Hunting and Trapping

Emergency Order

Under the Authority of AS 16.05.060

Alaska Department of Fish and Game

Emergency Order 05-09-21

Issued at Bethel, Alaska November 23, 2021

Effective Date: 12:01 a.m.

December 1, 2021

Expiration Date: June 30, 2022

EXPLANATION:

This Emergency Order opens and extends the state resident moose season in Unit 18 covered under that portion south of the Eek River drainage and north of and including the Carter Bay drainage, under the registration permit hunt RM617. The Season will open December 1, 2021, and end December 15, 2021. The bag limit for the winter season in this hunt is one antlered bull.

REGULATION:

Therefore, the following regulations in 5 AAC 85.045 (a) (16), HUNTING SEASONS AND BAG LIMITS FOR MOOSE are superseded by this emergency order, and the following provisions are effective for hunting moose in Unit 18.

Resident Open Season (Subsistence and General Hunts)

Nonresident Open Season

Units and Bag Limits

(16)

In Unit 18, that portion south of the Eek River drainage and north of the Carter Bay drainage

1 antlered bull by registration permit only

Dec. 1 - Dec. 15

No open Season

...

All other moose hunting regulations in Unit 18 remain unchanged by this emergency order.

Doug Vincent-Lang Commissioner

By delegation to:

Patrick Jones Area Biologist

JUSTIFICATION:

The Alaska Board of Game (BOG) established a registration permit hunt in Unit 18, that portion south of the Eek River drainage and north of the Carter Bay drainage at the winter 2019 BOG meeting. This moose population occurs mainly in the Kanektok and Arolik River drainages and a survey was conducted in March 2020. A minimum of 236 moose were observed. There was a 30-day season in September and hunters reported harvesting 6 bull moose. The harvestable surplus for this hunt is about 25 bull moose. This winter season provides additional opportunity for hunters to harvest a moose. Hunters are reminded to report their harvest to the Bethel ADF&G office (907) 543-2839 or (907) 543-2457. Hunters that have already harvested a moose during this regulatory year (after July 1, 2021) are not eligible to participate in this hunt. Unsuccessful hunters and hunters that did not hunt need to report by December 30, 2021.

DISTRIBUTION:

This Emergency Order is distributed to the recipients listed below. Copies are available from the Department of Fish and Game office in Bethel.

Page 2 of 4

- 1. Lieutenant Governor
- 2. Assistant Attorney General (Board of Game Liaison, Anchorage)
- 3. Commissioner, Department of Fish and Game
- 4. Division of Wildlife Conservation

Director

Deputy Director

Assistant Director

Regional Supervisors

Regulation Coordination Team

Area Offices Statewide

Information Management Section, Anchorage, Douglas, Juneau

Public Communication/Information, Anchorage, Fairbanks

Federal Subsistence Liaison

5. Division of Boards

Boards Support Section, Executive Director

Field Offices: Dillingham, Kotzebue

Fish and Game Advisory Committees, Chair

Unit 18 AC, Central Bering Sea Unit 18 AC, Lower Kuskokwim Unit 18 AC. Lower Yukon

6. Division of Subsistence

Assistant Director

Program Director, Fairbanks Field Offices: Fairbanks

- 7. Public Communications Section, Juneau
- 8. Department of Public Safety, Alaska Wildlife Troopers

Director

Detachment Commander
C Detachment, Western
D Detachment, Northern

Field Offices:

Unit 18: Aniak, Bethel, Dillingham, McGrath, St. Marys

9. U. S. Department of the Interior

Bureau of Land Management

BLM. State Director

BLM, Anchorage District

Unit 18/22 Anchorage, Mgr.

Unit 18/22 Anchorage, Subsistence Unit 18/22 Anchorage, Wildlife

Fish and Wildlife Service

FWS, Regional Director

FWS, Office of Federal Subsistence Management

FWS, OSM Regional Advisory Councils, Coordinators

FWS RAC Unit 18, Yukon-Kuskokwim

FWS, Refuges

FWS, Togiak NWR, Refuge Mgr.

FWS, Yukon Delta NWR, Refuge Mgr.

FWS, Law Enforcement, Bethel

National Park Service

NPS, Regional Director

NPS, Subsistence

NPS, Park Unit, Superintendent

Bering Landbridge, Nome

Gates of the Arctic, Fairbanks

Western Parklands, Kotzebue

10. Clerk of the Court or Magistrate

Unit 18: Aniak, Bethel, Chevak, Emmonak, St. Marys

11. I.R.A./Traditional Village Councils/Regional Native Corporations

Unit 18:

Association of Village Council Presidents

Calista

Akiachak Emmonak Kwethluk
Akiak Goodnews Bay Kwigillingok
Algaaciq Hooper Bay Marshall
Andreafsky Kalskag, Lower Mekoryok

Aniak Kalskag, Upper Mountain Village

Atmautluak Kasigluk Napakiak
Bethel Kipnuk Napaskiak
Chefornak Kongiganak Newtok
Eek Kotlik Nightmute

Platinum Quinhagak Russian Mission Scammon Bay Tooksook Bay Tuluksak Tuntutuliak Tununak

12. Statewide Media