Alaska Department of Fish and Game

For ADF&G use only

TAKING of HALIBUT by PROXY is UNLAWFUL Alaska state regulations prohibit the taking of halibut by proxy

in sport, personal use, and subsistence fishing.

5 AAC 01.011(b), 5 AAC 75.011(b), 5 AAC 77.016(b)



# 20 Proxy Fishing Form See instructions on reverse

# Providing false information on this form is subject to punishment as a misdemeanor under AS 16.05.420 and AS 11.56.210

This form provides information about an Alaskan resident (Proxy) who wishes to take finfish or shellfish on behalf of another Alaskan resident (Beneficiary) who is blind AS 16.05.403 (a), 70% physically disabled AS 16.05.940 (26), developmentally disabled AS 16.05.940 (25) (A-G) or 65 years of age or older, in accordance with AS 16.05.405, 5 AAC 75.011, 5 AAC 77.016, 5 AAC 01.011, and 5 AAC 02.011, and to provide information about the Beneficiary.

When proxy fishing, the Proxy must have each of the following in his/her possession: 1) the valid sport fishing license of the Proxy AS 16.05.405(c)

2) the sport fishing license or ADF&G Permanent ID card of the Beneficiary

3) all applicable subsistence or personal use permits for BOTH the Proxy and the Beneficiary

4) this completed Proxy Fishing Information Form, signed by ADF&G. Beneficiaries may substitute a written statement authorizing the Proxy for the "Beneficiary" portion of this form, as long as the statement includes all information requested of the Beneficiary below. The Proxy portion below must still be filled out, and the Proxy Fishing Information Form validated by ADF&G.

The PROXY named on this form is authorized to fish for the BENEFICIARY named on this form for the following period: PERIOD of PROXY

**AUTHORIZATION:** to / / (only good within a calendar year)

# **BENEFICIARY INFORMATION (Person receiving the fish)**

# **PROXY INFORMATION (Person catching the fish)**

Name		Name					
Address	dress		Address				
City	State	City	State				
Zip Code	_Telephone No	Zip Code	Telephone No				
Alaska resident fishing license number O ADF&G Senior License (PID)		Alaska resident fishing license number					
O ADF&G Disabled Veteran'		TYPE OF PROXY FISHING:					
Regular fishing license (Class 1, 1A, 4, 5, 5A, 5B, or 18 dup. res.)		Check all that apply: Sport Fishing 5 AAC 75.011 Personal Use Fishing 5 AAC 77.016 Subsistence Finfish 5 AAC 01.011					
Type of permitPermit #							
Type of permit	Permit #	Subsistence Shellfish 5 AAC 02.011					
Type of Permit	Permit #		am the Proxy, that I have read and understand the d that all of the information I provided on this form				
REASON FOR PROXY AUTH	HORIZATION	is true. I understand that I may not proxy fish for more than one					
Beneficiary is:		Beneficiary at a time.	I may not take more than twice the daily bag limit				
$\bigcirc$ 65 years of age or older		•	n twice the possession limit. I may not fish with				
O Blind AS 16.05.403(a) aft		Ũ	mit of gear. I understand that I must fill out the				
	AS 16.05.940 (26) affidavit required	, .	Record card on the back of this form. I agree to				
O Developmentally disabled AS 16.05.940 (25) (A-G) affidavit required		deliver all edible parts of the fish or shellfish (harvested for the Beneficiary) to the Beneficiary within 30 days.					
Proxy Designation		x					
	n identified on this application as my proxy	Signat	Date Date				

Т and authorize him/her to harvest fish and shellfish on my behalf. He/She has possession of my resident sport fishing license or ADF&G permanent ID, and my applicable fishing permits. I understand that I may NOT fish at the same time as my Proxy.

(must be signed prior to fishing)

Contact your local ADF&G office if you have questions.

ADF&G VALIDATION INSTRUCTIONS: Sign below and make 2 copies. Send ORIGINAL to Division of Sport Fish Research & Technical Services, 333 Raspberry Rd., Anchorage, AK 99518. Keep 1 copy on file in your office, give 1 copy to the proxy.

