2023-2024 Alaska Subsistence **Permit Hunt Supplement**

See pages 1-3 for Tier II and page 4 for Tier I Nelchina caribou and Unit 13 Community Subsistence Harvest information.

Under state law, all Alaska residents are eligible for subsistence hunting of game populations where subsistence use occurs.

If the harvestable portion of a game population is not sufficient to provide a reasonable opportunity for all subsistence uses, the Board of Game shall distinguish among subsistence users, through limitations based on:

- The customary and direct dependence on the game population by the subsistence user for human consumption as a mainstay of livelihood; and
- The ability of the subsistence user to obtain food if subsistence use is restricted or eliminated.

Permit Hunt Conditions

- · Hunters must have in their possession a valid hunting license, necessary permits, and if needed, big game locking-tags. Alaska residents 17 years of age and younger are not required to have a hunting license. Additional conditions may be listed under the description of each hunt.
- Properly completed permit hunt reports must be returned by the date specified on the permit, even if you did not hunt or were unsuccessful. If you did not return last year's Drawing, Registration (including Tier I Nelchina caribou), Targeted, or Tier II report, even if the postal service lost your report, you will be ineligible for all Drawing, Registration (including Tier I Nelchina), Targeted, and Tier II, permits for the next regulatory year.
- Permits are not transferable to another person, with the following exception:
- Deployed military personnel who are unable to use their Tier II permit may be eligible to transfer their permit to a substitute hunter who is a resident of Alaska. Transfer forms are available at: http://www.adfg.alaska.gov/index.cfm?adfg=huntlicense.military_permits. Additional information is available by contacting the Permit Hunt Administrator, ADF&G, Division of Wildlife Conservation, 1801 S Margaret Dr, Palmer, AK 99645. Phone: (907) 746-6398;

email: dfg.dwc.huntpermit.reissue@alaska.gov

Instructions for Applying for Tier II Permit Hunts

(Complete instructions on the Tier II application.)

- Only Alaska residents may apply for Tier II hunts; you must be a resident at the time of application.
- Applicants must be 10 years of age or older at the time of application.
- A hunter may apply for more than one hunt, but must complete a separate application for each hunt.
- You must list other members of your household who are also submitting Tier II application(s). • No individual may hold more than one Tier II permit for a species.
- Only one Tier II permit may be issued to a household for moose or muskox. Up to three Tier II permits may be issued to a household for caribou.

Questions 1-11

- Driver's license or state ID number
- First name, middle initial, and last name
- · Date of birth Phone number
- Complete mailing address, city, state, and zip code Community of principal residence
- 12: Total years of Alaska residency.
- 13: Enter the hunt number which you are applying for. These are found in the first column on pages 2 and 3. Example: TM565
- 14: If you are applying for more than one Tier II hunt for a species, enter the choice number in the box indicating if this hunt is your first, second, etc. choice.
- Scored Questions 15-19: See the explanation of scored questions in the Point Scoring section to the right. If a question is left blank, you will receive the minimum score for that question.

Review and sign your application. Any application which is illegible, has incorrect hunt numbers, or is missing required information (including signature) will not be considered. In addition, applications containing false information will be reported to Alaska Wildlife Troopers for investigation.

Proxy Hunting in Tier II Hunts

- · You may proxy hunt for caribou, moose, and muskox in Tier II hunts.
- Antler/horn destruction is required for both the hunter's animal and the beneficiary's animal, and must occur at the kill site unless uncut antlers/horns must be submitted to ADF&G for measuring, in which case antler/horn destruction will be completed after measuring by ADF&G.
- For all other proxy regulations, see the current Alaska Hunting Regulations

Basic Hunter Education Requirements

- Requirements for hunters before hunting in Units 7, 13, 14, 15, and 20: If you were born after January 1, 1986 and are 18 years old or older, you must have successfully
- completed a Basic Hunter Education course before you hunt in the units listed above.

If you are under 18 years of age, you must have either successfully completed a Basic Hunter Education course before you hunt in the units listed above or be under the direct immediate supervision of a licensed hunter who:

(a) is 18 years of age or older and has successfully completed a Basic Hunter Education course, -0R-

(b) was born on or before January 1, 1986.

· Hunters aged 10-17 who have successfully completed a Basic Hunter Education course, or hunters under the age of 10, are allowed to hunt on behalf of an adult permit holder under the direct and immediate supervision of that adult. The adult permit holder must be a licensed hunter, 18 or older. and is responsible for ensuring all legal requirements are met.

