PROPOSAL 16

5 AAC 96.021. Establishment of advisory committees.

5 AAC 97.005. Areas of jurisdiction for advisory committees

Dissolve seven advisory committees in the Southeast Region due to inactive status as follows:

5 AAC 96.021(a) is amended to read:

Establishment of advisory committees. (a) The following advisory committees are established:

(1) in the Southeast Alaska Region: Angoon, Craig, East Prince of Wales, Edna Bay, [ELFIN COVE,] Juneau-Douglas, [HYDABURG, HYDER,] Icy Straits, Kake, Ketchikan, Klawock, [KLUKWAN,] Pelican, Petersburg, Port Alexander, [SAXMAN,] Sitka, [SUMNER STRAIT, TENAKEE,] Upper Lynn Canal, Wrangell, Yakutat;

5 AAC 96.021(c)(1) is amended to read:

•••

(1) in the Southeast Alaska Region:

•••

[(D) SAXMAN (9) MEM	IBERS	
SAXMAN	2	REPRESENTATIVES
UNDESIGNATED	13	REPRESENTATIVES]

• • •

5 AAC 97.005. Areas of jurisdiction for advisory committees. 5 AAC 97.005(1)(A)(ii) is amended to read:

(1) finfish

(A) Southeastern Alaska Area

•••

(ii) fish and game advisory committees with concurrent jurisdiction are Ketchikan Advisory Committee, Craig Advisory Committee, Klawock Advisory Committee, Angoon Advisory Committee, [TENAKEE ADVISORY COMMITTEE, HYDER ADVISORY COMMITTEE, SUMNER STRAIT ADVISORY COMMITTEE,] Edna Bay Advisory Committee, Sitka Advisory Committee, Juneau- Douglas Advisory Committee, Upper Lynn Canal Advisory Committee, [KLUKWAN]

Advisory Committee, Pelican Advisory Committee, Kake Advisory Committee, Wrangell Advisory Committee, Petersburg Advisory Committee, [HYDABURG ADVISORY COMMITTEE,] Icy Straits Advisory Committee, [SAXMAN ADVISORY COMMITTEE, ELFIN COVE ADVISORY COMMITTEE,] Port Alexander Advisory Committee, and East Prince of Wales Advisory Committee;

5 AAC 97.005(2)(A)(ii) is amended to read:

(2) shellfish

(A) Southeastern Alaska-Yakutat Area

•••

(ii) fish and game advisory committees with concurrent jurisdiction are Angoon Advisory Committee, Ketchikan Advisory Committee, Craig Advisory Committee, Klawock Advisory Committee, [TENAKEE ADVISORY COMMITTEE, HYDER ADVISORY COMMITTEE,] Sitka Advisory Committee, Juneau-Douglas Advisory Committee, Kake Advisory Committee, Upper Lynn Canal Advisory Committee, [KLUKWAN ADVISORY COMMITTEE,] Edna Bay Advisory Committee, Wrangell Advisory Committee, Petersburg Advisory Committee, Pelican Advisory Committee, [SUMNER STRAIT ADVISORY COMMITTEE,] Yakutat Advisory Committee, [HYDABURG ADVISORY COMMITTEE, ELFIN COVE ADVISORY COMMITTEE, SAXMAN ADVISORY COMMITTEE,] Icy Straits Advisory Committee, Port Alexander Advisory Committee, and East Prince of Wales Advisory Committee;

5 AAC 97.005(3)(A)(i) - (v)(ii) is amended to read:

(3) game

(A) Southeastern Alaska

(i) in Game Management Unit 1(A) described in 5 AAC 92.450(1)(A), the Ketchikan Advisory Committee, [HYDER ADVISORY COMMITTEE,] Craig Advisory Committee, Klawock Advisory Committee, [SAXMAN ADVISORY COMMITTEE, HYDABURG ADVISORY COMMITTEE,] and East Prince of Wales Advisory Committee have concurrent jurisdiction;

(ii) in Game Management Unit 1(B) described in 5 AAC 92.450(1)(B), the Wrangell Advisory Committee, Petersburg Advisory Committee, [SUMNER STRAIT ADVISORY COMMITTEE,] Kake Advisory Committee, and East Prince of Wales Advisory Committee have concurrent jurisdiction;

(iii) in Game Management Unit 1(C) described in 5 AAC 92.450(1)(C), the Juneau-Douglas Advisory Committee, Upper Lynn Canal Advisory Committee, [KLUKWAN ADVISORY COMMITTEE,] Angoon Advisory Committee, Petersburg Advisory Committee, Wrangell Advisory Committee, [TENAKEE] ADVISORY COMMITTEE,] Kake Advisory Committee, Sitka Advisory Committee, and East Prince of Wales Advisory Committee have concurrent jurisdiction;

(iv) in Game Management Unit 1(D) described in 5 AAC 92.450(1)(D), the Upper Lynn Canal Advisory Committee, [KLUKWAN ADVISORY COMMITTEE,] and Juneau-Douglas Advisory Committee have concurrent jurisdiction;

(v) in Game Management Unit 2 described in 5 AAC 92.450(2), the Craig Advisory Committee, Klawock Advisory Committee, Sumner Strait Advisory Committee, [HYDER ADVISORY COMMITTEE,] Ketchikan Advisory Committee, Edna Bay Advisory Committee, Wrangell Advisory Committee, Petersburg Advisory Committee, Kake Advisory Committee, [SAXMAN ADVISORY COMMITTEE, HYDABURG ADVISORY COMMITTEE,] and East Prince of Wales Advisory Committee have concurrent jurisdiction;

(vi) in Game Management Unit 3 described in 5 AAC 92.450(3), the Petersburg Advisory Committee, Wrangell Advisory Committee, Kake Advisory Committee, [SUMNER STRAIT ADVISORY COMMITTEE,] Edna Bay Advisory Committee, Sitka Advisory Committee, and East Prince of Wales Advisory Committee have concurrent jurisdiction;

(vii) in Game Management Unit 4 described in 5 AAC 92.450(4), the Sitka Advisory Committee, Juneau-Douglas Advisory Committee, Petersburg Advisory Committee, Pelican Advisory Committee, Wrangell Advisory Committee, Kake Advisory Committee, Angoon Advisory Committee, [TENAKEE ADVISORY COMMITTEE,] Edna Bay Advisory Committee, [KLUKWAN ADVISORY COMMITTEE,] Upper Lynn Canal Advisory Committee, Icy Straits Advisory Committee, [ELFIN COVE ADVISORY COMMITTEE,] East Prince of Wales Advisory Committee, and Port Alexander Advisory Committee have concurrent jurisdiction;

What is the issue you would like the board to address and why? 5 AAC 96.450 states the Joint Board may dissolve a committee if the committee has been dormant for two years and fails to respond to Boards Support Section inquiries about the committee's desire to remain in existence.

This proposal asks the Joint /board to dissolve several ACs from the Southeast Region that have been dormant since 2013 and have failed to respond to inquiries sent by Boards Support Section.

PROPOSED BY: Alaska Department of Fish and Game	(HQ-F23-009)
***************************************	*****