THE STATE

Department of Fish and Game

Of DIVISION OF SPORT FISH
Research & Technical Services

March 2024
Dear Alaska Sport Fishing Charter Business Owner and/or Guide,

GOVERNOR MICHAEL J. DUNLEAVY

333 Raspberry Road
Anchorage, Alaska 99518-1565
Main: 907.267.2294

Fax: 907.267.2422

You are receiving this letter because you were a registered sport fishing charter business owner or guide in 2023.
I am writing to remind you of our requirements in 2024 and to inform you of some recent updates to the program

and registration process.

REMEMBER

e Saltwater charter activity must be reported to ADF&G using an ADF&G paper or electronic logbook

(eLogbook).

o Saltwater charter activity in Southeast Alaska must be reported using the eLogbook.

e Certify your trips! By law, paper logbooks and eLogbooks must be finalized and certified prior to
offloading fish or clients (if no fish were caught).

o All charter businesses, guides, and vessels engaged in charter fishing must be registered with ADF&G,
regardless of water type. Freshwater vessels must be registered!

REGISTRATION

Who needs to register?

All businesses, guides, and vessels engaging in guided sport fishing activity in salt or fresh waters must register

in 2024. Registration is free of charge in 2024.

How can | register as a business or guide?

Method

Processing Time (registration received within):

Online via the Online Store

3 business days

By Mail via the Renewal Application

21 business days

In Person at any ADF&G Office

3 business days. 14-day temp number issued immediately

For additional information please refer to the ADF&G sport fishing guide website.

GL-94432  Siale of Alssia 2024 BL 944?3 State of Alaska 2024

Department of Fish & Game pariment of s & Gam :
. Division of Sport Fish Lol hen of Sport Fish !
| 333 Raspbeny Rd., Anchorage Alaska 99518 | 1 333 Ras phmde And !lmageAl ska 99518

BEN B TESTING Vo BEN'S TEST GUIDE SERVICE

e persan or busin ! The person or business named above has a
S RS m wllh meAA Ska 1 0 validated Registration on fle with the Albska
Deparnep L Department of Efsh & Game as a
i mg Gmde Lo shing Business
< 1712004} = 1/1/2024!
: Seled
P s

Note: Guide and Business registration cards are emailed within 3 or
21 business days depending on the method of registration. Please
print your card and carry it with you. Cards are not valid until you
print them. Retain the email for re-prints if you lose or damage your
copy. Owner-operators can register their business and register as a
guide simultaneously by using a COMBINATION registration
application.



https://www.adfg.alaska.gov/store/
https://www.adfg.alaska.gov/static/license/prolicenses/pdfs/Owner-Guide%20Registration%20Form.pdf
http://www.adfg.alaska.gov/index.cfm?adfg=SFGuidesLicense.main

How can | register my vessels?

Method Notes
In Person at any Done by filling out logbook sign-out and vessel registration sheet in paper logbook.
ADF&G Office Year stickers and vessel decals (if needed) are issued when logbooks are signed out.

eVessel Registration Done through the review application of the Electronic Logbook. Year stickers, vessel
decals, and paper logbooks can be picked up in person or mailed directly to operators.
14-day temp vessel registrations are provided.

Note: Operators in Southeast Alaska will only be issued one backup paper logbook per vessel.

If you have questions or need help with registering, please contact:

ADF&G Guide Registrations:
Anthony Severson
907-267-2369
anthony.severson@alaska.gov

WHILE ON THE WATER

What do I need to carry with me while guiding? Do not operate until you have received the materials below

Carry With You

Notes

Logbooks/eLogbooks

5 AAC 75.075(g)(1)(B)

Only needed while guiding in saltwater (freshwater logbook program ended in
2019)

Vessel Registration

Required for both freshwater and saltwater. Always carry your registration
paperwork with you and have the correct year stickers and ADF&G decals affixed
to both sides of the vessel.

Guide Registration

Must be printed and carried with you. Cards are not valid until you print them.

Business Registration

Guides must carry a current physical (printed) copy of the business registration for
the guide’s employer. The vessel must be registered to this business.

Sport Fishing Licenses

and Permits
5 AAC 75.075(g)(5)

Guides must carry a valid State of Alaska sport fishing license and must ensure
their clients possess a valid sport fishing license or harvest card for any trips
in salt or freshwater. Also, any permits, tags, stamps or permits for the fishery.

Identification

Guides and clients must carry a valid state/federal 1D that matches their registration
information.

SALTWATER LOGBOOK & eL OGBOOK REPORTING

Who needs to report?

Region Saltwater Freshwater
Southeast eLogbook ONLY None
Southcentral Paper OR* eLogbook None
Southwest Paper OR* eLogbook None
Interior N/A None

*NOTE: Beginning in 2025 all saltwater charter actvity in Alaska must be reported using the eLogbook.