This Subsistence Supplement is available online at: http://hunt.alaska.gov Apply Online by 5 p.m. (AKST) December 15!

The online application period begins November 1 and ends December 15, 2022 at 5 p.m. (AKST). Results will be announced by the third Friday of February.

Tier I & Community Subsistence Harvest Hunts: Apply online ONLY

- Tier II: Apply online OR by mail to the address shown on the application form.
 - If you apply by mail, it is your responsibility to make certain the envelope gets postmarked between November 1 and November 30 and received by December 15. Applications will not be accepted over the counter.
 - · Postmark: Some post offices routinely pouch mail and send it to a larger distribution center where it is postmarked 24-48 hours later! We suggest you hand-carry your envelope into the post office, ask that it be postmarked, and then look at the postmark to verify it. Also note that a postmark means a U.S. Postal Service postmark. Postage meter dates do not count. If applying by mail, MAIL TO:

ADF&G Tier II Permit Applications 333 Raspberry Road Anchorage, AK 99518

Point Scoring

Each Tier II application is scored based on the applicant's answers to questions 15-19. Up to 140 **points** are possible. Answers may be subject to verification.

- Up to 50 points are awarded for the number of years you have hunted or eaten meat from the game population in the hunt area, or would have hunted this population, but did not because the hunt was cancelled or you were unsuccessful in obtaining a Drawing or Tier II permit for this population. One point is awarded for each year.
- 16. Up to 10 points are awarded for the number of years any one member of the household has hunted or eaten meat from this game population, or would have hunted this population, but did not because the hunt was cancelled or the household member was unsuccessful in obtaining a Drawing or Tier II permit for this population. One-fifth of a point is awarded for each year.
- Up to 25 points are awarded for the number of days you spent hunting and/or fishing during the 17. last regulatory year in the Tier II hunt area for which you are applying. The maximum number of points will be awarded to applicants who hunted and fished in the area for 70 days or more during the last regulatory year.
- Up to 25 points are awarded based on the cost of food in the community where you purchased 18. most of your store-bought food during the past year. Points are calculated by the department using the cost-of-food index for the community nearest the applicant's residence.
- 19. Up to 30 points are awarded based on the cost of automotive fuel in the community where you purchased most of your automotive fuel during the past year. Points are calculated by the department using the cost of automotive fuel for the community nearest the applicant's residence

2022 Tier II Permit Statistics

	Hunt Number	Applications Received	Permits Available	% Awarded
	TC505 310		600	100
	TM059	287	250	87
	TM549	17	4	24
	TM565	157	100	64
-	TM567	186	80	43
	TM569	85	80	94
	TM680	241	200	83
	TM684	5	7	100
	TM940	44	75	100
-	TX090	46	8	17
	TX095	88	5	6
	TX096	99	5	5
	TX102	87	8	9
	TX103	37	2	5
	TX104	35	4	11
	TX105	77	8	10
	TX106	30	3	10
	TX107	53	3	6

The table to the left shows application information for Tier II hunts held last regulatory year. The column titled % Awarded gives the percentage of applicants receiving a permit.

Frequently Asked Questions

- 1. Is it true that only Alaska residents can apply for Tier II subsistence permits? Yes. You must be a resident at the time of application. A resident is a person who is physically present in Alaska with the intent to remain indefinitely and make a home here, and has maintained that person's domicile (home) in Alaska for the 12 consecutive months immediately preceding this application. Members of the military services and their dependents who have been stationed in the state for the preceding 12 consecutive months are also residents for Tier II purposes.
- 2. How are Tier II permits awarded? Each application is scored on 5 questions. Permits for a specific hunt are issued starting at the highest overall score and working downward until all permits are issued. If there are Tier II permits remaining, but a pool of applicants with the same score is too large to award all permits, a random drawing will be held to award the remaining permits
- 3. How many Tier II permits may an individual be awarded? Only one Tier II permit per species may be awarded to an individual. Therefore, it is important that those applying for more than one hunt for the same species identify whether a hunt is their first, second, third, etc, choice for that species. If more individuals in a household are eligible for permits based on their score than can be allowed, the highest scoring individual(s) in the household will be awarded permit(s). When more than one household member applies for Tier II hunts, household applicants must be listed on each application.
- 4. Can I have both a Drawing permit and a Tier II permit for the same species? Yes. A person can be selected for a Drawing permit and also be awarded a Tier II permit for the same species. However an individual's bag limit does not increase. Upon harvesting an animal under one permit, the other permit automatically becomes invalid; however, you must still submit both hunt reports. The Drawing and Tier II permit systems are separate processes and your application for receiving a permit in one system does not affect your opportunity to apply for or receive a permit in the other.
- 5. For Tier II, how does my score and my choice order affect if I get a permit or not? Each hunt is scored independently. If you qualify for more than one permit for a given species, you will receive the permit for the hunt you indicated was your highest preference. If you did not identify a preference, you will receive a permit for the hunt in which you received the highest score. If you did not identify a preference and your scores are the same, a permit will be awarded by random draw process
- 6. If I qualify for a permit for one species, does that affect my opportunity to receive a permit for another species? No. Each hunt is scored independently. Your potential to qualify for a permit is dependent upon your score in relation to the scores of other applicants for the same hunt

