Hunting and Trapping

Emergency Order

Under the Authority of AS 16.05.060

Alaska Department of Fish and Game

Emergency Order 05-02-20

Issued at Bethel, Alaska January 13, 2020

Effective Date: 12:01 a.m.

January 1, 2020

Expiration Date: January 21, 2020

EXPLANATION:

This Emergency Order opens the state resident moose season in Unit 18 covered under that portion south of and including the Goodnews River drainage, under registration permit hunt RM621. The Season will open January 1, 2020 and go to January 21, 2020. The bag limit for the winter season in the Goodnews hunt area is one moose. The season will be closed by emergency order if the quota of 14 moose is reached.

REGULATION:

Therefore, the following regulations in **5 AAC 85.045** (a) (16), **HUNTING SEASONS AND BAG LIMITS FOR MOOSE** are superseded by this emergency order, and the following provisions are effective for hunting moose in Unit 18.

Resident Open Season (Subsistence and General Hunts)

Nonresident Open Season

Units and Bag Limits

(16)

In Unit 18, that portion south of and including the Goodnews River drainage

1 moose by registration permit only

Jan. 1 - Jan. 21

No open Season

• • •

All other moose hunting regulations in Unit 18 remain unchanged by this emergency order.

Doug Vincent-Lang Commissioner

By delegation to:

Patrick Jones Area Biologist

JUSTIFICATION:

The Alaska Board of Game(BOG) established a registration permit hunt in Unit 18, that portion south of and including the Goodnews River drainage for a winter moose season during the January 2017 BOG meeting. The moose population in the Goodnews River Hunt Area is estimated between 250-330 moose. There was a 30 day season from September 1 to September 30, 2019 and the quota of 30 antlered bulls was not met. The harvest quota for this winter hunt is 14 moose. Hunters are required to report their harvest within 36 hours to the Bethel ADF&G office (907) 543-2839 or (907) 543-2457. Hunters that have already harvested a moose during regulatory year 2019 (from July 1, 2019 to June 30, 2020) are not eligible to participate in this hunt. Unsuccessful hunters and hunters that did not hunt are required to report by April 15, 2020.

DISTRIBUTION:

This Emergency Order is distributed to the recipients listed below. Copies are available from the Department of Fish and Game office in Bethel.

- 1. Lieutenant Governor
- 2. Assistant Attorney General (Board of Game Liaison, Anchorage)
- 3. Commissioner, Department of Fish and Game
- 4. Division of Wildlife Conservation

Director

Deputy Director

Assistant Director

Regional Supervisors

Regulation Coordination Team

Area Offices Statewide

Information Management Section, Anchorage, Douglas, Juneau

Public Communication/Information, Anchorage, Fairbanks

Federal Subsistence Liaison

5. Division of Boards

Boards Support Section, Executive Director

Field Offices: Dillingham, Kotzebue

Fish and Game Advisory Committees, Chair

Unit 18 AC, Central Bering Sea

Unit 18 AC, Lower Kuskokwim

Unit 18 AC, Lower Yukon

6. Division of Subsistence

Assistant Director

Program Director, Fairbanks

Field Offices: Fairbanks

- 7. Public Communications Section, Juneau
- 8. Department of Public Safety, Alaska Wildlife Troopers

Director

Detachment Commander

C Detachment, Western

D Detachment, Northern

Field Offices:

Unit 18: Aniak, Bethel, Dillingham, McGrath, St. Marys

9. U. S. Department of the Interior

Bureau of Land Management

BLM, State Director

BLM, Anchorage District

Unit 18/22 Anchorage, Mgr.

Unit 18/22 Anchorage, Subsistence

Unit 18/22 Anchorage, Wildlife

Fish and Wildlife Service

FWS, Regional Director

FWS, Office of Federal Subsistence Management

FWS, OSM Regional Advisory Councils, Coordinators

FWS RAC Unit 18, Yukon-Kuskokwim

FWS, Refuges

FWS, Togiak NWR, Refuge Mgr.

FWS, Yukon Delta NWR, Refuge Mgr.

FWS, Law Enforcement, Bethel

National Park Service

NPS, Regional Director

NPS, Subsistence

NPS, Park Unit, Superintendent

Bering Landbridge, Nome

Gates of the Arctic, Fairbanks

Western Parklands, Kotzebue

10. Clerk of the Court or Magistrate

Unit 18: Aniak, Bethel, Chevak, Emmonak, St. Marys

11. I.R.A./Traditional Village Councils/Regional Native Corporations

Unit 18:

Association of Village Council Presidents

Calista

Akiachak Goodnews Bay Marshall Akiak Hooper Bay Mekoryok

Algaaciq Kalskag, Lower Mountain Village

Andreafsky Kalskag, Upper Napakiak Aniak Kasigluk Napaskiak Atmautluak Kipnuk Newtok Bethel Kongiganak **Nightmute** Chefornak Kotlik Nunam Iqua Eek Kwethluk Nunapitchuk **Emmonak** Kwigillingok Oscarville

Pilot Station
Pitkas Point
Platinum
Quinhagak

Russian Mission Scammon Bay Tooksook Bay Tuluksak Tuntutuliak Tununak

12. Statewide Media