Dall Sheep Working Group Meeting December 5 & 6, 2015 Spenard Recreation Center, Anchorage, Alaska

Meeting Summary

The Dall Sheep Working Group met in Anchorage, December 5 & 6, at the Spenard Recreational Center. Thirty-eight working group members were present along with agency staff and members of the public. (See attendance list on pages 2 and 3.) The meeting was facilitated by Dr. Alistair Bath. Throughout the meeting, the working group was divided into small groups of four to six members and each group was asked to provide comments to questions and topics raised by Dr. Bath. The topics and responses are captured on a compilation of flip chart pages posted on the meeting info webpage at: www.adfg.alaska.gov/index.cfm?adfg=sheepcomm.wgmeetinginfo.

Discussion topics included:

- Reasons for participating on the Dall sheep working group
- Rules for the working group
- Responsibilities of working group members
- What concerns or issues would prevent the working group from understanding and addressing the key issues facing sheep and sheep management issues in Alaska?
- What issues would help the working group to understand and address key issues facing sheep and sheep management?
- Advantages and disadvantages of working together as a team
- Utilizing the advisory committee system
- Board of Game trust issues

The committee set dates for three future meetings:

- January 2-3, 2016 Fairbanks (Note this meeting was cancelled.)
- January 30 & 31, 2016 Anchorage (Note this meeting will be held in Fairbanks due to the cancellation of the first meeting.)
- February 20-21, 2016 Anchorage

Prior to concluding the meeting, the working group asked the Department of Fish and Game to provide information at the next meeting on harvest statistics, sheep counts over time, and the economic impact to the guiding industry.

Dall Sheep Working Group Meeting December 5 & 6, 2015

Meeting Attendance

Sheep Working Group Members

Nate Turner, Board of Game Stosh Hoffman, Board of Game Dave Brown, Board of Game Doug Larsen, Alternate for Territorial Sportsmen, Inc. Kevin Kehoe, AK Wild Sheep Foundation Rob Stone, Alaska Airmen Association Al Barrette, Tanana Valley Sportsman Association Jack Frost, AK Bowhunters Association Brett Barringer, SCI Alaska Chapter Aaron Bloomquist, APHA Kneeland Taylor, AWA Leif Wilson, BGCSB Sue Entsminger, Eastern Interior Regional Advisory Council (RAC) Lee Adler, Southcentral RAC Mark Richards, AK Backcountry Hunters & Anglers Gary Stevens, AOC Mike McCrary, Air Carriers Association Ed Soto, public member Lou Bradley, public member Ivan Clark, public member Joe Want, public member Dave Lorring, public member Laura Philips, National Park Service Casey Burns, Bureau of Land Management Ryan Mollnow, USF&WS, National Wildlife Refuge system, Alaska Mike Kramer, Fairbanks Advisory Committee (AC) Jack Reakoff, Koyukuk AC & Western Interior RAC Ray Collins, McGrath AC Frank Entsminger, Upper Tanana Fortymile AC Coke Wallace. Middle Nenana River AC Jacob White. Delta AC Frank Neumann, Anchorage AC Israel Peyton, Mat Valley AC Doug Malone, Homer AC Enoch Mitchell, Noatak/Kivalina AC & Northwest Interior Region RAC Enoch (Atamuk) Sheidt, Kotzebue Sound AC Raymond Stoney, Lower Kobuk AC Louie Commack, Upper Kobuk AC

Staff and Public

Ted Spraker, Board of Game Teresa Sager Albaugh, Board of Game Jeff Butler Kelly Vrem, BGCSB Tom Atkins, BGCSB Nancy Bale Kristy Tibbles, BOG Executive Director Bruce Dale, Division of Wildlife Conservation Director Maria Gladziszewski, Division of Wildlife Conservation Assistant Director Tony Kavalok, Division of Wildlife Conservation Assistant Director Cheryl Brooking, Department of Law Lt. Paul Fussey, Alaska Wildlife Troopers Suzanne Worker, Office of Subsistence Management