Appeals Process

Applicants may appeal a Tier II permit allocation decision or score to the Permit Hunt Administrator within 20 days of the public release of the list of names of those awarded Tier II permits. An appeal must be in writing or by telephone. If appeal is submitted in writing, it must be emailed, mailed, or hand delivered to the Permit Hunt Administrator (contact information below) within the 20-day appeal period. If appeal is provided by telephone (number below), it must also be made within the 20-day appeal period. Telephone appeals will be recorded. The department will provide a decision on the appeal by first class mail within 7 days of appeal receipt. A person aggrieved by a decision under this appeal system may appeal to the ADF&G Commissioner within 7 days of the mailing of a decision by the Permit Hunt Administrator. The Department of Fish and Game may change a Tier II permit allocation decision or score in case of an ADF&G scoring error or based on evidence that information on an application is false. Under 5 AAC 92.050, applications that are incomplete or contain false statements are void. Therefore, appeals asking to insert missing information or a signature, or asking to change answers to questions will be denied. Submit appeal to: Permit Hunt Administrator, ADF&G, Division of Wildlife Conservation, 1801 S Margaret Dr, Palmer, AK 99645, or call (907) 746-6398 to appeal over the phone.

The State of Alaska is an Affirmative Action/Equal Opportunity Employer. Contact the Division of Wildlife Conservation at (907) 465-4190 for alternative formats of this publication. Comments or questions regarding this publication may be emailed to <u>natalie.weber@alaska.gov</u>.

Tier II Permit Hunt Areas

List of Alaska Communities

Select the community you live in from this list for your Tier II application. If your community is not listed, choose the community in this list that is

ADAK AKHIOK AKIACHAK AKIAK AKUTAN ALAKANUK ALATNA ALCAN BORDER ALEKNAGIK ALENEVA ALEXANDER CREEK ALLAKAKET AMBLER ANAKTUVUK PASS ANCHOR POINT ANCHORAGE ANDERSON ANGOON ANIAK ANVIK ARCTIC VILLAGE ATKA ATMAUTHLUAK ATQASUK AUKE BAY BADGER **BEAR CREEK** BEAVER BELUGA BETHEL BETTLES FIELD **BIG DELTA BIG LAKE BIRCH CREEK** BIRCHWOOD **BREVIG MISSION** BUCKLAND **BUFFALO SOAPSTONE** BUTTE CANTWELL CENTRAL CHALKYITSIK CHASE CHEFORNAK CHENA RIDGE CHENEGA BAY CHEVAK CHICKALOON CHICKEN CHIGNIK CHIGNIK LAGOON CHIGNIK LAKE CHINIAK CHISANA CHISTOCHINA CHITINA CHUATHBALUK CHUGIAK CIRCLE CLAM GULCH CLARK'S POINT CLEAR COFFMAN COVE COHOE COLD BAY COLDFOOT COLLEGE COOPER LANDING COPPER CENTER CORDOVA COVENANT LIFE CRAIG CROOKED CREEK

