

2014 SPORT FISH BUSINESS OWNER/GUIDE LICENSE APPLICATION

LICENSE #
TO BE ASSIGNED

Alaska Department of Fish and Game / Division of Sport Fish - RTS 333 Raspberry Road, Anchorage, Alaska 99518-1565 Telephone: (907) 267-2369 or (907) 267-2390

	10 22 1100101122						
. 1							

http://www.adfg.alaska.gov/index.cfm?adfg=prolicenses.sportfishguides							
FEES (CHECK ONE): METHOD OF PAYMENT:	This is a linear						
ALL FEES ARE NONREFUNDABLE ALL FEES ARE NONREFUNDABLE	This is a license application only.						
\$50.00 Guide Only License Check #:	Complete this application and return it to the Anchorage Fish & Game						
	address located at the top of this form. Allow 21						
\$100.00 Combined Business/Guide License* *An agent for this business cannot apply as a guide on a combination license	business days for processing.						
INSTRUCTIONS TO COMPLETE FORM ON REVERSE							
SECTION A: ALL APPLICANTS COMPLETE THIS SECTION							
Name of Provinces Common on Carilla							
Name of Business Owner or Guide:	MI						
Permanent Mailing Address: PO Box or Street Address City State	Zip						
Telephone Number: () In-Season Telephone Number: (•						
Mail License Here: (If different than permanent) PO Box or Street Address City State	Zip						
SECTION B: TO BE COMPLETED BY THE BUSINESS OWNER OR THEIR AGENT							
BUSINESS INFORMATION:							
Name of Business:							
Name of Business Owner:							
Alaska Business License Number: Expiration Date	e: Mo/Date/Yr						
INSURANCE: (See detailed insurance requirements on back)							
Name of Insurance Company:							
	To:						
Remember to get a logbook for your business at the nearest ADF&G office prior to commencement of guiding activities.							
SECTION C: TO BE COMPLETED BY THE GUIDE OR THEIR AGENT							
Are you a citizen of the United States, Canada, Mexico or a resident alien? Yes No							
Basic First Aid Information: Certifying agency: Exp	o. Date: <u>Mo/ Yr</u>						
2014 Alaska Sport Fishing License #: Date of Bir	th:Mo/Date/Yr						
U.S. COAST GUARD OPERATOR'S LICENSE: (See explanation on back)							
Do you plan to operate a motorized vessel in Navigable Waters? Yes No If yes, complete the next line.							
USCG License # or Merchant Mariner Credential Doc #: USA Exp. Dat	te: Mo/Date/Yr						
SIGNATURE OF BUSINESS OWNER/AGENT or GUIDE:							
I hereby certify that all information is true and correct and that I understand this information is subject to public disclosure. (NOTE: Making a false statement or omitting a material fact, is subject to a maximum penalty of \$10,000 or 1 year imprisonment, or both, per AS 11.56.210.)							

Circle one: Applicant or Agent Date: _



INSTRUCTIONS FOR THE 2014 SPORT FISH BUSINESS OWNER/GUIDE RENEWAL LICENSE APPLICATION

Attention: The following will apply without exception:

- 1. All applicable sections of the license application must be complete and legible prior to ADF&G validation. No "pending", "unknowns" or blanks will be accepted.
- 2. Incomplete license applications will be returned, resulting in a processing delay.
- 3. A signature is required.
- 4. This is a license application only. A post card sized annual license will be mailed within 21 business days.
- 5. There may be requirements by other state and federal agencies to operate as a guide in Alaska.

INSTRUCTIONS:

SECTION A: ALL applicants must complete this section.

SECTION B: BUSINESS OWNER OR THEIR AGENT: Complete this section if you are the owner/agent of the sport fishing business. This section should be filled out even if the owner does not intend to personally guide clients. An agent for this business **CANNOT** apply as a guide on the same application. A separate license must be submitted.

LIABILITY INSURANCE REQUIREMENT: General liability or marine protection that covers at least \$100,000 for each incident and \$300,000 for all incidents in a year. Insurance must cover **ALL** periods of time when the owner or owner's employees are providing sport fishing services to clients. Insurance must be current, **NOT** pending.

IMPORTANT NOTICE TO BUSINESS OWNERS

State regulation (5 AAC 75.075) requires that all operators providing sport fishing guide services in Alaska must apply annually for a license with the Department of Fish and Game **before** guiding services begin. Business owners are required to register all charter vessels with ADF&G and acquire a logbook prior to commencement of guiding activities. *Guides hired by an operator must be provided with a copy of the ADF&G business license to have in their possession while guiding.*

SECTION C: GUIDES: Complete this section if you intend to guide for a sport fish operation owned by someone other than you or if you are the business owner who also intends to guide (owner/operator).

U.S COAST GUARD OPERATORS'S LICENSE: A licensed sport fish guide **must** have, at minimum, a Limited OUPV for Western Waters in Alaska or 6-pak U.S.C.G. operator's license in their possession while operating a motorized vessel with clients or transporting clients on a motorized vessel in navigable waters. Navigable waters are determined by the U.S. Coast Guard (907) 271-6700.

Note: Effective April 20, 2009 the U.S.C.G. began issuing the Merchant Mariner Credentials (MMC). Applicants must provide the U.S.C.G. license number, expiration date, and date of birth.

IMPORTANT NOTICE TO GUIDES

State regulation (5 AAC 75.075) requires that all licensed guides providing sport fishing guide services in Alaska must apply annually for a license with the Department of Fish and Game *before* guiding activities begin.

WHAT A GUIDE MUST HAVE IN POSSESSION WHILE GUIDING

A sport fish business owner or guide should be able to present all documents required for licensing upon request by a representative of the Department of Fish and Game, or any peace officer of the state. While engaged in providing sport fishing guide services, a sport fishing guide shall have the following readily available for inspection:

- A current sport fishing guide license;
- A copy of the current ADF&G sport fishing business license of the guide's employer;
- A current Alaska sport fishing license, tags, stamps or permits that are required to engage in the sport fishery for which the guide services are providing;
- An identification card issued to the sport fishing guide by a state or federal agency that bears a photo of the sport fishing guide.