

Alaska Department of Fish and Game Board of Fisheries PO Box 115526 Juneau, AK 99811-5526 (907) 465-4110 www.adfg.alaska.gov

ALASKA BOARD OF FISHERIES

Continuation of the Crab Observer Oversight Task Force

2014-274-FB March 21, 2014

Pursuant to the Board's discussion and the requests of the stakeholders and their representatives, the board determined that the continuation of the Crab Observer Oversight Task Force (task force) for the crab observer program and the program receipts system is useful.

At its March 2014 Statewide King and Tanner Crab meeting, the Board received a report from the task force. The board approved maintaining the task force for an additional three years, approved a change that membership may range from nine (9) to fifteen (15) members, quorum may be achieved through a simple majority of members, and current members appointments are renewed. The board makes the following appointments:

Lance Farr - R/V Kevleen K

Doug Wells - C/P Baranof

Mark Gleason - Alaska Bering Sea Crabbers

Jerry Bongen – FV Pacific Venture

Ann Vanderhouven – Bristol Bay Economic Dev. Corp.

Jeff Stephan – United Fishermens' Marketing Association

Dick Powell - C/V Patricia Lee

are Johnstone

Linda Kozak - Crab Group of Independent Harvesters

Edward Poulsen - Alaska Bering Sea Crabbers

The board will review the membership and the charge through the Board's next Statewide King and Tanner Crab meeting.

The charge to the Oversight Task Force is outlined in Board Finding 99-186-FB.

Karl Johnstone/Chair

Alaska Board of Fisheries

Vote: 7 in favor, 0 opposed