closest to you. **CROWN POINT DEADHORSE** DEERING **DELTA JUNCTION** DELTANA **DENALI PARK** DIAMOND RIDGE DILLINGHAM DIOMEDE DOT LAKE DOUGLAS DRY CREEK DUTCH HARBOR EAGLE EAGLE RIVER EAGLE VILLAGE EDNA BAY EEK EGEGIK EIELSON AFB EKLUTNA EKWOK **ELFIN COVE** ELIM EMMONAK ESTER EUREKA ROADHOUSE EVANSVILLE EXCURSION INLET FAIRBANKS FALSE PASS FARM LOOP FARMERS LOOP FERRY FISHHOOK FORT GREELY FORT YUKON FOUR MILE ROAD FOX FOX RIVER FRITZ CREEK FUNNY RIVER GAKONA GALENA GAMBELL GAME CREEK GATEWAY GEORGETOWN GIRDWOOD GLACIER VIEW GLENNALLEN GOLDSTREAM GOLOVIN GOODNEWS BAY GULKANA GUSTAVUS HAINES HALIBUT COVE HAPPY VALLEY HARDING-BIRCH LAKES HEALY HEALY LAKE HOLLIS HOLY CROSS HOMER HOONAH HOOPER BAY HOPE HOUSTON HUGHES HUSLIA HYDABURG **HYDER** IGIUGIG



Caribou

WOMENS BAY

WRANGELL

YAKUTAT

SUTTON-ALPINE

ΤΑΚΟΤΝΑ

Only three Tier II caribou permits are a	allowed per household.
--	------------------------

Area/Hunt Number	Number of Permits	Legal Caribou	Season Dates	Additional Requirements and Information		
Unit 9C, sou	Unit 9C, south of the north bank of the Naknek River; and Unit 9E					
TC505	300	Either Sex	Unit 9C: Aug. 10-Oct 10 and Nov. 1-Feb. 28	If successful, report in person or by phone (907-246-3340) to ADF&G in King Salmon within 10 days of kill.		
10505			Unit 9E: Aug. 10-Oct 10 and Nov. 1-Apr. 30			
					Hunt Maps available online http://hunt.alaska.gov	
Only one	Tier II moose	permit is allowed pe	er household.			
Area/Hunt Number	Number of Permits	Legal Moose	Season Dates	Additional Requirements and Information		
Unit 1D, Upper Lynn Canal						
TM059	250	Bull with spike-fork or 50-inch antlers or antlers with 3 or more brow tines on at least one side	Sept. 15-Oct. 7	If successful, report in person to ADF&G in Haines with lower front jaw and antlers for measuring	g within 3 days of kill.	

NIKOLAEVSK

NIKOLAI

LAKES

LARSEN BAY

PRUDHOE BAY

QUINHAGAK

Moose (continued)

