Hunting and Trapping Emergency Order Alaska Department

Under the Authority of AS 16.05.060

Alaska Department of Fish and Game

Emergency Order No. 03-02-22

Issued at: Fairbanks, Alaska

February 16, 2022

Effective Date: 12:01 AM

March 1, 2022

Expiration Date: June 30, 2022 unless superseded by subsequent

emergency order

EXPLANATION:

This announcement opens a state resident registration permit hunt, RM831, for any moose in the portion of Game Management Unit 21D south of the south bank of the Yukon River, downstream of the up-river entrance of Kala Slough and west of Kala Creek.

REGULATION:

Therefore, the following regulations in 5AAC 85.045(a)(19), HUNTING SEASONS AND BAG LIMITS FOR MOOSE, are superseded by this emergency order, and the following provisions are in effect for hunting moose in Unit 21D:

Resident
Open Season
(Subsistence and
General Hunts)

Nonresident Open Season

Units and Bag Limits

(19)

. . .

Unit 21(D), that portion south of the South bank of the Yukon River, downstream of the up-river entrance of Kala Slough and west of Kala Creek

RESIDENT HUNTERS:

. . .

Resident Open Season (Subsistence and General Hunts)

Nonresident Open Season

Units and Bag Limits

1 moose, by registration permit only, however, a person may not take a cow accompanied by a calf Mar. 1-Mar. 15

. . .

All other moose hunting regulations in Unit 21D remain unchanged and are not affected by this emergency order.

Doug Vincent-Lang Commissioner

By delegation to:

Glenn Stout Wildlife Biologist

JUSTIFICATION:

The Alaska Board of Game established a registration permit hunt in the portion of Unit 21D south of the south bank of the Yukon River downstream of the up-river entrance of Kala Slough and west of Kala Creek at their January 2019 meeting.

From 2011 to 2018, the moose population in the Kaiyuh Flats area of Unit 21D increased, providing additional opportunity for moose harvest. Moose abundance in the hunt area was estimated to be 1,900–2,500 in 2011 and increased to an estimated 4,000–4,500 moose by fall 2018. Trend count surveys conducted in November of 2021, indicate the population was stable since the 2018 population estimate.

The Unit 21D 10-year average estimated harvest during 2011–2020 was 405 moose, which is below the Intensive Management harvest objective of 500–1,000 moose. The harvest quota for this winter hunt will be 20 moose, to include no more than 15 cows. The harvest of cows accompanied by calves is prohibited. Hunters who have already harvested a moose during this regulatory year (after July 1, 2021) are not eligible to participate in this hunt. Hunters must report their harvest within 2 days of harvest, and unsuccessful hunters or hunters that did not hunt need to report by March 31, 2022.

DISTRIBUTION:

The distribution of the Emergency Order is to the following list. Copies are available from the Department of Fish and Game office in Fairbanks.

- 1. Lt. Governor
- 2. Commissioner, ADF&G
- 3. Assistant Attorney General
- 4. Division of Wildlife Conservation
 - a. Director
 - b. Deputy Director
 - c. Regional Supervisors
 - d. Regulations Coordination Team
 - e. Area Offices, Statewide
 - f. Information Management
 - g. Wildlife Information Centers
 - h. Web Master HO
- 5. State/Federal Regulations Coordinator
 - a. Anchorage
 - b. Anchorage (Federal)
- 6. Division of Subsistence
 - a. Fairbanks
 - b. HQ
- 7. Division of Boards
 - a. Executive Director, Juneau
 - b. Boards Coordinator, Fairbanks
- 8. Public Communication Section
- 9. Alaska Wildlife Troopers (AWT)
 - a. Anchorage
 - b. Fairbanks
 - c. Glennallen
 - d. Tok
 - e. Galena
 - f. Delta
 - g. Cantwell
- 10. US Fish and Wildlife Service
- 11. US Bureau of Land Management
 - a. Anchorage
 - b. Fairbanks
- 12. Tanana Chiefs Conference
 - a. Fairbanks
- 13. Koyukuk-Nowitna-Innoko National Wildlife Refuge
- 14. Fairbanks Advisory Committee
- 15. Koyukuk River Advisory Committee
- 16. Ruby Advisory Committee
- 17. Middle Yukon River Advisory Committee
- 18. TRM Advisory Committee
- 19. GASH Advisory Committee
- 20. Council of Athabaskan Tribal Governments
- 21. Kaltag Tribal Council

- 22. Nulato Tribal Council
- 23. Koyukuk Tribal Council
- 24. Louden Village Council
- 25. Grayling Tribal Council
- 26. Anvik Tribal Council
- 27. Holy Cross Tribal Council