anchorage, or by mail, or 
electronically (more information about electronic registration can be found in the following paragraph).  Mail-in 
forms are available at area offices or on the department’s homepage under “Registration Forms” at: 
http://www.adfg.alaska.gov/index.cfm?adfg=commercialbyareauci.salmon#management  
 
Permit holders wishing to register in person for the Upper Subdistrict of the Central District must register and purchase 
buoy stickers in the Soldotna ADF&G office. Permit holders will need to register and purchase buoy stickers for the 
Upper Subdistrict if they are participating in the commercial dip net fishery.  Electronic registration and buoy sticker 
purchasing, formerly offered by UCIERA, can now be done online using your myADFG profile. Detailed instructions 
for online registration and buoy sticker purchasing can be found online at: 
https://www.adfg.alaska.gov/static/fishing/PDFs/commercial/registration_buoys_tags_stickers_guide.pdf. Permit holders 
will need to create an ADF&G profile to access the new registration/sticker application. If permit holders have any 
questions about the new online registration process, please contact the Soldotna ADF&G office. 
 
If you have any questions concerning catch reporting or any uncertainties about how to fill out fish tickets or 
complete the electronic registration process, please contact the Fish Ticket Clerk by phone at (907) 260-2910 
(office) or (907) 953-4002 (cell phone- able to receive text messages) or Lucas Stumpf at (907) 260-2916.  If you 
would like an electronic copy of the buyer’s report form, please contact our office and we would be happy to email 
you a copy.  
 
For questions regarding the upcoming fishing season and management scenarios, please contact either Colton Lipka 
at (907) 260-2907 (office) or at (907) 420-7740 (cell phone – able to receive text messages or Lucas Stumpf at 
(907) 260-2916.  As always, the commercial fisheries information line (recorded message) is (907) 262-9611. The 
main phone line for the Soldotna office (907) 262-9368.  

https://www.adfg.alaska.gov/static/applications/dcfnewsrelease/1664462500.pdf
https://www.adfg.alaska.gov/static/applications/dcfnewsrelease/1664306824.pdf
http://www.adfg.alaska.gov/index.cfm?adfg=commercialbyareauci.salmon#management
https://www.adfg.alaska.gov/static/fishing/PDFs/commercial/registration_buoys_tags_stickers_guide.pdf


 

An email address was created in 2024 for the UCI fish ticket clerk, any inquiries and/or submissions regarding fish 
tickets should be sent to the address: dfg.dcf.uci.fishtickets@alaska.gov 
 
Please send all UCI salmon fish tickets and summary forms to: 
 
ATTN: Fish Ticket Clerk 
Alaska Department of Fish and Game 
43961 Kalifornsky Beach Rd., Suite B 
Soldotna, AK  99669 
email: dfg.dcf.uci.fishtickets@alaska.gov 
 
Fax reports to: (907) 262-4709 
Call reports to: (907) 260-2910 (Office) 

(907) 953-4002 (Mobile phone – can receive text messages) 
 

(please leave a message during non-business hours) 
  

mailto:dfg.dcf.uci.fishtickets@alaska.gov
mailto:dfg.dcf.uci.fishtickets@alaska.gov


 

  
 

ALASKA DEPARTMENT OF FISH & GAME SALMON BUYERS REPORT 
UPPER COOK INLET 

SET GILLNET 
 

Company:   Prepared By:   
 

Fishing Period Date:   Time:  
 

Central District 
Statistical Area Name and Number 

No. of No. of No. of No. of No. of No. of 
Deliveries Kings Reds Coho Pinks Chums 

Upper Subdistrict 
Ninilchik 244-21       

Cohoe 244-22       

Kasilof River SHA 244-25       

South K-Beach 244-31       

North K-Beach 244-32       

Salamatof 244-41       

East Forelands 244-42       

 
Western Subdistrict 
Silver Salmon 245-20       

Tuxedni Bay 245-30       

Polly Creek 245-40       

Little Jack Slough 245-50       

       

Kustatan Subdistrict 
Big River 245-55       

W. Foreland 245-60       

 
Chinitna Bay 
Chinitna Bay 245-10       

 
Kalgin Island 
West Side 246-10       

East Side 246-20       

 

Northern District 
Statistical Area Name and Number 

No. of No. of No. of No. of No. of No. of 
Deliveries Kings Reds Coho Pinks Chums 