			I III I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I I		<u>mup.//munt.alaska.gov</u>	
• Only on	e Tier II moos	se permit is allowed	l per household.			
Area/Hunt Number	Number of Permits	Legal Moose	Season Dates	Additional Requirements and Info	ormation	
Jnit 15C, S	Southwest of	Pt. Pogibshi, that p	portion of Unit 15C southwes	st of a line from Point Pogibshi to the point of land between Rocky Bay and Windy Bay.		
FM549	8	Bull	Aug. 25-Sept. 30	If successful, report by phone within 2 days of kill (907) 235-1725. Hunt will close by EO once harvest quota is reached. Moos hunters in Unit 15 must complete Moose Hunter Orientation online at <u>http://hunt.alaska.gov</u> prior to hunting and carry certification in the field.		
Jnit 16B, Y	/entna , that p	ortion north and wes	st of the 16B North Beluga hւ	unt area (TM567).		
TM565	100	Bull	Dec. 15-Mar. 31	If successful, report by phone (907-746-6322) or mail to ADF&G in Anchorage report by mail only within 15 days of kill. If antlers are removed intact or expo of the above ADF&G offices where a department representative will destru-	rted from Unit 16B, they must be brought to o	
		, that portion drainin side of Beluga River		f the big bend of the Lower Yentna River (approximately river mile 23) and into	Cook Inlet north of the Beluga River including	
TM567	80	Bull	Dec. 15-Mar. 31	If successful, report by phone (907-746-6322) or mail to ADF&G in Anchorage report by mail only within 15 days of kill. If antlers are removed intact or expo of the above ADF&G offices where a department representative will destruct the second sec	rted from Unit 16B, they must be brought to o	
Unit 16B, S	South Beluga	, mainland drainage	s south and west of the Belu	iga River, Beluga Lake, and Triumvirate Glacier.		
ГМ569	80	Bull	Dec. 15-Mar. 31	If successful, report by phone (907-746-6322) or mail to ADF&G in Anchorage report by mail only within 15 days of kill. If antlers are removed intact or expo of the above ADF&G offices where a department representative will destruct the second sec	rted from Unit 16B, they must be brought to o	
Jnit 19A , tł	hat portion of th	e Kuskokwim River dra	ainage downstream from, and ir	ncluding, the George River drainage, and downstream of, and excluding, the Downey C	reek drainage.	
TM680	200	1 Antlered Bull	Sept. 1-Sept. 20	If successful, or unsuccessful, report online or by mail to ADF&G in Fairbanks for assistance (907-459-7272). Any member of the household at the time of a	,	
Unit 19E, Li	ime Village M	anagement Area , th	at portion drained by the Ston	ny River from the mouth of the Stink River, including the Stink River drainage, upstr	eam to, but not including, the Can Creek drainag	
TM684	7	2 Bulls	Aug. 10-Sept. 25 and Nov. 20-Mar. 31	If successful, or unsuccessful, report online or by mail to ADF&G in Fairbanks for assistance (907-459-7272).	within 15 days of the close of the season. Call	
Creek to the confluence	Yukon River, t of Forty and O	then downstream alou ne-Half Mile Creek, t	ng the north bank of the Yukon hen upstream along Forty and	ne Unit 25D boundary on Preacher Creek, then downstream along west banks of P n River (including islands) to the confluence of the Hadweenzic River, then upstrean d One-Half Mile Creek to Nelson Mountain on the Unit 25D boundary. NOTE: Und esidents of Beaver, Stevens Village, and Birch Creek. Except for navigable waters	n along the west bank of the Hadweenzic River to i er Federal subsistence hunting regulations, fede	
surface of t	he Dalton Hig	hway, from the Yuko	on River to the Arctic Ocean,	ent Area (DHCMA). Units 20, 24, 25, and 26 extending five miles from each sic and including the Prudhoe Bay Closed Area. The area within the Prudhoe Bay nall game, and fur animals may be taken in the area by bow and arrow on	Closed Area is closed to the taking of big gam ly, and small game may be taken by falconr	
TM940	75	Bull	Aug. 25-Feb. 28	If successful, report online or by mail to ADF&G in Fairbanks within 15 days of Natural Resource Offices in Beaver, Birch Creek, Stevens Village, or Fort Yuko restricted area on page 2.		
Mu	iskc	X			Hunt Maps available online <u>http://hunt.alaska.gov</u>	
 A lockin Aircraft Some Ti combine Success 	ng-tag is not r may NOT be ier II Muskox ed federal and sful hunters in nd) portion o	hunts are conducte d state harvest reac n Units 22 and 23 m	nce muskox hunts. huskox hunters, muskox, ou ed in combination with a feo hes the harvest quota. hust remove the horns withi	r muskox hunting gear. deral subsistence hunt for federally qualified subsistence users on federal p in 2 inches of the eye level prior to leaving the kill site. Successful hunters eth (5-inch section) to ADF&G in Nome or Kotzebue within 3 days of harves	are required to submit the	
Number	of Permits	Legal Muskox	Season Dates	Additional Requirements and Info	ormation	
Unit 22A						
TX090	8	Bull	Aug. 1 - Mar. 15	For more information, call ADF&G in Nome at 1-800-560-2271.		
Unit 22B TX105	8	Bull	Unit 22B East Aug. 1 - Mar. 15	Unit 22B East, that portion east of the Darby Mountains, and including the Kw ages.	viniuk, Tubuktuluk, Koyuk and Inglutalik river dra	
			Remainder of Unit 22B Jan. 1 - Mar. 15	For more information, call ADF&G in Nome at 1-800-560-2271.		
Bridge, inclu	uding the Snak	ke River and Nome R	liver drainages; and Unit 22C	Sound between the east bank of the Penny River and the west bank of the Flam Inner Nome Area, that portion of the Snake River drainage downstream of and i Shepard Creek drainages, and all drainages flowing directly to Norton Sound betw	ncluding the Glacier Creek drainage, that portior	
FX096	5	Bull	Aug. 1 - Mar. 15	A portion of this hunt (Unit 22C Inner Nome Area) is only open to Certified Certified Muzzleloader Hunters and weapons certification is required prio For more information, call ADF&G in Nome at 1-800-560-2271.		
				stream of and including the Glacier Creek drainage, that portion of the Nome Riv tly to Norton Sound between the mouths of the Nome River and Snake River.	rer drainage downstream of and including the	
TX095	5	Bull ers or Certified Muzz	Aug. 1 - Mar. 15	 This hunt is weapons-restricted and only open to Certified Bowhunters, Cert Hunters. To hunt big game with a <i>bow</i> in this hunt, you must have successfully concertivatent) prior to applying. To hunt big game with a <i>shotgun</i> in this hunt, you must have successfully concurrent hunting. To hunt big game with a <i>muzzleloader</i> in this hunt, you must have successfully concurrent hunting. 	ompleted a bowhunter education course (IBEP ompleted a Basic Hunter Education course prior	
		ers of Certified Muzz d Shotaun Hunters (to applying.		

