PROPOSAL 11

5 AAC 96.060. Uniform rules of operation.

Designate non-consumptive user seats for the Anchorage, Cooper Landing, Fairbanks, Homer, and Matanuska Valley advisory committees as follows:

(e) Membership.

(1) Each committee must have at least five but not more than 15 members. The joint board may limit the size of a committee to less than 15 members at the time the committee is established or at committee request. The members must be representative of fish and game user groups in the area served by the committee, <u>including non-consumptive users of game for the Anchorage, Cooper Landing,</u> Fairbanks, Homer, and Matanuska Valley committees, and to the extent practicable for other committees throughout the State. In addition to ensure full representation on committees, the joint board may assign a seat on a committee to represent a specific community. For purposes of this provision, non-consumptive users of game means persons who have not hunted or trapped in the State of Alaska for at least five years.

What is the issue you would like the board to address and why? Seats on advisory committees should be reserved for non-consumptive users of game. The Alaska Constitution provides for the beneficial use of game by all Alaskans, but hunters and trappers have succeeded in excluding non-hunters and non-trappers from most advisory committees, including the large advisory committees of Anchorage, Matanuska Valley and Fairbanks by winner-take all, voting. The exclusion of non-consumptive users from most advisory committees most of the time is unconstitutional, and violates the statute establishing advisory committees.

| PROPOSED BY: Kneeland Taylor | (HQ-F23-002) |
|---|--------------|
| *************************************** | ***** |