Boards Support Section Glenn Haight, Executive Director PO Box 115526 Juneau, AK 99811-5526 (907) 465-4110 www.adfg.alaska.gov



Alaska Department of Fish and Game Sam Cotten, Commissioner

Alaska Board of Game John Jensen, Chair Alaska Board of Fisheries

Ted Spraker, Chair

PRESS RELEASE

For Immediate Release: April 18, 2017

CONTACT: Glenn Haight Executive Director Boards Support Section Juneau, 465-6095

Alaska Department of Fish and Game Recognizes 2017 Advisory Committee Excellence in Service Award Winners

(Juneau) – Alaska Department of Fish and Game Commissioner Sam Cotten is pleased to be joined by Board of Game Chair Ted Spraker and Board of Fisheries Chair John Jensen to honor the department's 2017 Advisory Committee Excellence in Service Award winners. The Excellence in Service Award recognizes outstanding contributions in service to Alaska's communities, fish and wildlife, and regulatory process by Fish and Game Advisory Committee members across the state. The 2017 awardees are:

- Percy Ballot, Northern Seward Peninsula AC
- Raymond Stoney, Lower Kobuk AC
- Ray Collins, McGrath AC
- Virgil Umphenour, Fairbanks AC
- David Osterback, Sand Point AC

Each of these individuals is recognized for their many years of service and leadership on their local fish and game advisory committees. We sincerely thank them for their dedication in representing their communities in the fish and game regulatory process.

Alaska's advisory committee structure contributes to making Alaska the nation's leading example of a locally-driven fish and game management system. More than 700 Alaskans belong to 84 advisory committees up and down the coast and throughout the interior. It is through the excellent work of these volunteer individuals that regulatory bodies like the Alaska Boards of Game and Fisheries develop regulations that are responsive to local needs.

For more about this year's awardees, visit http://www.adfg.alaska.gov/index.cfm?adfg=process.acexcellence. Find out about Alaska's advisory committees and the Boards of Game and Fisheries at http://www.adfg.alaska.gov/index.cfm?adfg=process.main.