 Hunters or Certified Shotgun Hunters Only
 to applying. For more information, call ADF&G in Nome at 1-800-560-2271.

 Unit 22D Southwest, that portion west of the Tisuk River drainage, west of the west bank of Canyon Creek to its confluence with Tuksuk Channel.
 to applying. For more information, call ADF&G in Nome at 1-800-560-2271.

 TX103
 2
 Bull
 Jan. 1 - Mar. 15
 For more information, call ADF&G in Nome at 1-800-560-2271.

17105	2	Duli	5an. 1 - Mai. 15			
Remainder	r of Unit 22D					
TX102	8	Bull	Unit 22D Kuzitrin River drainage (includes Pilgrim and Kougarok Rivers) Jan. 1 - Mar. 15	For more information, call ADF&G in Nome at 1-800-560-2271.		
	0		Unit 22D American and Agiapuk River drainages Aug. 1 - Mar. 15			
Unit 22E						
TX104	4	Bull	Aug. 1 - Mar. 15	For more information, call ADF&G in Nome at 1-800-560-2271.		
Unit 23 Sou	uthwest, that	portion on the Sewar	d Peninsula west of and inclu	iding the Buckland River drainage.		
TX106	3	Bull	Aug. 1 - Mar. 15	For more information, call ADF&G in Kotzebue at 1-800-478-3420.		
Unit 23 No	rthwest , that p	portion north and wes	t of the Kobuk River drainage	2.		
TX107	3	Bull	Aug. 1 - Mar. 15	Portions of the hunt area are on federal land and additional federal restrictions may apply. For more information, call ADF&G in Kotzebue at 1-800-478-3420.		
Unit 26A, West of the Topagoruk River following 156° W longitutde south to the Unit 26A southern border.						
TX109	3	Either Sex	Aug. 1 - Mar. 15	Portions of the hunt area are on federal land and additional federal restrictions and opportunities may apply. Trophy destruction is required if the horns are transported out of Unit 26.For more information, call ADF&G in Utqiaġvik at 1-907-852-3464.		
Unit 26A, East of 153° W longitude and Unit 26B, West of the Dalton Highway.						
TX108	4	Either Sex	Aug. 1 - Mar. 31	A portion of this hunt area is within the Dalton Highway Corridor Management Area and weapons restrictions exist. Trophy destruction is required if the horns are transported out of Unit 26. For more information, call ADF&G in Fairbanks at 907-459-7206.		
2022 2024	Alaaka Subi	n Rictorico Dormit Ll	int Supplement	Page 3		

Nelchina Caribou RC561 Tier or 13

Tier I applications are accepted online only.

• Only Alaska residents may apply for Tier I hunts; you must be a resident at the time of application. All household members over the age of 10 must be listed on the application.

- Alaska residents that would like to hunt caribou in Unit 13 must choose to apply for only one of the following two types of hunts in Unit 13: Tier I (RC561 or RC562), or
- Community Subsistence Harvest (CSH) caribou.

There are two Tier I Registration hunts that hunters will have to choose from (RC561 or RC562). Hunters may only select one hunt to apply for.

•Members of a household that apply for a Unit 13 Tier I caribou permit or a CSH caribou permit are NOT eligible for ANY caribou Drawing hunts.

• A household member is any person currently living with you in your principal home, excluding persons boarding or renting within your home or relatives living in separate homes.