General Subdistrict 
Trading Bay 247-10       

Tyonek 247-20       

Beluga 247-30       

Su Flats 247-41       

Pt. Mackenzie 247-42       

Fire Island 247-43       

 
Eastern Subdistrict 
Pt Possession 247-70       

Birch Hill 247-80       

#3 Bay 247-90       

 
Report Numbers of Fish Only by completing this form and emailing to: 
dfg.dcf.uci.fishtickets@alaska.gov 

 
OR by calling the Fish Ticket Clerk before NOON the day after a commercial period: 
Office Phone: (907) 260-2910 Mobile Phone: (907) 953-4002 

 
Alaska Dept. of Fish and Game 
43961 K-Beach Road, Suite B, Soldotna, AK 99669 
Updated April 2025 

 

mailto:dfg.dcf.uci.fishtickets@alaska.gov


 

ALASKA DEPARTMENT OF FISH & GAME SALMON BUYERS REPORT 
UPPER COOK INLET 

DRIFT GILLNET 
 

Company:   Prepared By:   
 

Fishing Period Date:   Time:  
 

State Of Alaska Fishery 

Statistical Area Name and Number 
No. of No. of No. of No. of No. of No. of 

Deliveries Kings Reds Cohos Pinks Chums 
Kasilof River SHA 244-26       

Northeast Drift 244-50       

Kenai Corridor Only 244-51       

Expanded Kenai Corridor 244-52       

Full Corridor 244-55       

Expanded Full Corridor 244-56       

Expanded Full Corridor & AP Sec. 244-57       

Kasilof Corridor only 244-61       

Expanded Kasilof Corridor 244-62       

Anchor Point Section 244-63       

Central East Drift 244-70       

Chinitna Bay 245-10       

Northwest Drift 245-70       

Central West Drift 245-80       
Southwest Drift 245-90       

 
 

Federal Fishery 

Statistical Area Name and Number 
No. of No. of No. of No. of No. of No. of 

Deliveries Kings Reds Cohos Pinks Chums 
UCI EEZ 244-64       

 
Report Numbers of Fish Only by completing this form and emailing to: 
dfg.dcf.uci.fishtickets@alaska.gov 

 
OR by calling the Fish Ticket Clerk before NOON the day after a commercial period: 
Office Phone: (907) 260-2910 Mobile Phone: (907) 953-4002 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
Alaska Dept. of Fish and Game 

 

Division of Commercial Fisheries  

43961 K-Beach Road, Suite B, Soldotna, AK 99669 
Updated April 2025  

mailto:dfg.dcf.uci.fishtickets@alaska.gov


 

 
 
 

 
Here is a sample fish ticket.                                                      Please Note the Following: 

Vessel Name:  for set gillnets, you 
can leave blank or enter an R.  
Setnet skiff names are not required 
here.  Drift vessel name must be 
entered here. 
 
Permit Information: Please, 
please, please make sure the permit 
holder name, permit number with 
check digit, and all numbers from 
the CFEC card are legible. 
 
Proc. Code:  every fish ticket must 
have this clearly recorded.  For 
catcher-sellers, this is the little plate 
number you received with your fish 
tickets and starts with the letter C. 
 
Date Caught:  if you enter in the 
wrong date, for example, a day in 
which the fishery was closed, and 
then you sign the fish ticket, this is 
a citable offense. 
 
Statistical Area: Please ensure this 
is entered and correct.  Like the 
date caught, if you enter a stat area 
that was closed, you have attested 
to fishing in closed waters. 
 
Dual Permit No: this is where the 
second permit from Drift D-boats is 
entered.  Fill out both lines. 
 
Harvest Data:  please enter in the 
no. of fish and pounds of fish; we 
ask that you don’t guess how many 
fish; at least do a subsample to 
obtain an average weight that can 
be divided into the total pounds 
purchased, which will provide a 
more accurate number of fish. 
 
Personal Use:  all fish not sold, 
and retained for personal use must 
be recorded here.  We only need 

the number of fish by species, not 
pounds of fish. 
 



 

 
 

All tickets must be signed by the permit holder and the person receiving the fish.  For catcher-sellers, only 
the permit holder needs to sign.  Please note that when the permit holder signs the fish ticket they are 
attesting that the information on the fish ticket is correct.   
 

