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PRINCE WILLIAM SOUND COMMERCIAL
SABLEFISH FISHERY UPDATE
SEASON OPENING AND QUOTA ALLOCATIONS

The 2016 Prince William Sound (PWS) sablefish season will open April 15 with a 110,823 Ib
guideline harvest level (GHL). The 2016 GHL was adjusted from the 2015 GHL by applying the
relative change between 2015 and 2016 in the National Marine Fisheries Service (NMFS) Gulf
of Alaska sablefish acceptable biological catch (ABC), which is derived from NMFS stock
assessment surveys.

Fishing may occur in Inside District waters only and season dates are April 15 - August 31.
The fishery is managed by quota allocations among vessel size permit classes as specified in
regulation 5 AAC 28.272. The table below indicates the number of registered permits, and quota
allocations in round weight and dressed (eastern cut) weight by permit category.

Permit Registered Quota Quota
Category Permits Round (Ib) Dressed (Ib)

A&B 4 3,772 2,376

C 32 2,422 1,526

D 10 1,822 1,148

Each permit holder’s harvest total will be verified based on the sablefish weight as
delivered. Accurate delivery condition code must be reported at the time of delivery as required
by 5 AAC 39.130. To avoid any misunderstanding, processors are required to report round
weight pounds for all deliveries of whole (unbled) fish. Deliveries of dressed or bled fish shall
be reported on the fish ticket in both dressed or bled weight and as a round weight conversion
(converted automatically in eLandings and printed on the bottom of the fish ticket).



Fishermen are reminded that a sablefish quota overage is an illegal harvest and may be
subject to prosecution. All sablefish in excess of an individual’s quota allocation must be
reported on the fish ticket as a “sablefish overage” and a check to the State of Alaska for the
value of the overage must accompany the fish ticket.

Reporting requirements: Logbook sheets must be completed and returned within 10 days after
each landing. Logbook sheets may be submitted in person, by mail (ADF&G P.O. Box 669,
Cordova, AK 99574), by fax (907) 424-3235, or accompanying the fish ticket. Six-hour prior
notice of landing for sablefish is required by calling (907) 424-7225 and reporting:

1) permit holder name and landing location;
2) name of the buyer or processor;
3) estimated time of arrival; and

4) estimated number of pounds of sablefish on board, and whether the fish is dressed or in the
round.

Additional fishery regulations:

1) A vessel operator shall unload all sablefish taken in the PWS management area, and a
copy of the completed fish ticket must be submitted to ADF&G before taking sablefish in
another area (5 AAC 28.272.()).

2) A vessel operator with sablefish on board that were taken in another management area
may not take sablefish in the PWS management area (5 AAC 28.272.(b)).

3) When targeting sablefish in PWS, copies of all completed PWS sablefish fish tickets
issued to a sablefish permit holder for the current season must be retained on board
(5 AAC 28.272.(d)).

Bycatch limits: Bycatch limits by species or species aggregate for the PWS Management Area
state-waters sablefish fishery are set as follows by Emergency Order 2-GF-E-06-14 as round
weight of bycatch as a percentage of the round weight of the target species:

(1) may retain 20 percent Pacific cod;

(2) may retain 5 percent skate species in aggregate;

(3) may retain 15 percent shark species in aggregate (includes spiny dogfish);

(4) may not retain lingcod prior to July 1; after July 1 may retain 20 percent lingcod;

(5) may retain 20 percent pollock;

(6) must retain all rockfish (and thornyhead) as required by 5 AAC 28.265 and any rockfish
in excess of 20 percent in aggregate must be weighed and reported as bycatch overage on
an ADF&G fish ticket;

(A)no rockfish landing or combination of landings may exceed the 5-day trip limit of
3,000 pounds
(7) may retain 20 percent other groundfish in aggregate.

For additional information, contact ADF&G in Cordova, at 907-424-3212.
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