• By applying for RC561 or RC562 you agree to all of the permit hunt conditions below:

Permit Hunt Conditions	Instructions for Applying: Tier I Permit Hunt
 If your household applies for a Unit 13 Tier I caribou permit, your household WILL receive a permit. No member of the household will be eligible to apply for or receive any other state caribou permits or general season caribou harvest tickets. No member of the household may hunt caribou outside of Unit 13. No member of the household will be eligible to apply for or receive any moose permits outside of Unit 13. Household members may apply for moose 	 Application is online only; the application period begins Nov. 1 and ends Dec. 15, 2022 at 5 p.m. (AKST). All members of the household 10 years of age and older at the time of application must be listed on the application (including those who do not intend to hunt), and all members are bound by the hunt conditions for the entire regulatory year. Only one application per household; only one permit will be issued per
Drawing hunts in Unit 13 only (DM325, DM327, DM329 and DM348). • No member of the household may hunt moose outside of Unit 13. • Any member of the household may harvest the caribou.	household. • Complete instructions available online.
• Prior to Oct. 1, meat of the forequarters, hindquarters, and ribs must remain naturally attached to the bone until delivered to the place where it is processed for human consumption.	Please note: This is not a conventional registration hunt. You must apply during this application period; permits will not be available over the counter.
• The bag limit may be changed by Emergency Order or the hunt may be closed by Emergency Order. It is your responsibility to check the status of the	If you apply for this hunt, you and your household cannot participate in federal bunts for caribou or moose outside of Unit 13

bunt and return your hunt report when the hunt closes

participate in tederal hunts for caribou or moose outside of Unit 13.

nuni and return your nuni re	port when the num	1 010363.	
Area/Hunt Number	Legal Caribou	Season Dates	Additional Requirements and Information
RC561	To be announced	Aug. 10-Aug. 31 and Oct. 21-Mar. 31	Hunts will be closely monitored. All or portions of the hunt may be closed or opened on short notice by Emergency Order. It is your responsibility to check the status of the hunt and return your hunt report when the hunt closes. Hunting the fall season is recommended. The Nelchina herd typically migrates out of the
RC562		Sept. 1-Sept. 20 and Oct. 21-Mar. 31	hunt area in late fall or early winter. If successful, report online, in person, or by phone within 3 days of kill. If unsuccessful or you did not hunt, report online or by mail within 15 days of close of season.

Proxy hunting in Unit 13:

• For Unit 13 Tier I permit holders, no member of your household may proxy hunt for caribou or moose outside of Unit 13.

• You can only proxy hunt for one Unit 13 caribou per regulatory year.

• You or anyone in your household:

- cannot proxy hunt Tier I caribou if you (and your household) have a Community Subsistence Harvest caribou permit during the same regulatory year;

- cannot proxy hunt Tier I caribou if you or anyone in your household has hunted moose or caribou outside of Unit 13 during the same regulatory year;
- cannot hunt moose or caribou outside of Unit 13 if you or anyone in your household agrees to proxy hunt Tier I caribou during the same regulatory year.

Community Subsistence Harvest (CSH) Hunts Copper Basin CSH Caribou Hunt CC001 **Copper Basin CSH Moose Hunt CM300**

Season dates Aug. 10-Sept. 20 and Oct. 21-Mar. 31 Season may be closed by Emergency Order

Caribou CSH hunters - Must be Alaska residents at the time of application. No member of the household can hold any state caribou permits, or hold general season caribou harvest tickets. Copper Basin CSH Caribou hunters may apply for moose Drawing hunts in Units 11 and 13 only (DM250, DM325, DM327, DM329 and DM348). Hunting the fall season is recommended. The Nelchina herd typically migrates out of the hunt area in late fall or early winter.

• All group members must comply with all CSH hunting requirements for a two-year commitment. See the 2023-2024 Hunt Conditions for Copper Basin CSH Caribou for

- complete requirements at www.adfg.alaska.gov/index.cfm?adfg=huntlicense.cultural.
- Up to 400 caribou can be taken by all Copper Basin CSH groups/communities combined. • Apply only once per household; only one permit will be issued per household.
- No member of the household may apply for state or federal moose or caribou permit
- hunts outside of the Copper Basin Community Hunt area (Unit 11, 13, and that portion of Unit 12 south of the Little Tok River).
- No member of the household may hold general season caribou harvest tickets or other state caribou permits. After the CSH hunt has ended, if the household was unsuccessful in filling the CSH bag limit during the CSH hunt, household members may hunt in areas outside the CSH hunt area with general season caribou harvest tickets or other state caribou permits where the bag limit is greater than one caribou per household.
- No member of the household may hunt moose outside of the Copper Basin Community Hunt area.
- Any member of the household listed on the harvest ticket may harvest the caribou.
- Hunters must salvage the heart, liver, kidneys, and fat, and all edible meat from the

Season dates Aug. 20-Sept. 20

Season dates vary by area and may be closed by Emergency Order

Moose CSH hunters - Must be Alaska residents at the time of application. No member of the household can hold any state moose permits, or hold general season moose harvest tickets. Copper Basin CSH Moose hunters may apply for caribou hunts in Unit 13 only (RC561, or RC562).