DUAL Permit Holder’s must have second signature somewhere on the ticket if it is 2 separate people. 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 

SYNOPSIS OF JOINT OPERATION OF 200 FATHOMS 
FOR DRIFT GILLNET PERMIT HOLDERS 

 
1. D-boat operators do NOT have to register with ADF&G. 

2. Must display a “D” 12 inches high on both sides of the boat when fishing 200 fathoms of gear. 

3. Can use up to 200 fathoms in all areas, except the Kasilof River Special Harvest Area.  Both permit holders 
must be aboard anytime 200 fathoms of gear is being fished. 

4. The “D” must be covered if only one permit holder is aboard at any time gear will be deployed.  In 
addition, if only one permit holder is aboard, and the boat is fishing, only 150 fathoms can be on the reel 
and the additional 50 fathoms (or any amount of gear over 150 fathoms) must be put in a bag and secured. 

5. If two permit holders are on one vessel, it is allowable to have 200 fathoms of gear on board and on the reel 
when transiting through areas where the legal limit of gear is less than 200, fathoms as long as no portion of 
the net is deployed into the water. As of 2017, you may have 200 fathoms of gear on your reel when fishing 
in the Kasilof River Special Harvest Area, but are limited to fishing only 50 fathoms of gear. 

Fish Tickets and D-boat Fishing 

Paper fish tickets allow for the identification of the second permit holder’s information when drift D-boat fishing.  
As you can see on the following page, there is a dedicated section on the fish ticket (see red arrow) to check for 
dual permits.  When D-boat fishing occurs, you check the dual permit box and record the second permit holder’s 
permit number and the numbers that appears on the last line of the fisherman’s permit card (an example is 
provided below). Although there is no dedicated location for dual permit holders to sign, the second permit holder 
MUST sign the fish ticket somewhere on the dual-permit ticket. 



 

 
 
 
 
 
 
Electronic tickets (see the following page for an example of an e-ticket) allow for the identification of the presence 
of a second permit holder (a check box).  The second permit holder’s serial number must either be handwritten 
or embossed on the ticket and the second permit holder MUST sign the e-ticket in the designated location. 
 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 



 

 

 



 

 

 Figure 1.  Map of Upper Cook Inlet Central District set gillnet commercial fishing statistical areas.  



 

Figure 2.  Map of Upper Cook Inlet Northern District set gillnet commercial fishing statistical areas. 



 

Figure 3.  Map of Upper Cook Inlet drift gillnet commercial fishing statistical areas.



 

 

Figure 4 – Map of Upper Cook Inlet drift gillnet commercial fishing areas. 



 

 

Figure 5. Catcher-Seller Handout (page 1 of 2). 
 
 

Selling Fish as a Catcher/Seller 
 
 
Do you fit these criteria? 

• I want to sell my catch directly to the public within the state 

• I do not want to process my catch or have custom processing done for me. 

 
Do you have the permits you need? 

• You need a current CFEC Permit. For questions, call CFEC at 907-789-6150 CFEC 
permits can be renewed online at: 
https://www.cfec.state.ak.us/Leon/ 

 
• A Catcher/Seller Permit allows you to sell your unprocessed catch directly to the public. 

For questions call ADF&G at (907) 465-6131 
You can apply online through the Department of Revenue: 
https://online-tax.alaska.gov/ATP/WebDoc/ 
You can also email or mail your application to ADF&G: 
https://www.adfg.alaska.gov/static/license/fishing/pdfs/1100-539.pdf 

• If you intend to transport your catch in Alaska or remove your fish from your vessel 
you may need a DEC processing permit. For questions DEC can be reached at: 
907-269-7501. 

 
 
What else will you need? 

 
• Fish Tickets must be submitted to ADF&G within 7 days of landing. A Fish 

Ticket for each Landing not for each sale. 
Review instructions here: 

https://www.adfg.alaska.gov/static/license/fishing/pdfs/adfg_ft_cover_letter_instructions.pdf 
 

  

          

         

          

         

 

https://www.cfec.state.ak.us/Leon/
http://www.adfg.alaska.gov/static/license/fishing/pdfs/1100-539.pdf
https://www.adfg.alaska.gov/static/license/fishing/pdfs/adfg_ft_cover_letter_instructions.pdf


 

Figure 5.  Page 2 of 2 
 

 
 

• If selling by the pound you must have a certified scale from DOT. 
Fishermen may share a certified scale. 

Operations in Southeast should contact the Juneau office at (907)-365-1222 

Operations north of Yakutat, on the Aleutian Chain and central Alaska should contact the 
Anchorage office at (907) 365-1222 

Operations occurring in the Interior, Nome, Bethel, and outlying communities should 
contact the Fairbanks office at (907) 451-3134 

• Contact your local ADF&G office prior to operating to obtain instructions on 
reporting and registration requirements in your fishery. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Please contact the Seafood Industry Technician at (907) 465-6131 or 
dfg.seafood-coord@alaska.gov if you have questions. 

