# Hunting and Trapping Emergency Order Alaska Department

Under the Authority of AS 16.05.060

of Fish and Game

**Emergency Order No.** 03-04-15 **Issued at:** Fairbanks, Alaska

August 26, 2015

Effective Date: 12:01 A.M. Expiration Date: June 30, 2016

September 1, 2015 unless superseded by subsequent

emergency order

## **EXPLANATION:**

This emergency order closes hunting seasons for bison in Game Management Unit 19A at 12:01 A.M. on Tuesday, September 1, 2015. The remainder of Unit 19 will remain open to bison hunting by drawing permit only.

# **REGULATION:**

Therefore, the following regulations in **5AAC 85.010(a)(2)**, **HUNTING SEASONS AND BAG LIMITS FOR BISON**, are superseded by this emergency order, and the following provisions are effective for hunting bison:

	Open Season	
	(Subsistence and	Nonresident
Units and Bag Limits	<b>General Hunts</b> )	<b>Open Season</b>

Resident

. . .

(2)

Unit 19(A) No open season No open season

Units 19(B), (C) and 19(D)

1 bison Sept. 1–Sept. 30 Sept. 1–Sept. 30

(General hunt only)

Mar. 1–Mar. 31 Mar. 1–Mar. 31

(General hunt only)

. . .

All other bison hunting regulations in Unit 19 remain unchanged and are not affected by this emergency order.

## **JUSTIFICATION:**

Bison drawing permit hunts DI351 and DI352 are intended to provide opportunity to hunt plains bison from the Farewell herd, whose range is almost exclusively in Unit 19(C), and nearly all of the historic harvest comes from Unit 19(C). However, the hunt boundaries allow hunters to hunt plains bison throughout Unit 19.

During spring 2015 the department reintroduced wood bison into Unit 21(E), but the Alaska Board of Game has not authorized hunting of wood bison. Dispersing wood bison have been reported in the extreme western portion of Unit 19(A), making it a remote possibility that a Farewell bison permittee would be able to hunt a wood bison in that unit. This emergency order is intended to protect any dispersing wood bison from such take, while still allowing for plains bison harvest from within the normal range of the Farewell bison herd.

According to the Lower Innoko/Yukon Rivers Wood Bison Management Plan, a hunting season on wood bison will be considered when the harvestable surplus reaches 20 animals. This will likely not occur before 2019.

Sam Cotten Commissioner

By delegation to:

Area Biologist

# **DISTRIBUTION:**

The distribution of this Emergency Order is to the following list. Copies are available from the Department of Fish and Game office in Fairbanks.

- 1. Lt. Governor
- 2. Commissioner, Dept. of Fish and Game
- 3. Asst. Attorney General (BOG Liaison)
- 4. Division of Wildlife Conservation
  - a. Director
  - b. Deputy Director
  - c. Regional Supervisors
  - d. Regulations Coordination Team
  - e. Area Offices, Statewide
  - f. Information Management
  - g. Wildlife Information Centers
  - h. HQ Webmaster
- 5. State/Federal Regulations Coordinators
  - a. Anchorage
  - b. Anchorage (Federal)
- 6. Division of Subsistence
  - a. Bethel
  - b. HO
  - c. Fairbanks Statewide Coordinator
  - d. Fairbanks Regional Program Manager
- 7. Division of Boards
  - a. Executive Director, Juneau
  - b. Boards Coordinator, Fairbanks
- 8. Public Communication Section
- 9. Alaska Wildlife Troopers (AWT)
  - a. Anchorage
  - b. Aniak
  - c. Bethel
  - d. Coldfoot
  - e. Fairbanks
  - f. Galena
  - g. McGrath
- 10. Local Magistrate
  - a. Aniak
  - b. Galena
  - c. Delta
  - d. Ft. Yukon
  - e. Nenana/Healy/Tanana
  - f. Tok
- 11. US Fish and Wildlife Service
  - a. Anchorage
  - b. Galena
- 12. US Bureau of Land Management

- a. Anchorage
- b. Fairbanks
- 13. US Forest Service Chugach
- 14. Koyukuk–Nowitna NWR
- 15. Gates of the Arctic National P&P
- 16. Innoko National Wildlife Refuge
- 17. Kanuti National Wildlife Refuge
- 18. Tanana Chiefs Conference Fairbanks
- 19. GASH Advisory Committee
- 20. Koyukuk Advisory Committee
- 21. Middle Yukon Advisory Committee
- 22. Ruby Advisory Committee
- 23. Tanana/Rampart/Manley Advisory Committee
- 24. Yukon Flats Advisory Committee
- 25. Minto-Nenana Advisory Committee
- 26. Alatna Village Council
- 27. Allakaket Village Council
- 28. Anaktuvuk Village Council
- 29. Evansville Village Council
- 30. Hughes Village Council
- 31. Huslia Village Council
- 32. Kaltag Village Council
- 33. Koyukuk Village Council
- 34. Nulato Village Council
- 35. Ruby Village Council
- 36. Louden Village Council
- 37. Grayling Village Council
- 38. Anvik Village Council
- 39. Kuskokwim Native Association
- 40. Chuathbaluk Traditional Council
- 41. Native Village of Lower Kalskag
- 42. Native Village of Napaimiut
- 43. Sleetmute Village Council
- 44. Crooked Creek Traditional Council
- 45. Lime Village Traditional Council
- 46. Red Devil Traditional Council
- 47. Stony River Traditional Council
- 48. Council of Athabaskan Tribal Governments
- 49. McGrath Village Council
- 50. Nikolai Village Council
- 51. Steese Roadhouse
- 52. Department of Transportation, Bettles
- 53. Yukon Charley NWR Eagle