Paper logbooks are now available at all ADF&G offices.



mailto:anthony.severson@alaska.gov

eL.ogbooks can be sent to any business that needs them. For assistance with getting set up or for technical
support please contact:

Ben Jevons: Kayla Buster:

907-267-2299 906-267-2337

ben.jevons@alaska.gov kayla.buster@alaska.gov
eLogbook FAQs:

HOW does the eLogbook work?

The “eLogbook™ is the name given to two web-based applications that work together to allow operators to
record, report, and submit saltwater trip activity.

Review Application: Designed for business owners, this link requires internet connection and is used to
review, edit, and summarize trip data. You will have access to all charter activity for your business back to
2017. Prior year information is available by submitting a data request form available here.

Entry Application: Designed for guides, this link does not require consistent internet connection and is used to
record and submit trip data.

o~
% Internet connectivity is not needed while operating. You can record trip data offline and upload it when
you get back into reception range.
WHO can/must use the eLogbook?

Anyone can use the eLogbook, but Southeast operators are required to in 2024. In 2025 eLogbooks will be
mandatory statewide. We recommend trying the eLogbook in 2024 to familiarize yourself with the applications.

WHAT does the eLogbook do?

The eLogbook collects the same information as the paper logbook in an electronic format. All information
collected in the eLogbook is the same as in the paper logbooks.

WHEN do | have to submit eLogbook data?

You are still required to upload your trips according to the weekly submittal schedule. However, we suggest
uploading as often as possible to avoid potential data loss.

WHERE is my copy of my trip?

Trip data can be viewed in the Entry app for 14 days after uploading on the device it was uploaded from. After
that time, you must sign into your Review app to view trip data.

WHERE can | learn more?

ADF&G will host an annual webinar series to train operators on eLogbook use, and to answer any questions.
We are also available for questions by phone and email.

WHY are we going electronic?

For ADF&G: Electronic reporting dramatically reduces data processing time and errors, providing critical
fisheries data faster and more efficiently to management staff.

For industry: eLogbooks are quicker, more efficient, and provide you access to your own data.
HOW does halibut certification work in the eLogbook?

Halibut harvested in IPHC area 2C or 3A must be certified by the angler. When halibut harvest is added to the
eLogbook under an angler, a green button labelled “Certify Angler” will pop up. Anglers will check that they
certify this harvest, then type their initials.

CAN I use a paper logbook and enter trips into eLogbook later?
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You will be issued one paper backup logbook per vessel. You may use this to record your trips while on the
water and enter them into the eLogbook later. However, we recommend carrying your paper backup logbook in
the event of technical difficulty. You will only have 50 pages in the backup, so you will be limited by the
number of pages.

If you do encounter issues, contact ADF&G at 907-267-2299 or 907-267-2337 within 24 hours.
How do I transcribe halibut harvest?

If you harvest halibut and transcribe your trip from paper to an eLogbook, do not enter the angler’s initials.
Instead, enter the initials of the guide for the trip to indicate a transcription occurred. Please retain paper records
for two years per federal regulations.

OTHER HELPFUL INFORMATION FOR 2024
Do | need to register if taking clients crabbing and shrimping?

If you are guiding in the Personal Use fishery only, no you do not.

If you are guiding anglers in shellfish harvest under sport regulations, yes. Per 5AAC75.075(e) and owner must
register before providing sport fishing services. These are defined in 5SAAC75.995(43) and includes “providing
assistance, for compensation or with the intent to receive compensation, to a person engaged in sport fishing in
taking or attempting to take fish or shellfish [...]”

Do I need to fill out crab and shrimp harvest in a logbook or eLogbook?

No, currently you do not need to report this harvest to ADF&G. However, if you set shellfish gear while on a
trip engaged in other guided sport fishing activity, then you must report that trip as usual. Do not count soak
time as hours fished. Record the location, hours, and harvest for the sport fishing activity, as usual.

Shellfish can be reported in the eLogbook, but these species are listed as optional harvest. If you choose to
record shellfish-only trips for your own records, please let us know by contacting:

Ben Jevons: Kayla Buster:
907-267-2299 906-267-2337
ben.jevons@alaska.gov kayla.buster@alaska.gov

Note: These regulations may change in 2025, so it is important to stay informed. Reach out to us if you intend
to operate shellfish charters.

Do I need a logbook if I fish from shore?

Yes. Shore fishing is considered guided fishing, even if no vessels are used in transport to and from the location.
If you provide guide services to anglers fishing from shore in saltwater, you must fill out a paper or eLogbook
depending on your location.

Thank you for your ongoing support of fisheries management in Alaska. We hope you have an excellent season.

Regards,

Ben Jevons,

Program Coordinator

Alaska Dept. of Fish & Game — Div. of Sport Fish RTS
333 Raspberry Rd. Anchorage, AK 99518

(907) 267-2299

ben.jevons@alaska.gov
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