Date

х

ADF&G Employee Printed Name

Signature of Beneficiary

ADF&G Employee Signature

Location

Date

## Instructions Proxy Fishing Information Form

### 1. Fill in the Current year at the top of the form.

- Fill in the dates the proxy fishing will occur. Dates may not span a calendar year.
  BENEFICIARY Information
  - a. Fill in the form with name, address, and telephone number of the Beneficiary (the person receiving the fish).
  - b. Write down the number of the Beneficiary's current year Alaska resident sport fishing license, or ADF&G Permanent ID card, or ADF&G Disabled Veteran's card in space provided. Proof of license is required for validation.
  - c. For a fishery that requires a permit, write down the Beneficiary's permit number in the space provided. If you are unsure if a permit is needed, ask an ADF&G official to help you.
  - d. Indicate one of the four reasons for the proxy.
  - e. The Beneficiary signs where it says "Signature of Beneficiary."

#### 4. PROXY Information

- a. Fill in the spaces on the form with the name, address, and telephone number of the Proxy (the person catching the fish).
- b. Write down the number of the Proxy's current year Alaska resident sport fishing license, or ADF&G Permanent ID card, or ADF&G Disabled Veteran's card in the space provided.
- c. The Proxy signs where it says "Signature of Proxy." The proxy does not need to sign before validation, but must sign before proxy fishing.
- ADF&G Officials: See instructions in the validation section on the other side of this form.

#### Definitions

**AS 16.05.403(a)** A resident hunting license, a resident sport fishing license, a resident subsistence fishing permit, or a resident personal use fishing permit indicating that the purchaser is blind may be obtained from the department upon payment of the fee prescribed in AS 16.05.330 - 16.05.430 and upon presentation of either an affidavit of the applicant stating that the applicant cannot distinguish light from darkness or an affidavit signed by a licensed physician or a licensed optometrist stating that the applicant's central visual acuity does not exceed 20/200 in the better eye with correcting lenses or that the applicant's widest diameter of visual field subtends an angle no greater than 20 degrees.

**AS 16.05.940(26)** "person with physical disabilities" means a person who presents to the department either written proof that the person receives at least 70 percent disability compensation from a government agency for a physical disability or an affidavit signed by a physician licensed to practice medicine in the state stating that the person is at least 70 percent physically disabled.

AS 16.05.940(25) (A-G) "person with developmental disabilities" means a person who presents to the department an affidavit signed by a physician licensed to practice medicine in the state stating that the person is experiencing a severe, chronic disability (A) attributable to a mental or physical impairment or a combination of mental and physical impairments; (B) that is manifested before the person reaches 18 years of age; (C) that is likely to continue indefinitely; (D) that results in substantial functional limitations in three or more of the following areas of major life activity: self care, receptive and expressive language, learning, mobility, self-direction, capacity for independent living, and economic selfsufficiency; (E) that reflects the person's need for a combination and sequence of special, interdisciplinary, or generic care, treatment, or other services that are of lifelong or extended duration and are individually planned and coordinated; (F) and that the person is not a danger to themselves or others; (G) and that the person does not suffer from a mental illness; in this subparagraph, "mental illness" means an organic, mental, or emotional impairment that has substantial adverse effects on a person's ability to exercise conscious control of the person's actions or ability to perceive reality or to reason or understand.

## PROXY FISHING HARVEST RECORD

You must immediately record, in ink, the information requested below on this harvest record. This recording requirement is **IN ADDITION TO** the information required to be recorded on the back of the fishing license or harvest record card, and **IN ADDITION TO** recording requirements on personal use and subsistence fishing permits. This form does not have to be returned to the Department; however, you must show this form, upon request, to any representative of ADF&G or any peace officer of the state. If extra space is needed, attach another sheet.

Date of harvest	Location (body of water fished)	Species	Number of fish or crab	Approximate weight or volume of shellfish other than crab		Date of delivery to Beneficiary
				gallons	pounds	•

The Department administers all programs and activities free from discrimination. For the full text of our OEO/ADA statement, visit: <a href="http://www.adfg.alaska.gov/index.cfm?ADFG=home.oeostatement">http://www.adfg.alaska.gov/index.cfm?ADFG=home.oeostatement</a>.