  

mailto:dfg.seafood-coord@alaska.gov


 

Figure 6. Fish Transporters FAQ 

Fish Transporters FAQ 

 
A fish transporter works on behalf of the fisher. They can remove the catch from the vessel with an 
accompanying fish ticket and transport the catch to a buyer. Because the transporter never buys the 
catch, they do not need a code plate and will not put their processor code (beginning with T) on the 
code plate section of a ticket. Though they should handwrite this number on the margins of the ticket. 

What can I transport: 

Legally harvested Pacific cod, salmon, and herring. Any other fishery will need to use a tender for 
transportation. 

How can I transport it: 

Transporting legally harvested fish can occur by vessel, aircraft, vehicle, four wheeler, etc. Check with 
the Department of Environmental Conservation (DEC) for guidance on proper storage and 
transportation of seafood for human consumption. 

Does a transporter vessel need to be registered with the Commercial fisheries entry commission? 

A vessel used to transport fish under the Fish Transporter Permit must have a valid commercial fishing 
vessel license issued by the Commercial Fisheries Entry Commission (CFEC). This includes skiffs 
transporting salmon from set net sites if the CFEC permit holder is not present in the skiff at the time 
the fish is being transported. Vessel license application forms are available online at 
http://www.cfec.state.ak.us/ or by calling (907) 789-6160. 

Does a transporter need to have a crewmember’s license? 

The fish transporter and any crewmembers working on fish transport vessels must have crewmember 
licenses. Crewmember licenses may be purchased online from ADF&G at 
https://www.adfg.alaska.gov/store/, through a licensed vendor, or by calling (907) 465-2376. 
Crewmember licenses are only required if transporting fish aboard a vessel. Float plane, airplane, 
vehicle and four wheeler operators do not require crewmember licenses. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Please contact the Seafood Industry Technician at (907) 465-6131 or 
dfg.seafood-coord@alaska.gov if you have questions. 

 
  

http://www.cfec.state.ak.us/mnuaf.htm%20or%20by%20calling%20%20(907
https://www.adfg.alaska.gov/store/
mailto:dfg.seafood-coord@alaska.gov


 

Figure 6. Page 2 of 2. 
 
 

Can a transporter mix fisher’s catch? 

ADF&G regulations do not require the catch to be kept separate, but DEC must be contacted and 
approve the transporters plan to store the fish prior to operation. DEC requirements may necessitate 
keeping catch from each fisher separate. 

Do Fish tickets need to be fully filled out? 

Fish transporters can transport fish with a partially filled out ticket, the processor code section will be 
stamped by the buyer of the catch, and an accurate weight will be written in at that time. Follow this 
link for instructions on properly filling out a fish ticket. 

Does the fisher hiring the Fish Transporter need a Catcher-Seller Permit? 

If the transporter plans to sell to the public, the fisher that hires them must be a catcher-seller to 
complete the code plate section of the fish ticket. If the transporter plans to sell to a licensed 
processor, then the fisher does not need to be a catcher-seller. 

Fish transporters may only transport fish from a person who holds a CFEC commercial fishing permit for 
the species, area, and gear type used to harvest the fish being transported, or a landing permit issued 
by CFEC. 

Does a Catcher-Seller need a Fish Transporter permit to transport their own catch? 

A Catcher-Seller may transport their own catch without a fish transporter permit. In this scenario, a 
fish ticket must be filled out completely when the catch is removed from the harvesting vessel. A copy 
of the ticket must accompany the catch from then on. Catcher-Sellers must contact DEC to approve the 
method of transportation after the catch is removed from the harvesting vessel. 

Do I need to carry an ID? 

Yes, all fish transporters must be ready to show a picture ID and fish transporter approval letter when 
participating in transporting activities. 

Does this permit expire? 

Yes, all Fisheries Business Licenses and ADF&G only permits expire on December 31st of the license 
year. 

 
 

 

 

 

Please contact the Seafood Industry Technician at (907) 465-6131 or 
dfg.seafood-coord@alaska.gov if you have questions. 

https://www.adfg.alaska.gov/static/license/fishing/pdfs/adfg_ft_cover_letter_instructions.pdf
mailto:dfg.seafood-coord@alaska.gov
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