
Alaska Department of Fish and Game / Division of Sport Fish - RTS
333 Raspberry Road, Anchorage, Alaska 99518-1565

Telephone: (907) 267-2369 or (907) 267-2390

2014 SPORT FISH BUSINESS OWNER/GUIDE
RENEWAL LICENSE APPLICATION

X ___________________________________________    Circle one:  Applicant or Agent    Date: ________________

Name of Insurance Company:  ____________________________________________________________________
Policy/Binder #: _____________________________      Effective Dates: From: ____________  To: ______________

BUSINESS INFORMATION:

SIGNATURE OF BUSINESS OWNER/AGENT or GUIDE:

Are you a citizen of the United States, Canada, Mexico or a resident alien?    Yes            No

Basic First Aid Information: Certifying agency: ________________________________    Exp. Date: ___________

 2014 Alaska Sport Fishing License #: ________________________                       Date of Birth:  ______________

U.S. COAST GUARD OPERATOR’S LICENSE: (See explanation on back)

Do you plan to operate a motorized vessel in Navigable Waters?   Yes           No           If yes, complete the next line.

Name of Business: ______________________________________________________________________________________

This is a renewal license
application only.

Complete this applicaton
and return it to the

Anchorage Fish & Game
address located at the top

of this form.  Allow 21
business days for

 processing.

 SECTION A:                           ALL  APPLICANTS COMPLETE THIS SECTION

  SECTION B:            TO BE COMPLETED BY THE BUSINESS OWNER OR THEIR AGENT

*Remember to get a logbook for your business at the nearest ADF&G office prior to commencement of guiding activities.*

Name of Business Owner: ________________________________________________________________________________

FEES (CHECK ONE): METHOD OF PAYMENT:

ALL FEES ARE NONREFUNDABLEALL FEES ARE NONREFUNDABLE

TO BE ASSIGNED

 Make checks payable to “State of Alaska”

INSURANCE: (See detailed insurance requirements on back)

Alaska Business License Number: ____________________________________   Expiration Date: ________________

I hereby certify that all information is true and correct and that I understand this information is subject to public disclosure.
(NOTE: Making a false statement or omitting a material fact, is subject to a maximum penalty of $10,000 or 1 year imprisonment, or both,

   Mo/Date/Yr

*An agent for this business cannot apply as a guide on a combination license

per AS 11.56.210.)

 SECTION C:                            TO BE COMPLETED BY THE GUIDE OR THEIR AGENT

http://www.adfg.alaska.gov/index.cfm?adfg=prolicenses.sportfishguides

Check #: _________________

Money Order #: __________________
$100.00  Business Owner License only

$100.00  Combined Business/Guide License*

$50.00  Guide Only License

Name of Business Owner or Guide: __________________________________________________________________________________
Last                                                                First                                                               MI

Permanent Mailing Address: _______________________________________________________________________________
PO Box or Street Address                                                  City                                             State                                    Zip

Telephone Number:  (_______)____________________        In-Season Telephone Number: (________)__________________

Mail License Here: ______________________________________________________________________________________
(If different than permanent)                 PO Box or Street Address                        City                                             State                                    Zip

Mo/ Yr

Mo/Date/Yr

Mo/Date/Yr

INSTRUCTIONS TO COMPLETE FORM ON REVERSE

LICENSE #

Mo/Date/YrUSCG License # or Merchant Mariner Credential  Doc #: USA  Exp. Date: _______________



INSTRUCTIONS FOR THE
2014 SPORT FISH BUSINESS OWNER/GUIDE

 RENEWAL LICENSE APPLICATION

IMPORTANT NOTICE TO GUIDES
State regulation (5 AAC 75.075) requires that all licensed guides providing sport fishing guide services in Alaska must apply
annually for a license with the Department of Fish and Game before guiding activities begin.

WHAT A GUIDE MUST HAVE IN POSSESSION WHILE GUIDING
A sport fish business owner or guide should be able to present all documents required for licensing upon request by a represen-
tative of the Department of Fish and Game, or any peace officer of the state.  While engaged in providing sport fishing guide
services, a sport fishing guide shall have the following readily available for inspection:
   •   A current sport fishing guide license;
   •   A copy of the current ADF&G sport fishing business license of the guide’s employer;
   •   A current Alaska sport fishing license, tags, stamps or permits that are required to engage in the sport fishery for
       which the guide services are providing;
   •   An identification card issued to the sport fishing guide by a state or federal agency that bears a photo of the sport
       fishing guide.

INSTRUCTIONS:
  SECTION A:   ALL applicants must complete this section.

SECTION C:  GUIDES:  Complete this section if you intend to guide for a sport fish operation owned by someone other
than you or  if you are the business owner who also intends to guide (owner/operator).

1.  All applicable sections of the license application must be complete and legible prior to ADF&G
     validation.  No “pending”, “unknowns” or blanks will be accepted.
2.  Incomplete license applications will be returned, resulting in a processing delay.
3.  A signature is required.
4.  This is a license application only.  A post card sized annual license will be mailed within

                 21 business days.
5.  There may be requirements by other state and federal agencies to operate as a guide in Alaska.

Attention:  The following will apply without exception:

SECTION B:   BUSINESS OWNER OR THEIR AGENT:  Complete this section if you are the owner/agent of the
 sport fishing business.  This section should be filled out even if the owner does not intend to personally guide clients.  An
agent for this business CANNOT apply as a guide on the same application.  A separate license must be submitted.

LIABILITY  INSURANCE REQUIREMENT:  General liability or marine protection that covers at least $100,000 for
each incident and $300,000  for all incidents in a year.  Insurance must cover  ALL  periods of time when the owner or
owner’s employees are providing sport fishing services to clients.  Insurance must be current, NOT pending.

U.S COAST GUARD OPERATORS’S LICENSE:   A licensed sport fish guide must have, at minimum, a Limited
OUPV for Western Waters in Alaska or 6-pak U.S.C.G. operator’s license in their possession while operating a motorized
vessel with clients or transporting clients on a motorized vessel in navigable waters.  Navigable waters are determined by
the U.S. Coast Guard (907) 271-6700.
Note: Effective April 20, 2009 the U.S.C.G. began issuing the Merchant Mariner Credentials (MMC).   Applicants must
provide the U.S.C.G. license number, expiration date, and date of birth.

IMPORTANT NOTICE TO BUSINESS OWNERS
 State regulation (5 AAC 75.075) requires that all operators providing sport fishing guide services in Alaska must apply annually for
a license with the Department of Fish and Game before guiding services begin.   Business owners are required to register all
charter vessels with ADF&G and acquire a logbook prior to commencement of guiding acitivities.  Guides hired by an operator
must be provided with a copy of the ADF&G  business license to have in their possession while guiding.