• All group members must comply with all CSH hunting requirements for a two-year commitment. See the 2023-2024 Hunt Conditions for Copper Basin CSH Moose for complete requirements at www.adfg.alaska.gov/index.cfm?adfg=huntlicense.cultural.

- Up to 100 bull moose that do not meet general season antler restrictions ("any bull") may be taken in Units 11 and 13 during the fall season. When area-specific quotas are reached, the bag limit will revert to the general season antler restrictions for that area for the remainder of the season by Emergency Order. In the open portion of Unit 12, all community hunters must follow general season dates and antler restrictions.
- Locking-tags for the harvest of "any bull" moose will be distributed to participants using scoring criteria to determine the customary and direct dependence on the game population by the subsistence user for human consumption as a mainstay of livelihood. Hunters that do not have an "any bull" locking-tag in their possession must shoot a bull that conforms to the general season antler restrictions for the hunt area.
- Apply only once per household; one permit will be issued per household member over age 10.
- No member of the household may hold state or federal moose permits outside of the
- Copper Basin Community Hunt area (Unit 11, 13, and that portion of Unit 12 south of the

- front quarters, hindquarters, ribs, meat of the brisket, neck, and backbone.
- Meat of the front quarters, hindquarters, ribs, meat of the brisket, neck and back must remain naturally attached to the bone until delivered to the place where it is processed for human consumption for the duration of the CSH harvest season.
- The bag limit may be changed by Emergency Order or the hunt may be closed by Emergency Order. It is your responsibility to check the status of the hunt and return your hunt report when the hunt closes.
- Any member of the group may hunt on behalf of another member as a designated hunter.
- The group coordinator must submit an annual Coordinator Community Harvest Report. If the coordinator fails to do so, all group participants will be placed on the Failure to Report list and will not be eligible to participate in the CSH hunt during the following regulatory year, but will still be bound by the CSH hunt conditions.
- Little Tok River) or hold general season moose harvest tickets. After the CSH hunt has ended, unsuccessful individual household members may then acquire state or federal moose harvest tickets or permits for other areas if the bag limit is greater than one moose per person.
- Hunters must salvage the head, heart, liver, kidneys, stomach, and hide, and all edible meat from the front quarters, hindquarters, ribs, meat of the brisket, neck, and backbone.
- Meat of the front quarters, hindquarters, ribs, meat of the brisket, neck and back must remain naturally attached to the bone until delivered to the place where it is processed for human consumption for the duration of the CSH harvest season.
- Any member of the group may hunt on behalf of another member as a designated hunter.
- The group coordinator must submit an annual Coordinator Community Harvest Report. If the coordinator fails to do so, all group participants will be placed on the Failure to Report list and will not be eligible to participate in the CSH hunt during the following regulatory year, but will still be bound by the CSH hunt conditions.

Instructions for Applying for Copper Basin CSH Hunts:

- Must be an Alaska resident at the time of application.
- The Copper Basin CSH Caribou and Moose hunts are separate; group coordinators and households may apply for both hunts or just one of the hunts.
- Group coordinators may apply beginning Oct. 1 and ending Dec. 15, 2022 at 5 p.m. (AKST). Applications can be submitted online at http://hunt.alaska.gov. Each group coordinator will be assigned a group number after the application has been processed. Early submission of the group coordinator's application is highly recommended to avoid administrative delays that could compromise the group's eligibility due to lack of membership. Groups or communities must have a minimum of 25 individuals to participate in the CSH hunt.
- Households may apply beginning Nov. 1 and ending Dec. 15, 2022 at 5 p.m. (AKST). Applications can be submitted online at http://hunt.alaska.gov.
- Hunt conditions are available online at <u>www.adfg.alaska.gov/index.cfm?adfg=huntlicense.cultural</u>.
- All members of the household must be listed on the household application and all members are bound by the hunt conditions for the duration of the two-year commitment.
- · Incomplete applications will be considered invalid.