Mariculture Task Force Development Plan Status Report

Agenda

October 26, 2020, 1:00pm AST

Duration – 50 Minutes

Meeting Host - John Espindola

Welcome and Introduction - Fred Villa

Opening Comments - Governor Dunleavy

Summary of AK Mariculture Development Plan, Task Force progress to date – Heather McCarty (5 mins)

Status/Progress Report (15 minutes) – Facilitated discussion with input from:

- Producers, Community Development and Tribal projects
- Alaska Fisheries Development Foundation Riley Smith
- University of Alaska (UAS/UAF) Dr. Mike Stekoll
- Alaska Sea Grant (ASG) Dr. Ginny Eckert

Investments and Support (5 mins)

- Denali Commission Erik Obrien
- State agency involvement

Governor's Questions and/or Comments (5 mins)

Future needs and Action Items (10 mins)

- CS HB41
- PSP Testing Fees
- AOAs Alaska Letter of Support
- AQUAA Act
- EVOS TC Funding

Governor's Questions and Comments (5 mins)

Adjourn

Invitees

Mariculture Task Force Members

Julie Decker – MTF Chair, Alaska Fisheries Development Foundation
Heather McCarty – MTF Co-Chair, CBSFA and AKCRRAB
Angel Drobnica - Aleutian Pribilof Island Community Development Association
Dr. Michael Stekoll – University of Alaska Southeast/University of Alaska Fairbanks
Ed Douville, Shaan Seet Corporation, Craig

Eric Wyatt – OceansAlaska and Blue Starr Oyster Company
Ginny Eckert – Alaska Sea Grant
Jeff Hetrick – Alutiiq Pride Shellfish Hatchery
Jim Anderson – Division of Investments, DCCED
Kate Sullivan – Southeast Alaska Regional Dive Fisheries Association
Riley Smith – Alaska Fisheries Development Foundation
Sam Rabung – Director, Commercial Fisheries Division, Alaska Department of Fish & Game

Ex-Officio Mariculture Task Force Members

Alicia Bishop – Aquaculture Coordinator, NOAA; Kimberly Stryker – Program Manager, Food Safety Sanitation Program, DEC; Brittany Smith – Program Manager, Shore Fishery Staff – DNR

State of Alaska

Andrew Miller – Aquatic Farm Program Manager, DNR; Christianna Coles – Division Chief of Mining, Land, and Water, DNR; Corri Feige - Commissioner, DNR; Jason Brune – Commissioner, DNR; Jeremy Woodrow – Executive Director, Alaska Seafood Marketing Institute; Julie Anderson – Commissioner, DCCED; Matt Fagnani – Director of Economic Development, DCCED

Mariculture Stakeholders

Alf Pryor – Kodiak Kelp; Chad Stovall – Denali Commission; Erik Obrien – Denali Commission; Lexa Meyer – Blue Evolution; Margo Reveil – Alaska Shellfish Growers Association; Markos Scheer – CEO, Premium Aquatics; Melissa Good – Alaska Sea Grant; Meta Mesdag – Alaska Shellfish Growers Association; Nick Mangini – Kodiak Island Sustainable Seaweed; Tomi Marsh – OceansAlaska; Trevor Sande – Hump Island Oysters

Attachments

- Alaska Mariculture Development Plan: https://www.afdf.org/wp-content/uploads/Alaska-Mariculture-Development-Plan_v2018-06-29_FINAL_digital.pdf
- Alaska Mariculture Development Plan IN BRIEF: https://www.afdf.org/wp-content/uploads/In-Brief-Alaska-Mariculture-Development-Plan-FINAL-ONLINE.pdf
- Draft AMA Bylaws
- Mariculture Research and Training Center (MRTC) Concept Paper