Department of Fish and Game

DIVISION OF WILDLIFE CONSERVATION Central/Southwest

> 1800 Glenn Highway, Suite 4 Palmer, Alaska 99645-6736 Main: 907.861.2100 Fax: 907.861.2121

- THE STATE GOVERNOR MIKE DUNLEAVY
 - DATE: March 15, 2023
 - TO: **Division of Wildlife Conservation Staff**
- FROM: Ryan Scott, Deputy Director Division of Wildlife Conservation Department of Fish and Game
- SUBJECT: Wildlife Excluded from Ceremonial Harvest

Under regulation 5 AAC 92.019 the department is required to compile and maintain a list of areas that are not eligible for ceremonial harvest of wildlife because harvest would be inconsistent with sustained yield principles. The department considers all areas that have an open hunting season for game eligible for ceremonial harvest. In addition, ceremonial harvest may be allowed for game populations that do not currently have a hunting season, but current population size and growth patterns indicate that a limited ceremonial harvest is sustainable. Ceremonial harvesters are encouraged to contact wildlife management staff for more specific information on harvest opportunities and procedures.

The following list of big game species by area do not meet the above criteria and are not available for ceremonial harvest at this time. Bison and elk are not eligible because the Board of Game has not determined that those species have customary and traditional use.

Spec	ies	Geographic Location
Biso	n	Statewide
Elk		Statewide
Cari	oou	Units 9A, 9B, 17, 18, 19A South of the Kuskokwim, and 19B, for cow caribou (the
		Mulchatna herd)
Cari	oou	Unit 13, for cow caribou (the Nelchina herd)
Cari	oou	Unit 20D, South of the Tanana River, for cow caribou (the Macomb herd)
Моо	se	Unit 1A for cow moose
Моо	se	Unit 1C, Berner's Bay moose;
Моо	se	Unit 9, for cow moose
Моо	se	Unit 19A, upstream of the George River, for cow moose
Моо	se	Unit 20C, for cow moose
Моо	se	Unit 20F, for cow moose
Моо	se	Unit 25, for cow moose
Моо	se	Unit 26B, for cow moose
		Page 1 of 2

Moose	Unit 26C, for cow moose
Muskoxen	Unit 18, excluding Nunivak and Nelson Island
Muskoxen	Unit 26A, that portion east of 154° W Longitude
Muskoxen	Units 26B and 26C

This list remains in effect until updated.